Furcifer angeli

Furcifer angeli Männchen 2016
Furcifer angeli Männchen 2016
Furcifer angeli Männchen 2016
CITES quotas
2017-19 each 150 specimen available for legal export

First description:

Brygoo & Domergue, 1968

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer angeli

loading map - please wait...

Ankarafantsika: -16.225224, 47.005005
Tsaramandroso: -16.362310, 47.042456
Port Berger: -15.600056, 47.620325

Distribution:

Furcifer angeli lives in the dry forests of northwest Madagascar. The distribution area extends from Ankarafantsika national park until some residual forests close to Port Berger. The latter are not protected which is why the few left dry forests are severely threatend by slash-and-burn agriculture. It is not easy to find this species and we have passed a lot of hours in the heat without seeing only one Furcifer angeli. In 2016, we could take pictures of a male for the first time. To get this opportunity, a lot of work long before we traveled was necessary to get specialized local guides and scouts. Due to their inconspicious colouration, these animals camouflage well and prefer to sit high up in trees, which makes search even more difficult.

Appearance and size:

Male Furcifer angeli grow op to 42 cm from nose to the tip of the tail, females remain less large with almost 30 cm total length. This species looks very similar to Furcifer pardalis, which has a more northern distribution. But Furcifer angeli has a longer nose appendage and a less spectacular colouration, the males are restricted to earthy and red-yellowish colours. Only when stressed they show their prettiest colours with bright white and orange stripes. Young individuals, that have no well-developed nose appendage and colours yet, are often confused with panther chameleons. Female animals of this species are almost only distinguished from panther chameleons by their finding places. Both genders wear white lips and a white lateral stripe as well as a dorsal ridge with small cone scales. Venter and throat sac have similar scales, that disappear towards the tail.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 27 27 27 27 26 24 23 24 25 26 27 27
Minimum temperature 23 23 23 22 20 18 17 18 19 21 22 23
Maximum temperature 31 31 31 32 31 30 30 30 31 32 31 31
Rain days 25 24 19 8 4 4 6 6 4 6 12 21

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Ankarafantsika is hot and dry during most time of the year. Temperatures above 30°C during daytime are usual. Rainy season is rather short and only covers November until March. In this time, it is raining a lot and the whole forest blooms.

In April, the rainy season is over and precipitation is only measured few days per month. Many trees lose their leaves. There is morning dew and occasionally some rainfall, but that's it. During daytime, temperatures are a little lower than in rainy season, but temperatures still easily reach 25°C. At night, temperatures drop some degrees.

2016 UVI Ankarafantsika
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ankarafantsika available yet.

Habitat:

This species inhabits Ankarafantsika national park which is an old, big dry forest. Close to Port Berger, their habitat has shrinked to few residues of forest with very high slender trees and dense undergrowth.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Ankarafantsika that we took during rainy season. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Furcifer angeli

Furcifer angeli Männchen 2016
Furcifer angeli Männchen 2016
Furcifer angeli Männchen 2016
CITES-Quoten
2017 erstmals 150 Tiere für den Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Brygoo & Domergue, 1968

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer angeli

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ankarafantsika: -16.225224, 47.005005
Tsaramandroso: -16.362310, 47.042456
Port Berger: -15.600056, 47.620325

Verbreitung:

Furcifer angeli lebt in den Trockenwäldern im Nordwesten Madagaskars. Das Verbreitungsgebiet reicht vom Nationalpark Ankarafantsika bis zu diversen Waldresten nahe Port Berger. Letztere sind nicht geschützt, weshalb die wenigen übrig gebliebenen Trockenwälder stark von Abholzung und Brandrodung bedroht sind. Die Art zu finden ist leider nicht einfach und wir haben schon viele Stunden in der Hitze verbracht, ohne Furcifer angeli zu sehen. 2016 konnten wir erstmals ein Männchen fotografieren, und dazu war eine Menge Vorarbeit mit Scouts („Suchern“) und spezialisierten local guides nötig. Die Tiere sind dank ihrer wenig auffälligen Färbung sehr gut getarnt und bevorzugen Aufenthaltsorte weit oben in den Bäumen, was die Suche zusätzlich erschwert.

Aussehen und Größe:

Männliche Furcifer angeli werden von der Nasen- bis zur Schwanzspitze bis zu 42 cm lang, die Weibchen bleiben mit knapp 30 cm deutlich kleiner. Die Art sieht Furcifer pardalis, deren Verbreitungsgebiet etwas weiter nördlich beginnt, sehr ähnlich. Furcifer angeli hat jedoch einen längeren Nasenfortsatz und ist weit weniger spektakulär gefärbt, die Männchen beschränken sich auf erdfarbene bis rot-gelbe Farbtöne. Nur bei Erregung zeigen sie ihre schönsten Farben mit strahlend weiß und orangefarbener Bänderung. Bei Jungtieren, deren Farben und Nasenfortsatz noch nicht besonders stark ausgeprägt sind, führt die Ähnlichkeit häufig zur Verwechslung mit Pantherchamäleons. Weibliche Tiere der Art sind fast nur an Hand ihres Fundgebietes von Pantherchamäleons zu unterscheiden.  Beide Geschlechter tragen weiße Lippen und einen weißen Lateralstreifen sowie einen Rückenkamm aus kleinen Kegelschuppen. An Kehlsack und Bauch befinden sich ähnliche Schuppen, die jedoch zum Schwanz hin immer undeutlicher werden.



Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 27 27 27 27 26 24 23 24 25 26 27 27
Minimale Temperatur 23 23 23 22 20 18 17 18 19 21 22 23
Maximale Temperatur 31 31 31 32 31 30 30 30 31 32 31 31
Regentage 25 24 19 8 4 4 6 6 4 6 12 21

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Ankarafantsika ist heiß, und während der meisten Zeit des Jahres relativ trocken. Temperaturen über 30°C tagsüber sind die Regel. Die Regenzeit fällt eher kurz aus und dauert nur von November bis März. In dieser Zeit regnet es viel, und der ganze Wald blüht auf.

Im April ist der Spuk jedoch schon wieder vorbei, und es regnet nur noch an wenigen Tagen im Monat. Die Bäume verlieren ihre Blätter. Es gibt Morgentau und selten mal einen Schauer, das war's aber auch schon. Tagsüber ist es ein klein wenig kühler als in der Regenzeit, aber die Temperaturen erreichen trotzdem immernoch gute 25°C. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen um ein paar Grad.

2016 UVI Ankarafantsika

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ankarafantsika verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die Art bewohnt im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika einen großen, alten Trockenwald. In der Nähe von Port Berger ist der Lebensraum auf wenige Reste von Wald beschränkt, mit sehr hohen, schlanken Bäumen und dichtem Unterholz.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ankarafantsika, die wir während der Regenzeit aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarafantsika, Region Boeny, West-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove