Furcifer bifidus

Furcifer bifidus, trächtig
Furcifer bifidus in Vohimana 2017
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus in Vavatenina 2018 (1)
CITES quotas
2011-13 no specimens, 2014-22 each 500 specimens for legal export

First description:

(Brongniart, 1800)

Origin of the species name:

The French zoologist and geologist Alexandre Brongniart taught about mineralogy at the Natural History Museum in Paris (France), but was also interested in reptiles and amphibians. In 1800 he described the species Furcifer bifidus on the basis of chameleon preparations available in the museum. He borrowed the species name from the Latin bifidum, which means “divided in two” and alludes to the male’s nasal process.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer bifidus

loading map - please wait...

Ambavaniasy: -18.945400, 48.513700
Ambila Lemaitso: -18.843000, 49.153500
Ampasimanolotra: -18.816700, 49.066700
Ampasimbe: -18.967300, 48.680000
Beforona: -18.972700, 48.577600
Betampona: -17.887790, 49.230108
Fenoarivo: -17.382000, 49.410000
Ivoloina: -18.075368, 49.391098
Mahambo: -17.487400, 49.451900
Marojejy: -14.443657, 49.703636
Moramanga: -18.916000, 48.221000
Tampina: -18.524100, 49.279100
Vohimana: -18.918953, 48.514423
Daraina: -12.492300, 49.406000
Andekaleka: -18.799800, 48.600500
Vohidrazana: -18.988725, 48.515453

Distribution:

Furcifer bifidus lives in the rainforest along the east coast of Madagascar, at heights of approximately 1000 meters above sea level. The distribution area extends from Andasibe eastwards to Toamasina (Tamatave) and into the northern direction via Fenoarivo until Marojejy national park. A single found specimen in 2006 implies that the species could also occur in a humid region near the otherwise dust-dry Daraina, northeast of Vohémar. Until now, we found this species only in the area around Andasibe-Mantadia national park and occasionally around Vohimana as well as close to Mahambo on the east coast. There they have settled in secondary vegetation and coffee plantations in hilly sites. Further north, we have not seen Furcifer bifidus yet. Due to increasing slash-and-burn agriculture along the east coast, Furcifer bifidus is one of many chameleon species with very fragmented populations in small residual forests.

Appearance and size:

With up to 42 cm total length in males and 30 cm in females, Furcifer bifidus belongs to the middle-sized chameleons of Madagascar. Both genders wear a low helmet, white or yellow lips, very homogenous scalation, and a white band along the body sides that has larger scales. When fired up, some specimens show an orange throat sac. The females are the prettier individuals in Furcifer bifidus, showing amazing colors. Usually, they are bright green with yellow bands, the top of the head is bright red with small blue dots. Gravid Furcifer bifidus wear bright blue dots spread over the whole body. In contrast, the males of this species are not very colorful with greyish, yellowish and green colors and dark bands, but have two distinct parallel nose appendages. In some individuals, these grow a little curved down. They have a dorsal ridge, but it is only visible in the area of the shoulders and disappears further back.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The region around Andasibe with the belonging forests Mantadia and Analamazaotra is located in Madagascar's eastern highlands at elevations between 900 and 1250 m above sea level. Thus temperatures sometimes reach temperatures above 25°C, but thermometers rarely climbs above 30°C or only in sunny places. At night, temperatures always drop to 10° to 15°C.

Humidity in Andasibe's rainforest is high all year long. During rainy season, it rains intensively every day, sometimes rain even lasts for days. But also dry season does not differ much besides the fact of cooler temperatures. It still rains at least every other day, in most years more often. Rain, humidity and temperature drop at night are the key features of the region around Andasibe.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for the region of Andasibe available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show parts of the habitat of Furcifer bifidus in the region around Andasibe. Some are right from finding places of the species. The rainforests of this area mainly consist of young slender trees. Furcifer bifidus does not only inhabit the rainforests but also lives in secondary vegetation at the edges of the rainforest, in tamarind trees and other trees with widely protruding crowns. They prefer to roam around high up between the branches.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Furcifer bifidus

Furcifer bifidus, trächtig
Furcifer bifidus in Vohimana 2017
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus
Furcifer bifidus
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-17 je 500 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Brongniart, 1800

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer bifidus

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ambavaniasy: -18.945400, 48.513700
Ambila Lemaitso: -18.843000, 49.153500
Ampasimanolotra: -18.816700, 49.066700
Ampasimbe: -18.967300, 48.680000
Beforona: -18.972700, 48.577600
Betampona: -17.887790, 49.230108
: -17.382000, 49.410000
Ivoloina: -18.075368, 49.391098
Mahambo: -17.487400, 49.451900
Marojejy: -14.443657, 49.703636
Moramanga: -18.916000, 48.221000
Tampina: -18.524100, 49.279100
Vohimana: -18.918953, 48.514423
Daraina: -12.492300, 49.406000

Verbreitung:

Furcifer bifidus lebt in den Regenwäldern entlang der Küste Ostmadagaskars bis auf etwa 1000 m Höhe. Das Verbreitungsgebiet erstreckt sich von Andasibe in den Osten nach Toamasina (Tamatave) und gen Norden über Fenoarivo bis zum Marojejy Nationalpark, und laut einem Einzelfund 2006 sogar bis in ein feuchteres Gebiet nahe des sonst staubtrockenen Daraina, nordöstlich von Vohémar. Wir konnten die Art bisher nur in der Gegend um den Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia und um Vohimana vereinzelt entdecken. Dort besiedeln sie Sekundärvegetation und Kaffeeplantagen in hügeligem Gelände. Weiter nördlich haben wir Furcifer bifidus noch nicht gefunden. Durch die zunehmende Brandrodung entlang der Ostküste gehört Furcifer bifidus zu den Chamäleonarten, deren Population stark fragmentiert in kleinen Restwäldern zu finden ist.

Aussehen und Größe:

Furcifer bifidus gehört mit bis zu 42 cm Gesamtlänge bei den Männchen und 30 cm bei den Weibchen zu den mittelgroßen Chamäleonarten Madagaskars. Beide Geschlechter tragen einen niedrigen Helm, eine sehr gleichmäßige Beschuppung und ein weißes, größer beschupptes Band entlang der Körperseiten sowie gelbe oder weiße Lippen. Bei Erregung zeigt sich der Kehlsack bei einigen Tieren orange. Die Weibchen sind bei Furcifer bifidus klar die schöneren, und zeigen grandiose Farben. Normalerweise sind sie leuchtend grün mit gelber Bänderung, die Kopfoberseite ist leuchtend rot und mit kleinen, blauen Punkten durchsetzt. Trächtige Furcifer bifidus zeigen die leuchtend blaue Pünktelung am ganzen Körper. Im Gegensatz sind die Männchen bei Furcifer bifidus zwar nicht besonders bunt mit grauen, geblichen und grünen Tönen sowie dunklerer Bänderung, tragen dafür jedoch zwei auffällige, parallel verlaufende Nasenfortsätze. Bei einigen Individuen wachsen die Fortsätze leicht nach unten gebogen. Einen Rückenkamm haben die Tiere zwar, aber er ist nur im Schulterbereich angedeutet und verschwindet im weiteren Verlauf.



Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Region um Andasibe mit den dazugehörigen Wäldern Mantadia und Analamazaotra liegen im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen zwiscen 900 und 1250 m über Meeresniveau. Es wird deshalb tagsüber zwar mal über 25°C warm, über die 30°-Grenze klettert das Thermometer aber eher selten oder nur in Sonnenflecken. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen immer tief in den Keller. 10° bis 15° Grad sind die Regel.

Die Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Regenwäldern um Andasibe ist das ganze Jahr über hoch. Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgibig, manchmal hält der Regen über Tage an. Aber auch die Trockenzeit unterscheidet sich nicht massiv, außer dass sie etwas kühlere Temperaturen aufweist. Es regnet trotzdem mindestens jeden zweiten Tag, eher öfter. Regen und nächtlicher Temperatursturz sind daher die zentralen Punkte im Klima Andasibes.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März, April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Region Andasibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Furcifer bifidus in der Region rund um Andasibe. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Die Regenwälder dieser Gegend bestehen vor allem aus jungen, schmaleren Bäumen. Furcifer bifidus lebt hier nicht nur im Regenwald selbst, sondern auch in Sekundärvegetation am Rande von Regenwäldern, in Tamarinden und anderen Bäumen mit ausladenden Kronen. Sie bevorzugen den Aufenthalt relativ weit oben in den Ästen.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove