Aktuelle Rubrik

Food & supplementation

Feeders

Who wants to keep chameleons needs to cope with living feeder insects. Today, pet stores offer a wide variety of potential feeders. This page gives you an overview, tells you which feeders are appropriate...
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Djangoa

How much should I feed?

In general: feeding with restraint is good for almost every chameleon. Many chameleons in human hands are heavily overfed, which is very detrimental to health and leads to premature death. This article will explain...

Supplementation

Supplementation or supplementation in terraristics means that a feeder is dusted (powdered) with vitamin or calcium powder before feeding it to a chameleon. The intention is that a given amount of vitamins and calcium...

Gutloading

In terraristics, the term gutloading refers to the enhancement of feeders before feeding them to the chameleon by means of targeted feeding of home-mixed or commercial feeds. Gutloading, as it was originally used in...
Fütterung aus der Hand

Feeding methods

Keeping chameleons means not only keeping living insects, but also feeding them. There are several possibilities that we would like to present here.   Free inside the cage The simplest and most practical method...

Catch your own feeders

During sommer, meadows offer a rich meal for chameleons – you just have to harvest it. Feeders from the meadows have no need for gutloading and offer a wide variety. From time to time,...

Aktuelle Rubrik

Futter & Supplemente

Futtertiere

Wer Chamäleons halten will, muss zwingend auch lebende Futtertiere hältern und damit umgehen. Dabei bietet der Zoohandel inzwischen eine stetig größer werdende Palette an potenziellen Futtertieren an. Diese Seite soll eine kleine Übersicht geben,...
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Djangoa

Wieviel füttern?

  Warum nicht zuviel füttern? Auf Madagaskar ist Futter nicht immer ausreichend verfügbar. In der Regenzeit herrscht ein großes Angebot und die Chamäleons fressen, soviel sie können. In der Trockenzeit kann es jedoch Tage...

Vitamin- und Kalziumpräparate

Wozu supplementieren? „In der Natur streut doch auch keiner Vitaminpulver über die Tiere!“ Nein, das tut niemand. In der Terraristik haben wir jedoch keine natürliche UV-Strahlung, sondern künstliche. Außerdem sind die verfütterten Insekten oft...
Fütterung aus der Hand

Fütterungsmethoden

  Frei im Terrarium Die natürlichste und praktischste Methode, gesunde Chamäleons zu füttern, ist es, die Futtertiere einfach frei ins Terrarium zu geben. Das Chamäleon muss selbst jagen und ist somit zumindest zeitweise beschäftigt....

Vitamine und ihre Wirkung

Vitamin A Unter Vitamin A sind verschiedene Verbindungen zusammengefasst, z.B. Retinol, Retinal, Retinoat und Retinylester (Retinylstearat, -palmitat). Es wird von allen Wirbeltieren benötigt, kann aber wie viele Vitamine von den Tieren nicht selbst hergestellt...

Futtertiere selbst fangen

Im Sommer bieten Wiesen einen reich gedeckten Tisch für Chamäleons – man muss sie nur ernten. Viele Halter kennen selbst gefangene Futterinsekten unter dem Begriff „Wiesenplankton“. Die Futtertiere von draußen müssen nicht weiter angefüttert...