Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Locale Ambanja

Furcifer pardalis aus Ambanja, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis aus Ambanja, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis aus Ambanja, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis aus Ambanja, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambanja
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambanja
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambanja
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambanja
Furcifer pardalis in Ambanja 2018
Furcifer pardalis Ambanja, male, 2019
Furcifer pardalis Ambanja, male, 2019

Distribution of the locale Ambanja:

Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Ambanja

loading map - please wait...

Ambanja -13.678920, 48.452190 Ambanja, Antsiranana, Madagascar (Directions)

Ambanja is located in northwest Madagascar in region Diana, and is one of the largest cities there with about 40.000 inhabitants. The national road RN 6 leads directly through this chaotic and overcrowded city. From there to the capital Antananarivo, you need about 20 hours by car. The region around Ambanja is main cropping area for cocoa, and in many plantations around Ambanja as well as in shrubs, bushes and trees you can find panther chameleons.

In the south of Ambanja, there is a big river: Sambirano. It makes a natural barrier for chameleons simply due to its size – panther chameleons cannot cross it. Nevertheless you can also find panther chameleons before crossing the bridge over Sambirano, and those look very similar to Ambanja locale. You could count them either to Ambanja locale or to the locale Djangoa that occurs a little further south, and which is also limited by another river. To the further north occuring locale Ankify, Ambanja is separated by a several kilometers broad mangrove belt.

Appearance of the locale:

Similar to Ambilobe locale, the panther chameleons from Ambanja have no uniformly basic colour, but vary a lot within the same locale. In our opinion, the often used notations “red bar” or “blue bar” for animals bred in captivity, are completely useless because they only point to one specific animal at one specific time. Different colour variants (blue, red or midex ones) can occur in the same clutch. And even single specimen can look completely different than young when adult.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm

Since 2015, we measure the weights of most chameleons that we find in Madagascar, of course only if practicable with calm animals (and working scales). Up to date, we have only few weights. Over the long term, we want to get an average weight in proportion to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) from a large amount of measurements for each Madagascan chameleon species. It is important to know that weights were all measured at the end of the rainy season, when the chameleons have been having the highest food supply of the year. So our table may show maximum weights of chameleons in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, spherical symbols mean pregnant. Despite our earlier assumptions, it has turned out that in Furcifer pardalis, there seem to be no significant differences in SVL-weight-ratio between the different locales.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 26 26 26 25 24 23 23 24 25 26 26
Minimum temperature 22 22 22 22 20 18 18 18 19 20 21 22
Maximum temperature 30 30 31 31 30 29 29 29 30 31 31 30
Rain days 29 26 24 15 8 7 7 8 7 10 18 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Ambanja has warm temperatures around 25°C all year long. In sunny places, temperatures may rise above 30°C. At night, temperatures drop to 20°C, during dry season they may even fall slightly below to 18°C.

During rainy season, it rains daily and a lot, so humidity raises quickly. But the region remains green even during dry season. It may rain a lot less, but precipitaion is still regular. Additionally, the location between rivers cares for a steady water supply of trees and other plants.

2014 UVI Ambanja
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ambanja available yet.

Habitat:

The main habitat of panther chameleons here are cocoa and coffee plantations. In the city of Ambanja itself, you won’t find many chameleons since the city is densely populated. Cocoa as well as coffee trees are rather low with widely protruding crows. These trees are cut each year to keep them low and make harvest easier. Between these small trees, there are some huge tamarind and mango trees. Inside the plantations, it is relatively shady. The soil is covered by a thick foliage layer which is partially overgrown by ground-covering plants.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from plantations close to Ambanja. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Kakao- und Kaffeeplantage in Ambanja, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Kakao- und Kaffeeplantage in Ambanja, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Lokalform Ambanja

Furcifer pardalis aus Ambanja, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis aus Ambanja, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis aus Ambanja, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis aus Ambanja, Männchen, 2017
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambanja
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambanja
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambanja
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambanja

Verbreitung der Lokalform:

Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Ambanja

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ambanja -13.678920, 48.452190 Ambanja, Antsiranana, Madagascar (Routenplaner)

Ambanja liegt im Nordwesten Madagaskars in der Region Diana, und ist mit rund 40.000 Einwohnern eine der größten Städte in der Gegend. Die RN 6 führt direkt durch die chaotische und überbevölkerte Stadt, von dort zur Hauptstadt Antananarivo braucht man mit dem Pkw rund 20 Stunden. Die Region um Ambanja ist Hauptanbaugebiet für Kakao, und auf vielen Plantagen rund um Ambanja sowie in vielen Sträuchern, Gebüschen und Bäumen findet man Pantherchamäleons.

Im Süden Ambanjas verläuft der große Fluss Sambirano, der durch seine Größe eine natürliche Grenze bildet und von Pantherchamäleons nicht überquert werden kann. Allerdings findet man auch davor schon Tiere, die man sowohl zur Lokalform Ambanja als auch zur weiter südlich vorkommenden, ebenfalls durch einen Fluss abgegrenzten Lokalform Djangoa zählen könnte. Zur weiter nördlich an der Küste gelegenen Lokalform Ankify hin ist Ambanja durch einen mehrere Kilometer breiten Mangrovengürtel getrennt.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Ähnlich zur Lokalform Ambilobe haben die Pantherchamäleons aus Ambanja keine einheitliche Grundfärbung, sondern variieren stark innerhalb der gleichen Lokalform. Die in der Terraristik oft genutzten Bezeichnungen „red bar“ oder „blue bar“ , die sich auf die Farbgebungen einzelner Tiere beziehen, sind dabei unserer Meinung nach einfach Unsinn. Im gleichen Gelege können verschiedene Farbvarianten (sowohl blaue, als auch rote oder gemischte) auftreten. Und sogar einzelne Tiere können als Jungtier eine völlig andere Färbung als im späten adulten Alter haben. Das folgende Foto zeigt ein Jungtier aus einer Kakaoplantage nahe Ambanja.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2017

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.



Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 26 26 26 26 25 24 23 23 24 25 26 26
Minimale Temperatur 22 22 22 22 20 18 18 18 19 20 21 22
Maximale Temperatur 30 30 31 31 30 29 29 29 30 31 31 30
Regentage 29 26 24 15 8 7 7 8 7 10 18 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

In Ambanja ist es ganzjährig warm mit Temperaturen um die 25°C. In der Sonne kann die Temperatur gut über die 30°C gehen. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen auf bis zu 20° C herunter, während der Trockenzeit von April bis September kann es auch mal knapp darunterr auf 18°C gehen.

Wärhrend der Regenzeit regnet es täglich lange und ergiebig, so dass die Luftfeuchtigkeit enorm ansteigt. Während der Trockenzeit bleibt es jedoch auch sehr grün in der Gegend. Es regnet zwar deutlich weniger, aber die immer mal wieder auftretenden Niederschläge und die Lage direkt zwischen Flüssen sorgen für eine stetige Wasserversorgung der Region.

2014 UVI Ambanja

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ambanja verfügbar.

Habitat:

Das hauptsächliche Habitat der Pantherchamäleons hier sind Kakao- und Kaffeeplantagen. In Ambanja selbst findet man eher keine Chamäleons, da die Stadt enorm dicht besiedelt ist. Sowohl Kakao- als auch Kaffeebäume sind relativ niedrige Bäume mit breiten Kronen, die zwecks Ernte stets niedrig zurückgestutzt werden. Zwischen den kleinen Bäumen stehen hier und da riesige Mango- und Tamarindenbäume. In den Plantagen selbst ist es relativ schattig. Der Erdboden ist mit einer dicken Laubschicht bedeckt und wird teils von kriechenden Bodendeckern überwuchert.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus den Plantagen nahe Ambanja. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Kakao- und Kaffeeplantage in Ambanja, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Kakao- und Kaffeeplantage in Ambanja, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove