Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!
Aktuelle Rubrik

The cage

Terrarium lighting

Naturally, lighting belongs naturally to the species-appropriate terrarium. The lighting is secured by different lamps. In the last decades a lot has happened in this area, so that the imitation of nature-like lighting conditions...

Outdoor enclosures

Many chameleon species can be kept outside in Europe at least temporarily. Chameleons, like many other reptiles, benefit greatly from the real solar radiation, various weather influences and the natural temperature development in outdoor...
Terrarienbau Nachzuchtbecken (27)

Construction manual for an offspring cage

This construction manual is from our own cages and designed for Calumma parsonii parsonii offspring. We planned and built them by ourselves. We assume no liability for mistakes in lengths or sizes. 😉 In...

Plants for the cage

Here we have compiled an alpahbetic list of plants that are suitable for various chameleon terrariums. However, some of them contain potentially toxic substances, so they should not be used for those chameleons that...
Terrarienbau

Construction manual for a Parson’s cage

This construction manual is from one of our young Calumma parsonii parsonii‘s cages that we built by ourselves (as almost all of our chameleon cages). We assume no liability for mistakes in lengths or...

Building a cage – which material?

Glass Cages made of glass belong to the oldest in keeping reptiles, and have been staying keepers in good stead for years. Unfortunately, many standard glass cages in common shops are not suitable for...
Große Parsons Terrarien

Size & ventilation of the cage

Size The final size of a chameleon cage has to comply with the needs of the future inhabitant, not the other way round. Please pay attention to the species’ acitivity as well as the...

“Free range” and chameleons inside the living room

Again and again, pictures pop off in the world wide web showing chameleons “free roaming” inside the living room, optionally in kitchen, sleeping room or at the balcony, too. In most cases, the animals...
Nebel über Ranomafana

Fog and foggers

What is fog? Fog is actually nothing more than a cloud hanging very close above the ground. It occurs when the temperature of the air and the dew point are almost the same. Fog...
Wasserfall in Ranomafana

Fountains and waterfalls

The pet shop offers a variety of colourful boxes with indoor fountains, small waterfalls or terrarium fountains. Many chameleon keepers expect a beautiful terrarium decoration from waterfalls and fountains, which also encourages drinking. This...

Aktuelle Rubrik

Das Terrarium

Terrarienbau Nachzuchtbecken (27)

Bauanleitung für Alu-Forex-Nachzucht-Terrarien

Diese Bauanleitung stammt von unseren eigenen Nachzucht-Terrarien, die wir selbst geplant und zusammengebaut haben. Diese wurden für Calumma parsonii parsonii angefertigt. Wir übernehmen keine Gewähr dafür, dass wir uns nirgends beim Plan verrechnet haben....

Pflanzen für’s Terrarium

Hier haben wir eine alpahbetische Liste an Pflanzen zusammengestellt, die sich für verschiedene Chamäleonterrarien eignen. Einige davon enthalten jedoch potenziell giftige Stoffe, so dass sie bei Pflanzen fressenden Chamäleons nicht zum Einsatz kommen sollten....
Lousiana Moos im Parsons Terrarium

Bauanleitung für ein Aluprofil-Glas-Forex-Terrarium

Diese Bauanleitung stammt von einem unserer eigenen Terrarien, das wir selbst geplant, zusammengebaut und eingerichtet haben (wie fast alle unsere Terrarien für Chamäleons). Wir übernehmen keine Gewähr dafür, dass wir uns nirgends beim Plan...

Terrarienbau – welches Material?

Glas Terrarien aus Glas gehören zu den ältesten in der Terraristik und haben über viele Jahre bis heute gute Dienste geleistet. Leider sind die üblichen Standard-Glasterrarien aus dem Handel auf Grund ihrer schlechten Belüftung...
Große Parsons Terrarien

Größe & Belüftung des Terrariums

Größe des Terrariums Die Größe des Terrariums muss sich natürlich nach dem zukünftigen Bewohner richten, nicht andersherum. Dabei ist die Aktivität der Art genauso zu beachten wie die erreichbare Endgröße des Chamäleons selbst. Beispielsweise...

Bodengrund

Eigentlich ist es mit dem Bodengrund ganz simpel: Man orientiert sich auch hier am besten am natürlichen Lebensraum des Chamäleons. Bei den meisten Arten hat sich in der Terraristik ein „lebendiger Bodengrund“ seit Jahren...

Nebler, Brunnen und Wasserfälle

Im Zoohandel wird eine Vielzahl bunter Kartons mit „Terrrarienbrunnen“,  „Terrarienwasserfällen“ und „Neblern“ angeboten. Sie versprechen, die Luftfeuchtigkeit des Terrariums dauerhaft sehr hoch zu halten. Bei Wasserfällen und Brunnen wird gerne noch angefügt, sie würden...

„Freilauf“ und Haltung im Wohnzimmer

Immer wieder tauchen im Internet Fotos auf, die Chamäleons beim „Freilauf“ im Wohnzimmer, wahlweise Schlafzimmer, Küche oder Balkon, zeigen. Dabei sitzen die Tiere auf Schränken, Gardinenstangen, laufen über den Teppich oder werden vom Besitzer...
Lousiana Moos im Parsons Terrarium

Einrichtung des Terrariums

Bevor ein Terrarium von seinem neuen Bewohner bezogen werden kann, benötigt es eine passende Einrichtung. Neben Rückwand, lebenden Pflanzen und lebendem Bodengrund braucht ein Chamäleonterrarium vor allem Äste. Schnittfrische Äste erhält man auf freundliches...

Tropftränke

Im Bild: 1 Schutzkappen, 2 Belüftungsloch, 3 Tropfkammer, 4 Rollklemme Tropftränken sind hervorragend dafür geeignet, die Wasserversorgung eines Chamäleons im Terrarium sicherzustellen. Bei einem gut eingerichteten Becken mit hohem Bodengrund und gut verwurzelten Pflanzen...