Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Calumma ambreense

Calumma ambreense, Männchen, 2017 im Montagne d'Ambre
Calumma ambreense, Männchen, 2017 im Montagne d'Ambre
Calumma ambreense 2016
Calumma ambreense 2016
Calumma ambreense 2016
Calumma ambreense 2016
Calumma ambreense
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Ramanantsoa, 1974

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma ambreense

loading map - please wait...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.604156, 49.163818

Distribution:

Calumma ambreense is an inhabitant of the rainforests of Amber Mountain national park. You can only find it on eleveations between 600 and 1200 meters above sea level. The species mainly lives on trees between one and a half until ten meters in height.They prefer very high, slender trees overgrown with ferns and moss (like everything in Amber Mountain). Astonishingly, we have find some of these also around the campground of Amber Mountain in pine trees. In the night, these chameleons are – like almost all species – brighter coloured, and thus easy to find with a torch in big trees. Even then they mostly sit well above 2 m height. During daytime, it is more difficult to find this species – although they are rather big, they are well camouflaged. Young Calumma ambreense of few days of age often still sleep on very thin plants very close to the ground.

Appearance and size:

These chameleons count among the large chameleon species due to their size from 40 to 55 cm. Like in all Calumma species, the helmet is rather high, and they have very small, hardly recognizable occipital lobes. There is hardly a dorsal and ventral ridge, and there are no enlarged scales. Males have a greyish-green colour with a broad, white lateral stripe and dark bands, and short nose appendages. The females lack any nose appendage, but are more green and sometimes yellowish coloured. Both genders may have bright green and blue patterns on the head.

Character:

We have experieced this species to be very gentle and calm in wilderness – never a Calumma ambreense hissed at us. However, they are usually less relaxed when handled than for example Calumma parsonii which has a similar size.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimum temperature 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximum temperature 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Rain days 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Amber Mountain is an evergreen rainforest which extends over a mountain massif of volcanic origin at elevations between 850 and 1450 m. Due to the height, nights can become rather cold with temperature drops to 10°C.

During rainy season, day temperatures rise to 28°C, in sunny places even warmer. But the average temperature is a little lower. During rainy season, it rains every day for several hours. Simply the way it is in a rainforest. 😉 But also dry season has regular precipitation, just a little shorter. Climate in Amber Mountain is very humid all year long. During dry season, temperatures are somewhat lower with day temperatures up to 25°C.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Amber Mountain available yet.

Habitat:
The following pictures show the habitat of Calumma ambreense in Amber Mountain. Some are even from finding places of this species. Amber Mountain is an impressing rainforest full of old tree giants with meter sized nest ferns. Everything is full of lianas, moss and lichens. Calumma amber is mostly climbing on large trees, and partially even inhabits introduced pines.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Amber Mountain. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma ambreense

Calumma ambreense, Männchen, 2017 im Montagne d'Ambre
Calumma ambreense, Männchen, 2017 im Montagne d'Ambre
Calumma ambreense 2016
Calumma ambreense 2016
Calumma ambreense 2016
Calumma ambreense 2016
Calumma ambreense
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Ramanantsoa, 1974

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma ambreense

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.604156, 49.163818

Verbreitung & Habitat:

Calumma ambreense ist ein Bewohner der Regenwälder des Nationalparks Montagne d’Ambre. Dabei ist es in den mittleren Höhenlagen von 600-1200 Meter zu finden. Die Art lebt vorwiegend in Bäumen von anderthalb bis zehn Metern Höhe. Sie bevorzugen sehr hohe, schlanke Bäume, die mit Farnen und Moos überwuchert sind (wie alles im Montagne d’Ambre). Rund um den Campgroung des Montagne d’Ambre findet man sie erstaunlicherweise auch vereinzelt in Pinienansammlungen. Nachts sind auch diese Chamäleons heller gefärbt, und leicht mit einer Taschenlampe in großen Bäumen zu entdecken. Meist sitzen sie auch nachts höher als 2 m. Tagsüber ist es etwas schwieriger, diese Art zu finden – trotz ihrer Größe sind sie enorm gut getarnt. Die Jungtiere findet man im Alter von wenigen Tagen nachts oft noch auf extrem dünnen Pflänzchen knapp über dem Boden schlafend.

Aussehen und Größe:

Diese Chamäleons zählen mit einer Größe von 40 bis 55 cm zu den großen Chamäleonarten. Wie bei allen Calumma-Arten steigt der Helm zum Rücken hin stark an, dahinter sitzen schmale, kaum als solche erkennbare Occipitallappen. Bauch- und Rückenkamm sind fast vollkommen glatt und ohne vergrößerte Kegelschuppen. Die Männchen haben eine grau-grüne Färbung mit einem weißen, breiten Lateralband und dunklerer Bänderung und einen kleinen, schaufelförmigen Nasenfortsatz. Dieser fehlt bei den überwiegend grün oder gelblich gefärbten Weibchen gänzlich. Am Kopf können beide Geschlechter leuchtend grüne oder blaue Akzente tragen. Im Folgenden findest du Bilder von wenige Tage alten Jungtieren der Art im Montagne d’Ambre.

Charakter:

Wir haben diese Art in der Natur als sehr ruhig und freundlich kennengelernt – nie hat uns ein Calumma ambreense mal angefaucht. Allerdings sind sie in der Regel weniger entspannt im Umgang als beispielswiese ähnlich große Calumma parsonii.



Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimale Temperatur 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Regentage 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Montagne d'Ambre ist ein immergrüner Regenwald, der sich über ein Bergmassiv vulkanischen Ursprungs in Höhen zwischen 850 und 1450 m ausbreitet. Durch die Höhe wird es hier nachts empfindlich kalt mit Temperaturstürzen bis auf 10°C.

Während der Regenzeit wird es tagsüber bis zu 28°C warm, an Sonnenflecken auch etwas wärmer. Die Durschnittstemperatur liegt allerdings etwas niedriger. Während der Regenzeit schüttet es mehrfach täglich, und auch mal ganze Tage durch. Typisch Regenwald eben 😉 . Aber auch in der Trockenzeit regnet es regelmäßig, wenn auch kürzer und eher in kleinen Schauern. Das Klima im Montagne d'Ambre ist daher das ganze Jahr über feucht. Während der Trockenzeit bleiben die Temperaturen vor allem tagsüber etwas niedriger mit bis zu 25°C.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für den Montagne d'Ambre verfügbar.

Habitat:
Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma ambreense Montagne d’Ambre. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Der Montagne d’Ambre ist ein beeindruckender Regenwald voller Urwaldriesen, in denen riesige, meterbreite Nestfarne thronen. Alles ist voller Lianen, Moose und Flechten. Calumma amber ist meist auf größeren Bäumen unterwegs, und bewohnt teils sogar eingeschleppte Nadelbäume.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus dem Montagne d’Ambre. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove