Furcifer campani

Furcifer campani neuer Fundort
Furcifer campani neuer Fundort
CITES quotas
2011 no specimens, 2012-21 each 250 specimens for legal export

First description:

(Grandidier, 1872)

Origin of the species name:

The French naturalist Alfred Grandidier visited Madagascar three times between 1865 and 1868, traveling almost the entire island and producing one of the first maps of the country. Back in France, he began to write his life’s work L’Histoire physique, naturelle et politique de Madagascar in 40 volumes. In 1872 he described Furcifer campani in three sentences among other chameleons. He did not mention why he chose the Latin campani (= from Campania) as his name. Possibly the mountains of the Andringitra massif, from which the animals came, seemed to the widely traveled naturalist to be similar to those of the Campania region in Italy.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer campani

loading map - please wait...

Anja Community Reserve: -21.862136, 46.858120
Ambatolampy: -19.385700, 47.427200
Ambohimitombo: -19.068100, 46.760700
Andohariana: -19.281400, 46.821800
Andringitra: -22.250759, 46.933823
Ankaratra: -19.429471, 47.211113
Ibity: -20.052900, 47.001100
Itremo: -20.593900, 46.637100
Nosiarivo: -20.217500, 47.514400
Tritriva: -19.924500, 46.928600
Antoetra: -20.777500, 47.318000

Distribution:

Furcifer campani exclusively occurs in the foothills of the Malagasy southern highlands. You can find it at elevations up to 2000 meters. The best chances to find Furcifer campani are the Andringitra mountains, e.g. in Anja Community Reserve near Ambalavao. The chameleons live in low bushed and inside the grassland between rocks. Due to the high elevations, the temperature here can decrease until the freezing point at night. Unfortunately, the area hardly has any primary vegetation left, so these chameleons are expelled into secondary vegetation with very small population sizes. In 2016, we found Furcifer campani for the first time somewhere completely else: South of Ambositra.

Appearance & size:

Furcifer campani is also called “jeweled chameleons” due to their attractive color patterns. Relaxed animals are yellow-green with bright blue stripes, bright blue and yellow spots as well as a bright red area above the eyes. Stressed chameleons of this species change color to black ground color bright spots. The casque of both genders is flat and neither back nor belly wears a ridge. With a size of 12-20 cm in total, Furcifer campani belongs to the mid-sized chameleons.

Good to know:

This species has been bred in captivity for the first time in 1992 in Germany. However, today it is still rarely kept and only bred in low numbers.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 20 20 20 19 16 15 13 12 15 18 18 19
Minimum temperature 15 15 15 13 11 9 8 8 9 11 14 15
Maximum temperature 25 26 25 24 23 21 19 19 21 25 26 26
Rain days 23 21 21 16 10 7 8 6 8 15 22 26

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Anja Community Reserve is located in Madagascar's southern highlands at elevations of 1000 m above sea level. It covers the last piece of dry forest of the southern highlands and has a large rock formation behind. Around the reserve, there are only rice fields and savannas left. The city of Ambalavao is only a few kilometers away from the reserve.

Rainy season is the warmest time of the year. Regular rain showers hit the region, almost daily. During the daytime, temperatures reach pleasantly 25°C, nights are moderately cool around 15°C. During the dry season, the region gets precipitation on a regular base, it hardly becomes dust-dry in this region. But temperatures fall during the dry season, at night even to 5-10°C. Temperatures during daytime in the dry season only reach an average of 20°C.

2015 UVI Ambalavao
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ambalavao available yet.

Habitat:

The habitat of Furcifer campani is very rocky, the earth is disrupted by large boulders and stony plates again and again. They live in residues of dry forests with high, slender trees and mush bushes as well as partially hip-high grass. In higher elevations, the habitat is more savanna-like.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Anja Community Reserve. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Anja Community Reserve, Region Haute Matsiatra südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Anja Community Reserve, Region Haute Matsiatra südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Anja Community Reserve, Region Haute Matsiatra, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Chamäleon-Habitat zwischen Ranomafana und Ambositra, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Furcifer campani

Furcifer campani neuer Fundort
Furcifer campani neuer Fundort
CITES-Quoten
2011 keine Tiere, 2012-17 je 250 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Grandidier, 1872

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer campani

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Anja Community Reserve: -21.862136, 46.858120
Ambatolampy: -19.385700, 47.427200
Ambohimitombo: -19.068100, 46.760700
Andohariana: -19.281400, 46.821800
Andringitra: -22.250759, 46.933823
Ankaratra: -19.429471, 47.211113
Ibity: -20.052900, 47.001100
Itremo: -20.593900, 46.637100
Nosiarivo: -20.217500, 47.514400
Tritriva: -19.924500, 46.928600
Antoetra: -20.777500, 47.318000

Verbreitung:

Furcifer campani gibt es ausschließlich in den Ausläufern des madagassischen südlichen Hochlandes. Hier ist es in Höhenlagen bis 2000 Meter zu finden. Die besten Chancen, Furcifer campani zu finden, hat man im Andringitra-Gebirge, z.B. im Anja Community Reserve nahe Ambalavao. Vor zehn bis zwanzig Jahren fand man sie dort recht einfach, inzwischen muss man in sehr viel höhere Lagen, um Tiere dieser Art noch zu entdecken. Sie leben in flachen Büschen und in der Graslandschaft zwischen den Felsen. Durch die Höhenlage kann die Temperatur hier nachts bis zum Gefrierpunkt sinken. Leider ist in der Gegend kaum noch Primärvegetation zu finden, so dass diese Chamäleons immer weiter in Sekundärvegetation und sehr kleine Populationsgebiete abgedrängt werden. 2016 haben wir Furcifer campani erstmals an einem völlig anderen Ort, nämlich südlich von Ambositra und damit wesentlich weiter nördlich als bisher angenommen, gefunden.

Aussehen & Größe:

Furcifer campani wird auch als „Juwelenchamäleon“ bezeichnet, was auf seine attraktive Zeichnung zurückzuführen ist. Entspannte Tiere sind grün-gelb mit hellblauen Längsstreifen, hellblauen und gelben Punkten sowie einer leuchtend roten Leiste über den Augen. Gestresste Chamäleons dieser Art verfärben sich pechschwarz bei erhaltener heller Zeichnung. Der Helm beider Geschlechter ist flach und weder Rücken noch Bauch tragen einen Schuppenkamm. Mit einer Größe von 12-20 cm gehört Furcifer campani zu den mittelgroßen Chamäleons.

Besonderheiten:

Diese Art wurde erstmals 1992 in Deutschland nachgezogen. Nichtsdestotrotz wird sie heute nur selten gehalten und nur in kleinen Zahlen gezüchtet.



Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 20 20 20 19 16 15 13 12 15 18 18 19
Minimale Temperatur 15 15 15 13 11 9 8 8 9 11 14 15
Maximale Temperatur 25 26 25 24 23 21 19 19 21 25 26 26
Regentage 23 21 21 16 10 7 8 6 8 15 22 26

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Anja Community Reserve liegt im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf über 1000 m Höhe über Meeresniveau. Es ist das letzte Stückchen Trockenwald des südlichen Hochlandes und liegt direkt vor einer großen Felsformation. Drumherum gibt es nur noch Reisfelder und Savannen. Die Stadt Ambalavao liegt nur wenige Kilometer vom Reservat entfernt. Sie ist bekannt als "kälteste Stadt Madagaskars". Entsprechend sind auch die Temperaturen im Anja Community Reserve eher kühl.

Während der Regenzeit ist es noch am wärmsten. Regelmäßige Schauer gehen im Hochland nieder, so gut wie täglich regnet es. Tagsüber erreichen die Temperaturen angenehme 25°C, nachts ist es moderat kühl mit um die 15°C. Während der Trockenzeit gibt es immer wieder kleine Regenschauer, staubtrocken wird es in der Gegend selten. Dafür sinken die Temperaturen während der Troclenzeit nachts bis 5°C herunter, und gehen auch tagsüber nur bis maximal 20°C nach oben.

2015 UVI Ambalavao

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für das Anja Community Reserve bei Ambalavao verfügbar.

Habitat:

Der Lebensraum von Furcifer campani ist sehr felsig, der Erdboden wird immer wieder von großen Findlingen und Steinplatten durchbrochen. Sie leben in kleinen Resten von Trockenwäldern mit hohen, schlanken Bäumen und viel Gebüsch sowie teils hüfthohem Gras. In höheren Lagen ist der Lebensraum eher savannenähnlich.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus dem Anja Community Reserve bei Ambalavao. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Anja Community Reserve, Region Haute Matsiatra südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Anja Community Reserve, Region Haute Matsiatra südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Anja Community Reserve, Region Haute Matsiatra, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar, März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove