Furcifer willsii

Furcifer willsii aus Mitsinjo, Weibchen, 2016
Furcifer willsii aus Mitsinjo, Weibchen, 2016
Furcifer willsii in Mitsinjo 2018
Furcifer willsii in Maromizaha 2018
Furcifer willsii in Anjozorobe 2018
CITES-Quoten
2011-12 no specimens, 2013 50 specimens, 2014-21 each 500 specimens for legal export

First description:

(Günther, 1890)

Origin of the species name:

The German zoologist Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, then Director of the Zoological Department of the Natural History Museum of London (Great Britain), named this chameleon species after the missionary James A. Wills. The specimens described by Günther came from the collection of the Englishman who lived in the highlands of Madagascar. Wills was also engaged in ornithology.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer willsii

loading map - please wait...

Ambavaniasy: -18.945400, 48.513700
Ambohimitombo: -19.068100, 46.760700
Andasibe: -18.936815, 48.427734
Ikongo: -21.880000, 47.436500
Mandraka: -18.911900, 47.920000
Ranomafana: -21.213273, 47.452755
Tsaratanana: -21.180100, 47.638000
Anjozorobe: -18.473097, 47.979355
Moramanga: -18.948000, 48.230600
Andekaleka: -18.799800, 48.600500

Distribution:

Furcifer willsii inhabits the mountain forests of mainly Madagascar’s central east. The most popular distribution area is probably Analamazaotra, which is part of the Andasibe-Mantadia national park. They live at elevations up to 1200 meters. You will hardly find them in secondary vegetation, they prefer living in the humid, dense primary forests. Relatively far south for the species, a Furcifer willsii was found in the stomach of a Mahafaly snake in the Andringitra Mountains.

Appearance and size:

Furcifer willsii belongs with 15 to 17 cm total length to the smaller chameleon species. The males have two conspicuous, parallel, upward curved nose extensions, which are completely missing in the females. They are colored green with a thin white lateral stripe and white lips. The colors of the females are more variable, from yellow-green to a dark brown with bright yellow or white dots as pregnancy coloring. Both sexes carry a white line along the abdominal crest.

Good to know:

Despite their size, these chameleons are rather sensitive and are not afraid to attack a photographer’s finger. Less aggressive individuals are often frantic and run quickly up and down an offered branch, so photographing can become quite a challenge and should be done quickly.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The region around Andasibe with the belonging forests Mantadia and Analamazaotra is located in Madagascar's eastern highlands at elevations between 900 and 1250 m above sea level. Thus temperatures sometimes reach temperatures above 25°C, but thermometers rarely climbs above 30°C or only in sunny places. At night, temperatures always drop to 10° to 15°C.

Humidity in Andasibe's rainforest is high all year long. During rainy season, it rains intensively every day, sometimes rain even lasts for days. But also dry season does not differ much besides the fact of cooler temperatures. It still rains at least every other day, in most years more often. Rain, humidity and temperature drop at night are the key features of the region around Andasibe.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for the region of Andasibe available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Furcifer willsii in the region around Andasibe. Some are from finding places of the species. The rainforests of this area mainly consist of slender trees. This species can be found in denser forest parts, where the undergrowth is overgrown by ferns and moss.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from the Andasibe region. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia (Analamazaotra), Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Furcifer willsii

Furcifer willsii aus Mitsinjo, Weibchen, 2016
Furcifer willsii aus Mitsinjo, Weibchen, 2016
CITES-Quoten
2011-12 keine Tiere, 2013 je 50 Tiere, 2014-16 je 500 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Günther, 1890

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer willsii

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ambavaniasy: -18.945400, 48.513700
Ambohimitombo: -19.068100, 46.760700
Andasibe: -18.936815, 48.427734
Ikongo: -21.880000, 47.436500
Mandraka: -18.911900, 47.920000
Ranomafana: -21.213273, 47.452755
Tsaratanana: -21.180100, 47.638000

Verbreitung:

Furcifer willsii bewohnt die Bergnebelwälder des zentralen Ostens Madagaskars. Das bekannteste Verbreitungsgebiet ist wohl Analamazaotra, Teil des Andasibe-Mantadia Nationalparks. Die Tiere leben in Höhenlagen bis zu 1200 Meter. Außerhalb des Regenwaldes findet man sie so gut wie nicht, sie bevorzugen feuchte und sehr dicht bewachsene Primärwälder.

Aussehen und Größe:

Furcifer willsii gehört mit 15 bis 17 cm Gesamtlänge zu den kleineren Chamäleonarten. Die Männchen haben zwei auffallende, parallel nach oben gebogene Nasenfortsätze, die bei den Weibchen gänzlich fehlen. Sie sind grün gefärbt mit einem dünnen, weißen Lateralstreifen und weißen Lippen.  Die Farben der Weibchen sind variabler, von gelb-grün bis zu einem Dunkelbraun mit leuchtend gelber oder weißer Punktzeichnung als Trächtigkeitsfärbung.  Beide Geschlechter tragen eine weiße Linie entlang des Bauchkamms.

Besonderheiten:

Trotz Ihrer Größe sind diese Chamäleons recht sensibel, und scheuen sich auch nicht, mal den Finger des Fotografen zu attackieren, der sie ablichten möchte. Weniger angriffslustige Individuen zeigen sich oft sehr hektisch und rennen auf angebotenen Ästen wild hin und her, so dass sich Fotografieren als eher schwierig erweist und zügig vonstatten gehen sollte.



Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Region um Andasibe mit den dazugehörigen Wäldern Mantadia und Analamazaotra liegen im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen zwiscen 900 und 1250 m über Meeresniveau. Es wird deshalb tagsüber zwar mal über 25°C warm, über die 30°-Grenze klettert das Thermometer aber eher selten oder nur in Sonnenflecken. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen immer tief in den Keller. 10° bis 15° Grad sind die Regel.

Die Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Regenwäldern um Andasibe ist das ganze Jahr über hoch. Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig, manchmal hält der Regen über Tage an. Aber auch die Trockenzeit unterscheidet sich nicht massiv, außer dass sie etwas kühlere Temperaturen aufweist. Es regnet trotzdem mindestens jeden zweiten Tag, eher öfter. Regen, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und nächtlicher Temperatursturz sind daher die zentralen Punkte im Klima Andasibes.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März, April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Region Andasibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Furcifer willsii in der Region rund um Andasibe. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Die Regenwälder dieser Gegend bestehen vor allem aus jungen, schmaleren Bäumen. Die Art ist hier vor allem in dichteren Waldabschnitten zu finden, wo viel Unterholz von Farnen und Moos überwuchert wird.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus der Region Andasibe, die wir 2017 aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA