Palleon nasus

Palleon nasus nasus
Palleon nasus nasus
Palleon nasus in Ranomafana 2018
Palleon nasus in Ranomafana 2018
Palleon nasus in Ranomafana 2018
Palleon nasus in Ranomafana 2018
CITES quotas
2011-13 no specimens,
2014-18 each 150 specimens,
2019 for the first time 250 specimens,
2020-21 again 150 specimens for legal export

First description:

(Boulenger, 1887)

Origin of the species name:

The Belgian zoologist George Alber Boulenger, at that time working at the Natural History Museum in London (Great Britain), named this chameleon species after its nose. It was thought at the time that the species belonged to Brookesia – and for them, appearance and nose were very unusual.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Palleon nasus

loading map - please wait...

Ranomafana: -21.212900, 47.448578
Andohahela: -24.695687, 46.746941
Andringitra: -22.253513, 47.015991
Ikongo: -21.880000, 47.436500
Ivohibe: -22.421185, 46.944580
Tolagnaro: -25.030000, 46.966300
Vohipara: -21.269220, 47.472954
Ambahaka forest: -22.290526, 47.315369
Andrambovato: -21.514000, 47.428400
Vinanitelo: -21.732400, 47.262900
Imaitso: -22.098842, 46.866989
Namoly: -22.127547, 46.920891

Distribution:

This species is found in Ranomafana and Andohahela national parks and in the Andringitra Mountains. So far, the sites are mainly located in rainforests in southeastern Madagascar. In the National Park Ranomafana the animals occur at about 1000 m a.s.l. and higher, in the National Park Andringitra at altitudes between 1580 and 1640 m. It is difficult to find Palleon nasus, however, and even at night, you need some luck to discover a sleeping animal of this species in the bushes. If one finds, it usually concerns pairs, with which both animals are to be found within maximally one square meter. They like to sleep headfirst on extremely thin grasses or branches, both vertically with the head down hanging or with the belly up hanging horizontally. The sleeping places are partly up to two meters above the ground.

Appearance & size:

With a total length of only 9 cm, these chameleons are rather small. Females reach maximally 6,5 cm. Like almost all leaf chameleons, Palleon nasus is beige to brownish colored with few variations. From time to time, you can find specimens with a dark lateral stripe. The dorsal ridge is sharply waved, otherwise, the body is hardly conspicuous. According to the name, the snout ends in a small snub nose. Males wear a double row of tubercles along the dorsal ridge, females only a single row.

Good to know:

In 2013, the species was placed in genus Palleon by Glaw, Hawlitschek, and Ruthensteiner taxonomically. Until then, it was thought to be a Brookesia. The examinations suggest that it might be a sister genus of Brookesia, that might have developed far earlier than thought. It is possibly one of the most “original” species. Palleon nasus can be split into two subspecies, Palleon nasus nasus (pictures) and Palleon nasus pauliani. The latter subspecies might be restricted to Andringitra mountains, has more heterogenous scalation and lacks double row tubercles on the dorsal ridge. Up to date, it is unclear whether the subspecies pauliani is really a subspecies of Palleon nasus.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The rainforest of Ranomafana is located in Madagascar's southern highlands at elevations around 1000 m above sea level. Thus climate is generally cooler than e.g. on the coast or in the southwestern part of the island. Days reach temperatures around 25°C, rainy season may become a little warmer. Sunny places may get a little above 30°C sometimes. At night, temperature drops down to 20°C in rainy season and even lower to 15°C in dry season.

But "dry" season is very relative in Ranomafana, because the forest does not get dry at all. Never. It may rain less and precipitation is not lasting for days, but it is still rich enough to let ground and trees never dry completely. Key factors of Ranomafana's climate are high humidity and cool nights.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ranomafana available yet.

Habitat:

The habitat of this species is ever humid and evergreen. They live in low shrubs and bushes. During the daytime, they roam around on the ground. The ground in Ranomafana consists of earth and rocks covered extremely in moss. The undergrowth is very dense with lots of small branches and twigs, small vines and similar. Even the undergrowth is overgrown with epiphytes and lichen. The species prefers only certain places in the forest, that have knee-high grass and dense, fern-covered slopes.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Ranomafana that we took in 2017. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Palleon nasus

Palleon nasus von Dimby, Mai 2017
Palleon nasus nasus
Palleon nasus nasus
Palleon nasus nasus
Palleon nasus von Dimby, Mai 2017
Palleon nasus
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-16 je 150 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Boulenger, 1887

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Palleon nasus

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ranomafana: -21.212900, 47.448578
Andohahela: -24.695687, 46.746941
Andringitra: -22.253513, 47.015991
Ikongo: -21.880000, 47.436500
Ivohibe: -22.421185, 46.944580
Tolagnaro: -25.030000, 46.966300
Vohipara: -21.269220, 47.472954

Verbreitung:

Diese Art kommt in den Nationalparks Ranomafana sowie Andohahela und im Andringitra-Gebirge vor. Die bisherigen Fundorte liegen damit vorwiegend in Regenwäldern im Südosten Madagaskars. Man findet Palleon nasus allerdings nur schwer und braucht selbst nachts etwas Glück, ein schlafendes Tier dieser Art im Gebüsch zu entdecken.

Aussehen & Größe:

Mit gerade einmal 9 cm Gesamtlänge sind diese Chamäleons sehr klein, die Weibchen erreichen maximal 6,5 cm. Wie fast alle Erdchamäleons ist Palleon nasus beige bis braun gefärbt und zeigt nur wenig Variation in der Farbgebung. Hin und wieder findet man Tiere mit einem dunklen Seitenstreifen. Der Rückenkamm ist spitz gewellt, ansonsten ist der gesamte Körper eher unauffällig. Passend zum Namen verläuft die Schnauze dieser Chamäleons länglich und spitz zu, und endet in einer kleinen Stupsnase. Die Männchen tragen eine doppelte Reihe von Tuberkeln auf dem Rückenkamm, die Weibchen nur eine einfache.

Besonderheiten:

2013 wurde die Art von Glaw, Hawlitschek und Ruthensteiner taxonomisch in den Genus Palleon gestellt. Bis dahin war Palleon nasus zu Brookesia gezählt worden. Die Untersuchungen legen nahe, dass es sich um ein Schwester-Genus von Brookesia handelt, das sich schon deutlich früher als gedacht entwickelt hat und möglicherweise zu eine der „ursprünglichsten“ Arten zählt. Palleon nasus kann außerdem in zwei Unterarten geteilt werden, Palleon nasus nasus (Fotos) und Palleon nasus pauliani. Letztere Unterart soll auf das Andringitra-Gebirge beschränkt sein und sich äußerlich durch die fehlende Doppelreihe Tuberkel auf dem Rückenkamm und einer ungleichmäßigeren Beschuppung unterscheiden. Es ist aktuell unklar, ob die Unterart pauliani tatsächlich eine Unterart von Palleon nasus ist.



Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Regenwald von Ranomafana liegt im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen um die 1000 m über Meeresniveau. Damit ist das Klima hier grundsätzlich kühler als z.B. an der Küste oder im Südwesten der Insel. Tagsüber wird es um die 25°C warm, während der Regenzeit auch wärmer. Sonnige Stellen erreichen auch mal knapp über 30°C. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen herunter bis auf 20°C in der Regenzeit und bis auf 15°C in der Trockenzeit.

Trockenzeit ist in Ranomafana allerdings sehr relativ, denn wirklich trocken wird es hier nie. Es regnet zwar etwas weniger und nicht tagelang am Stück, aber trotzdem noch ergiebig genug, dass Erdboden und Bäume nie völlig abtrocknen. Eine hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und kühle Nächte sind die Schlüsselfaktoren in Ranomafana.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ranomafana verfügbar.

Habitat:

Der Lebensraum dieser Art ist dauerfeucht und dauergrün. Sie leben in niedrigen Gebüschen und Sträuchern, und sind tagsüber viel auf dem Boden unterwegs. Der Boden in Ranomafana besteht aus Erde und extrem mit Moos bedeckten Felsen. Das Unterholz ist enorm dicht mit vielen kleinen Ästchen, Farnen, kleinen Schlingpflanzen und ähnlichem. Selbst das Unterholz ist mit Epiphyten und Flechten bewachsen.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ranomafana. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove