Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer timoni

Furcifer timoni
Furcifer timoni, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Furcifer timoni, female, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Furcifer timoni, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Furcifer timoni, female, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Furcifer timoni, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Furcifer timoni, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Furcifer timoni, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Furcifer timoni, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Furcifer timoni, female, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Kotabsatz Furcifer timoni
Furcifer timoni
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Glaw, 2010

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer timoni

loading map - please wait...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.586230, 49.169369

Distribution:

This beautiful chameleon species only occurs in the mountain rainforests of north and northeast Madagascar. Among the distribution area are Marojejy and Amber Mountain national parks. Here you can find these animals at elevations of approximately 600 to 800 meters above sea level. They mostly live on very high trees, which makes a finding quite difficult. During the last years, we could regularly find this species in the northeastern part of Amber Mountain national park, but mostly females. Males seem to be more difficult to find, maybe because they do not climb down the trees to lay eggs. 😉 If males are “low” in the vegetation, one often finds them nevertheless still on four to five meters of height.

Appearance and size:

Males of Furcifer timoni have two pointed nose appendages and are bright green coloured. They have blue-white colour accents around the eye area. Females are much more colourful, green to yellow with a striking stripe pattern when stressed. The latter can be light stripes on dark ground as well as dark stripes on light ground. The helmet and the flanks of females have blue and violet spots, and the belly has red to orangeish colour accents inside a white band.

Good to know:

Furcifer timoni belongs to the latest discoveries of Madagascar’s chameleon kingdom, they have been thought to be a variant of the similar looking Furcifer petteri for a long time.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimum temperature 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximum temperature 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Rain days 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Amber Mountain is an evergreen rainforest which extends over a mountain massif of volcanic origin at elevations between 850 and 1450 m. Due to the height, nights can become rather cold with temperature drops to 10°C.

During rainy season, day temperatures rise to 28°C, in sunny places even warmer. But the average temperature is a little lower. During rainy season, it rains every day for several hours. Simply the way it is in a rainforest. 😉 But also dry season has regular precipitation, just a little shorter. Climate in Amber Mountain is very humid all year long. During dry season, temperatures are somewhat lower with day temperatures up to 25°C.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Amber Mountain available yet.

Habitat:

The habitat of Furcifer timoni is the dense, amazing rainforest of Amber Mountain. The animals inhabit tree giants that almost fall over by the heavy weight of huge nest ferns. Lianas hang from the trees, ferns cover the soil, moss grows over fallen tree trunks. Orchids and other epiphytes grow on almost every branch of the rainforest. Small streams traverse the forest. Furcifer timoni inhabits mainly big, high trees and prefers to climb in the crowns.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Amber Mountain. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Furcifer timoni

Furcifer timoni
Furcifer timoni
Furcifer timoni
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Glaw, 2010

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer timoni

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.586230, 49.169369

Verbreitung:

Diese wunderschöne Chamäleonart ist ausschließlich in den Bergnebelwaldregionen im Norden und Nord-Osten Madagaskars zu finden. Zu den Verbreitungsgebieten zählen der Nationalpark Marojejy und der Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre. Hier findet man die Tiere in Höhenlagen von ca. 600-800 Metern über NN. Sie halten sich gerne in sehr hohen Bäumen auf, was die Suche natürlich stark erschwert. In den letzten Jahren konnten wir diese Art regelmäßig im nordöstlichen Bereich des Montagne d’Ambre Nationalparks finden, Männchen jedoch nur sehr selten.

Aussehen und Größe:

Die Männchen von Furcifer timoni haben zwei spitz zulaufende Nasenfortsätze und sind überwiegend hellgrün gefärbt. Im Augenbereich weisen die Tiere blau-weiße Farbakzente auf. Die Weibchen sind wesentlich bunter gefärbt, grünlich bis gelb und haben ein auffallendes Streifenmuster bei Erregung. Letzteres kann sowohl helle Streifen auf dunklem Grund als auch dunkle Streifen auf hellem Grund haben. Im Helm und Flankenbereich des Weibchens sind blaue und lilafarbene Punkte zu finden, und am Bauch sind rot bis orange Farbakzente in einem weißen Band.

Besonderheiten:

Furcifer timoni gehört zu den neueren Entdeckungen in der Chamäleonwelt Madagaskars, sie wurden lange Zeit als Variante des ähnlich aussehenden Furcifer petteri angesehen. Vor Kurzem wurde berichtet, dass einzelne Tiere dieser Art in der Terraristik zum Verkauf stünden. Da Furcifer timoni ausschließlich in geschützten Nationalparks vorkommt, muss man allerdings davon ausgehen, dass es sich bei jeglichen exportierten Artvertretern um illegale Tiere handelt.



Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimale Temperatur 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Regentage 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Montagne d'Ambre ist ein immergrüner Regenwald, der sich über ein Bergmassiv vulkanischen Ursprungs in Höhen zwischen 850 und 1450 m ausbreitet. Durch die Höhe wird es hier nachts empfindlich kalt mit Temperaturstürzen bis auf 10°C.

Während der Regenzeit wird es tagsüber bis zu 28°C warm, an Sonnenflecken auch etwas wärmer. Die Durschnittstemperatur liegt allerdings etwas niedriger. Während der Regenzeit schüttet es mehrfach täglich, und auch mal ganze Tage durch. Typisch Regenwald eben 😉 . Aber auch in der Trockenzeit regnet es regelmäßig, wenn auch kürzer und eher in kleinen Schauern. Das Klima im Montagne d'Ambre ist daher das ganze Jahr über feucht. Während der Trockenzeit bleiben die Temperaturen vor allem tagsüber etwas niedriger mit bis zu 25°C.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für den Montagne d'Ambre verfügbar.

Habitat:

Der Lebensraum von Furcifer timoni ist der dichte, gigantische Regenwald des Montagne d’Ambre. Die Tiere bewohnen Urwaldriesen, die unter der Last riesiger Nestfarne fast umkippen. Lianen hängen von den Bäumen herunter, Farne bedecken den Erdboden, Moos überwuchert umgestürzte Bäume. Orchideen und andere Epiphyten bewachsen fast jeden Ast des Regenwalds. Kleine Bäche durchziehen den Wald. Furcifer timoni bewohnt vor allem große, hohe Bäume und hält sich bevorzugt in den Kronen auf.  Im Folgenden einige Fotos aus dem Montagne d’Ambre.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus dem Montagne d’Ambre, die wir 2017 aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA