Calumma gallus

Calumma gallus 2017
Calumma gallus
Calumma gallus Größenvergleich Vohimana
Calumma gallus aus Vohimana 2016
Calumma gallus aus Vohimana 2016
Calumma gallus aus Vohimana 2016
Calumma gallus in Vohimana 2018
Calumma gallus in Vohimana 2018
Calumma gallus in Vohimana 2018
Calumma gallus in Vohimana 2018
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Günther, 1877

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calluma gallus

loading map - please wait...

Ambavaniasy: -18.945400, 48.513700
Vohimana: -18.931944, 48.525238
Zahamena: -17.659726, 48.751831

Distribution:

Calumma gallus inhabits east and northeast Madagascar. The can be found in secondary vegetation with a high percentage of ferns. Mostly they live in habitats on steep slopes that are difficult to access. Additionally, plant cover in their habitats is extremely dense that makes finding these small chameleons very difficult. We have also found this species in two meters’ height yet.

Appearance and size:

With a total length of approximately 11 cm, this chameleon is among the smaller ones. Males have a long, pointed and flexible nose appendage that has blue, violet and green spots. Each nose is individual, there are no individuals with the exact same nose shape. Usually, the animals are brown-greyish, but when relaxed the males can become almost completely white with bright blue patterns. Females have a shorter, leaf-shaped, red nose appendage. Gravid females have their head dotted with blue. Otherwise, their color is brown-beige, dark brown when stressed. The casque is low but distinctly separated from the back.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 24 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Vohimana is comparable to region Andasibe-Mantadia. It is also located in eastern highlands on eleveations about 1000 m above sea level. Accordingly, nights can become rather cool with temperatures around 15°C.

During rainy season, it rains daily and intensively. Temperatures reach 25 to 28°C during daytime, in sunny places a little more. In dry season, temperatures are lower and it does not rain daily but still regularly.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Vohimana available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Calumma gallus at the rainy season in Vohimana. Some are even from finding places of this species. The habitat of this species consists of extremely dense bushes and thin trees. The ground is completely covered with ferns. The animals prefer to live right in the middle of these shrubs, between endless thin twigs and small-leafed plants. In many places, spiny plants are also among the shrubs but do not seem to bother this species.

Here are some 360° pictures from Vohimana. With the mouse, you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the pictures open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to execute the images in full-screen mode. Have fun watching it!

Regenwald im Reservat Vohimana, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Vohimana, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Vohimana, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Calumma gallus

Calumma gallus 2017
Calumma gallus
Calumma gallus Größenvergleich Vohimana
Calumma gallus aus Vohimana 2016
Calumma gallus aus Vohimana 2016
Calumma gallus aus Vohimana 2016
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Günther, 1877

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calluma gallus

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ambavaniasy: -18.945400, 48.513700
Vohimana: -18.931944, 48.525238
Zahamena: -17.659726, 48.751831

Verbreitung:

Calumma gallus bewohnt die Gegenden im Osten und Nordosten Madagaskars. Dabei sind die Tiere häufig entlang in Sekundärvegetation mit hohem Anteil an Farnen zu finden. Meist sind die besiedelten Habitate in Hanglage und nur schwer zugänglich. Dazu ist der Bewuchs in den Lebensräumen von Calumma gallus extrem dicht, was das Auffinden der kleinen Chamäleons stark erschwert. Wir haben diese Art auch schon in zwei Metern Höhe entdeckt.

Aussehen und Größe:

Mit einer Gesamtlänge von rund 11 cm gehört diese Art zu den kleinen Chamäleons. Die Männchen haben einen langen, spitzen und elastischen Nasenfortsatz, der mit blauen, lila und grünen Punkten versehen ist. Jede Nase ist individuell, keine Form gibt es exakt so noch einmal. Normalerweise sind die Tiere braun-grau, im entspannten Zustand können die männlichen Tiere jedoch fast weiß mit hellblauer Zeichnung werden. Bei den Weibchen ist der Nasenfortsatz kürzer, blattförmig und rot. Trächtige Weibchen weisen eine mit blauen Punkten versehene Kopfzeichnung auf. Ansonsten ist ihre Farbe braun-beige, im Stresszustand dunkelbraun. Der Helm ist flach, aber deutlich vom Rücken abgesetzt.



Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 24 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27/td> 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Vohimana ist vergleichbar mit dem der Region Andasibe-Mantadia. Es liegt ebenfalls im östlichen Hochland auf rund 1000 m über Meeresniveau und entsprechend werden die Nächte oft kühl mit Temperaturen um die 15°C.

Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig und die Temperaturen erreichen tagsüber 25 bis 28°C, an sonnigen Plätzen auch etwas mehr. Während der Trockenzeit liegen die Temperaturen etwas niedriger und es regnet nicht täglich, aber immernoch sehr regemäßig.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Vohimana verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma gallus zur Regenzeit in Vohimana. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Der Lebensraum der Art besteht aus extrem dichtem Gebüsch, mit Farnen komplett bedecktem Boden und dünnen Bäumchen. Die Tiere halten sich bevorzugt in Mitten des Gebüschs, zwischen Unmengen dünner Ästchen und kleinblättriger Pflanzen, auf. Vielerorts sind auch dornige Pflanzen dabei, was den Tieren aber offenbar nichts ausmacht.