Furcifer belalandaensis

Furcifer belalandaensis
Furcifer belalandaensis
Furcifer belalandaensis
Furcifer belalandaensis
Furcifer belalandaensis
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

(Brygoo & Domergue, 1970)

Origin of the species name:

The zoologists Édouard-Raoul Brygoo and Charles Antoine Domergue worked at the Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar, and simply named the species after the closest place to its distribution area: the village of Belalanda north of Toliara.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer belalandaensis

loading map - please wait...

Belalanda: -23.300400, 43.645600
Ifaty-Mangily: -23.159200, 43.610500

Distribution:

Furcifer belalandaensis lives in the dry residues of spiny forests at Madagascar’s southwest coast. The name-giving village Belalanda is located few kilometers north of Toliara (Tuléar). But the distribution area extends a little further north approximately until Morombe. Since the area has not many spiny forests left and the existing forest residues are not linked to each other, the population is isolated in parts and has big problems to reproduce. According to this fact, they are very rare and you can find Furcifer belalandaensis only by a highly intense search.

Appearance and size:

Males become 20 to 22 cm in total length, females stay a little smaller. Both genders wear a bright green coloration with a white, partially interrupted lateral stripe, a small nose appendage and white lips. Males have a slightly raised, whitish-beige colored helmet; females have a green helmet. The dorsal ridge of Furcifer belalandaensis consists of regular small cone scales, the females only have some in the anterior part of the dorsum. A white line reaches from the belly to the tip of the tail. Females may have pretty color accents along the lateral stripe.

Good to know:

In 2012, some people spread the idea this species might be a hybrid from Furcifer antimena and Furcifer verrucosus, because the species had not been seen for years. But still today, no scientific examinations were published to prove this thesis, so Furcifer belalandaensis is still a valid species. We do explicitly not share the opinion of this species being a hybrid.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 27 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 22 23 25 26
Minimum temperature 22 22 21 20 17 14 14 15 16 18 20 22
Maximum temperature 32 32 32 30 28 26 26 27 28 29 30 31
Rain days 13 12 7 5 4 4 3 3 3 4 7 12

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Toliara (Tuléar) and surroundings is mainly one thing: Hot. In rainy season, daily temperatures rise easily to more than 30°C. In sunny places, it may even get 45°C. This is the location to look for every shady place you can get. And although it is called "rainy" season, precipitation in the south is lean. In good years, it is raining every couple of days from November to February. In worse years, it is raining even less.

During dry season, temperatures drop a little, but it remains very warm. In the night, temperatuers in July and August may drop even to 15°C, but days reach temperatures over 25°C without a problem. This large temperature drop is typical for the area. The dry season has only shot and very few rainfall.

2017 UVI Toliara
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Toliara available yet.

Habitat:

The environment of this species is enormously sparse. Meager spiny forests grow on red sandy ground, and those forests are eponymously really spine. The species does hardly occur in secondary vegetation, and is even hard to find in the residues of spiny forests of this area. During the rainy season, the spiny forest blooms and becomes green. As soon as the dry season begins, everything dries up quickly. Belalanda itself is a small village with wooden huts and some dilapidated stone houses. This chameleon’s habitat does not benefit from being close to the city of Toliara. Any wood is cut here. See some pictures from Belalanda and still intact habitats below.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Ifaty that we took during rainy season. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Dornwald im Reservat Reniala, Ifaty-Mangily, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Reniala, Ifaty-Mangily, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Reniala, Ifaty-Mangily, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Furcifer belalandaensis

Furcifer belalandaensis
Furcifer belalandaensis
Furcifer belalandaensis
Furcifer belalandaensis
Furcifer belalandaensis
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Brygoo & Domergue, 1970

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer belalandaensis

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Belalanda: -23.300400, 43.645600
Ifaty-Mangily: -23.159200, 43.610500

Verbreitung:

Furcifer belalandaensis lebt in den trockenen Resten von Dornwäldern an der Südwestküste Madagaskars. Das namensgebende Dorf Belalanda liegt wenige Kilometer nördlich von Toliara (Tuléar), das Verbreitungsgebiet erstreckt sich aber noch etwas weiter nach Norden bis kurz hinter Ifaty. Da in dieser Gegend nicht mehr viele Dornwälder vorhanden und die existenten Waldreste kaum miteinander verbunden sind, ist die Population winzig. Entsprechend selten und nur mit sehr intensiver Suche im Frühjahr findet man Furcifer belalandaensis.

