Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!
Aktuelle Rubrik

Brookesia species

Brookesia antakarana

Brookesia antakarana

First description: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995 Distribution: As the name already suggests, these chameleons exist only in northwest Madagascar, where the Antankarana tribe lives, to be more precise in Amber mountain national park. In...
Brookesia brunoi

Brookesia brunoi

First description: Crottini, Miralles, Glaw, Harris, Lima & Vences, 2012 Distribution: Brookesia brunoi lives solely in Anja Community Reserve, a communally led protected area at the edge of the southern highlands near the city...
Brookesia brygooi in Isalo 2017

Brookesia brygooi

First description: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995 Distribution: This species occurs in western Madagascar, from Ankarafantsika to the south with Isalo, Sakaraha and Zombitse-Vohibasia. The best place to find them – for us – has...
Brookesia decaryi in Ankarafantsika 2018

Brookesia decaryi

First description: Angel, 1838 Distribution: This leaf chameleon lives in the dry forests of Ankarafantsika national park in northwest Madagascar. It is not easy to find between foliage and shrubs. We have seen it...
Brookesia griveaudi

Brookesia griveaudi

First description: Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1974 Distribution: Brookesia griveaudi lives in foliage, shrubs and low branchage in Northeast Madagascar. Its distribution area builds a long triangle betwen Antalaha, Sambava and Maroantsetra and includes...
Brookesia karchei

Brookesia karchei

First description: Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970 Distribution: Brookesia karchei mainly occurs in Marojejy national park in northeast Madagascar, where it prefers humid leaf layer between rocks and moss as habitat. We could find...
Brookesia micra

Brookesia micra

First description: Glaw, Köhler, Townsend, Vences 2012 Distribution: Brookesia micra only occurs on the small island Nosy Hara in extreme north Madagascar. This island mainly consists of karstic rocks, characteristic needlestones (Tsingys) and dry...

Brookesia perarmata

First description: Angel, 1933 Distribution: This unique chameleon only occurs in a very special habitat, the Tsingy de Bemaraha national park in southwest Madagascar. Between metres high needlestones, deep down on the ground, there...
Brookesia peyrierasi

Brookesia peyrierasi

First description: Brygoo & Domergue, 1975 Distribution: Brookesia peyrierasi live in the rainforest of Madagascar’s northeast coast at the island Nosy Mangabe which is part of Masoala national park. They shall also occur in...
Brookesia stumpffi aus Ankify

Brookesia stumpffi

First description: Boettger, 1984 Distribution: This species is a common leaf chameleon in western Madagascar, especially in the more northern dry forests, such as Ankarana national park, and some spiny forests in the hot...

Aktuelle Rubrik

Brookesia-Arten

Brookesia brygooi in Isalo 2017

Brookesia brygooi

Erstbeschreibung: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995 Verbreitung: Diese Art kommt im Westen Madagaskars vor, wo sie von Ankarafantsika bis in den Süden nach Isalo, Sakaraha und Zombitse-Vohibasia verbreitet sind. Wir haben sie bisher am einfachsten...
Brookesia antakarana

Brookesia antakarana/ambreensis

Erstbeschreibung: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995 Verbreitung: Wie der Name es schon vermuten lässt, gibt es diese Chamäleons ausschließlich im Nordwesten Madagaskars, im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre. Im Hochlandregenwald klettern sie auf Äste und Zweige in...
Brookesia brunoi

Brookesia brunoi

Erstbeschreibung: Crottini, Miralles, Glaw, Harris, Lima & Vences, 2012 Verbreitung: Brookesia brunoi lebt ausschließlich im Anja Community Reserve, einem kommunal geleiteten Schutzgebiet am Rande des südlichen Hochlandes nahe der Stadt Ambalavao. Es gehört damit...
Brookesia peyrierasi

Brookesia peyrierasi

Erstbeschreibung: Brygoo & Domergue, 1975 Verbreitung: Diese Art hat ihr Verbreitungsgebiet im Nordosten Madagaskars, in den Regenwäldern des Nationalparks Masoala und der dazugehörigen Insel Nosy Mangabe. Außerdem sollen sie im größtenteils ungeschützten Makira-Massiv vorkommen,...

Brookesia decaryi

Erstbeschreibung: Angel, 1838 Verbreitung: Dieses Erdchamäleon lebt nur in den Trockenwäldern des Nationalparks Ankarafantsika im Nordwesten Madagaskars. Zwischen Laub und Gebüsch muss man etwas suchen, um die kleinen Chamäleons zu finden. Bisher wurden wir...
Brookesia griveaudi

Brookesia griveaudi

Erstbeschreibung: Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1974 Verbreitung: Brookesia griveaudi lebt im Laub, in Büschen und niedrigem Geäst im Nordosten Madagaskars. Sein Verbreitungsgebiet bildet ein langgezogenes Dreieck zwischen Antalaha, Sambava und Maroantsetra und schließt die...
Brookesia karchei

Brookesia karchei

Erstbeschreibung: Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970 Verbreitung: Brookesia karchei kommt vorwiegend im Nationalpark Marojejy im Nordosten Madagaskars vor, wo es die feuchten Laubschichten zwischen Steinen und Moos als Lebensraum bevorzugt. Dort konnten wir es...
Brookesia micra

Brookesia micra

Erstbeschreibung: Glaw, Köhler, Townsend, Vences 2012 Verbreitung: Brookesia micra kommt ausschließlich auf der kleinen Insel Nosy Hara im Norden Madagaskars vor. Die Insel besteht vorwiegend aus Karstgestein, charakteristischen Nadelsteinfelsen (Tsingys) und Trockenwald. Das Erdchamäleon...

Brookesia perarmata

Erstbeschreibung: Angel, 1933 Verbreitung: Dieses eigentümliche Chamäleon kommt nur im sehr speziellen Lebensraum des Tsingy de Bemaraha Nationalparks im Süd-Westen Madagaskars vor. Zwischen den meterhohen Nadelsteinfelsen tief unten liegen kleine, feuchte Oasen und nahe...
Brookesia stumpffi aus Ankify

Brookesia stumpffi

Erstbeschreibung: Boettger, 1984 Verbreitung: Diese Art lebt im Westen Madagaskars in den Trockenwäldern des Nordens, zum Beispiel dem Ankarana Nationalpark, und einigen Dornwälern im heißen Süden. Aber auch Regenwälder wie der Montagne d’Ambre, Inseln...