Aussehen und Größe:

Die Männchen werden etwa 20 bis 22 cm lang, die Weibchen bleiben minimal kleiner. Beide Geschlechter tragen ein leuchtend hellgrünes Farbkleid mit einem weißen, teils unterbrochenem Lateralstreifen, einen kleinen Nasenfortsatz und weiße Lippen. Die Männchen tragen einen weiß-beige gefärbten, leicht erhabenen Helm; bei den Weibchen ist der Helm grün. Der Rückenkamm ist bei Furcifer belalandaensis beim Männchen mit regelmäßigen kleinen Kegelschuppen versehen, die Weibchen tragen nur im vorderen Bereich einen sehr schwach ausgeprägten. Entlang des Bauches verläuft bis zur Schwanzspitze eine weiße Linie. Die Weibchen können hübsche blaue Farbakzente entlang des Lateralstreifens aufweisen.

Besonderheiten:

2012 wurde die Idee verbreitet, es könne sich bei der Art um einen Hybriden von Furcifer antimena und Furcifer verrucosus handeln, da seit Jahren kein Tier der Art mehr gefunden wurde. Bis heute gibt es dazu jedoch keine veröffentlichte wissenschaftliche Untersuchung, womit Furcifer belalandaensis nach wie vor Artstatus hat. Wir teilen die Einschätzung, es handele sich bei der Art um Hybriden, ausdrücklich nicht.



Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 27 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 22 23 25 26
Minimale Temperatur 22 22 21 20 17 14 14 15 16 18 20 22
Maximale Temperatur 32 32 32 30 28 26 26 27 28 29 30 31
Regentage 13 12 7 5 4 4 3 3 3 4 7 12

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Toliara (Tuléar) und Umgebung ist vor allem eins: Heiß. In der Regenzeit steigen die Temperaturen täglich locker über 30°C, in der Sonne kann es auch mal 45°C heiß werden. Hier sucht man jeden Schatten, den man kriegen kann. Und obwohl es "Regen"zeit heißt, fällt der Niederschlag im Süden Madagaskars eher mager aus: In guten Jahren regnet es von November bis Februar alle paar Tage. In schlechten weniger.

In der Trockenzeit sinken die Temperaturen ein wenig, sehr warm bleibt es aber trotzdem. Nachts können die Temperaturen im Juli und August schonmal bis 15°C abfallen, tagsüber geht es trotzdem auf über 25°C nach oben. Der Temperatursturz ist typisch für die Gegend. Während der Trockenzeit regnet es kaum und wenn nur sehr kurz.

2017 UVI Toliara

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Toliara verfügbar.

Habitat:

Der Lebensraum der Art ist enorm karg. Auf rotem Sandboden wachsen karge Dornwälder, die, wie der Name es schon verrät, fast nur aus stacheligen Pflanzen bestehen. Die Art kommt in Sekundärvegetation kaum vor, und ist auch in den Resten von Dornwäldern nur sehr schwer zu finden. In der Regenzeit blüht der Dornwald auf und wird grün, in der Trockenzeit verdorrt alles schnell. Belalanda selbst ist ein kleines Dorf mit Hütten und wenigen halb verfallenen Steinhäusern. Von der Nähe zur Großstadt Toliara profitiert der Lebensraum der Chamäleons nicht, hier wird alles abgeholzt. Im Folgenden finden sich einige Fotos aus Belalanda und noch intaktem Lebensraum in Ifaty.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ifaty, die wir während der Regenzeit aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Dornwald im Reservat Reniala, Ifaty-Mangily, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Reniala, Ifaty-Mangily, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Reniala, Ifaty-Mangily, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA