Local form Ankaramy

Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Männchen
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ankaramy
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ankaramy
Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Weibchen
Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Weibchen
Furcifer pardalis weiblich, Ankaramibe
Furcifer pardalis, Jungtier, aus Ankaramibe
Furcifer pardalis female Ankaramibe, 2019 (
urcifer pardalis male Ankaramibe, 2019
urcifer pardalis male Ankaramibe, 2019
urcifer pardalis male Ankaramibe, 2019
urcifer pardalis male Ankaramibe, 2019
Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Ankaramy

loading map - please wait...

Ankaramy -13.975898, 48.178431 Ankaramibe, Mahajanga, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution of the local form Ankaramy:

The small city Ankaramibe is located in northwest Madagascar in region Mahajanga, directly at the RN6. The city partially consists of stone houses, but mainly of the usual wooden huts, and is surrounded by maize fields, secondary vegetation, and coffee plantations. Everything green outside the plantations is strongly characterized by mango trees. South of Ankaramibe, there flows the river Ankaramy which gave the name for this local form. Behind this river, the western distribution area of panther chameleons begins. In the northern direction, the local form is bordered by local form Djangoa – the males here look completely different! Between Ankaramibe and Djangoa flow two rivers called Antranofotaka and Ankingameloka.

Appearance ofthe local form:

The specimen occuring in and around Ankaramibe have a very special colour that does not exist anywhere else on Madagascar. Males here are all dirty reddish, somewhat blending in some kind of pink. Due to the partially pink-alike colour, animals of this local form have been sometimes called “pink panther” in captivity. The following pictures show juveniles of this local form.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018
Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = females, Männchen = males

Since 2015 we have been measuring the weights of chameleons we have found in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) are concerned. So far there are only a few weights, in the long term an average weight in relation to the snout-vent-length It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so they are probably maximum weights in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females do not mean pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In the case of Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, there have been no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to the weight of the individual local forms.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 26 26 26 25 24 23 23 24 25 26 26
Minimum temperature 22 22 22 22 20 18 18 18 19 20 21 22
Maximum temperature 30 30 31 31 30 29 29 29 30 31 31 30
Rain days 29 26 24 15 8 7 7 8 7 10 18 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Ankaramibe has warm temperatures around 25°C all year long. In sunny places, temperatures may rise above 30°C. At night, temperatures drop to 20°C, during dry season they may even fall slightly below to 18°C.

During rainy season, it rains daily and a lot, so humidity raises quickly. But the region remains green even during dry season. It may rain a lot less, but precipitaion is still regular. Additionally, the location between rivers cares for a steady water supply of trees and other plants.

2014 UVI Ambanja
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ankaramibe available yet.

Habitat:

Ankaramibe is embedded in a hilly landscape that looks very green but almost completely consists of secondary vegetation. Some of the hills are covered by small young forests. The panther chameleons here adapt well to the new environmental conditions and live inside the village between wooden huts and bushes, in mango trees and along small plantations. But please don’t think of Ankaramibe as a “village” like those in Europe. Finally, it’s some old stone houses and lots of rhamshackle huts that stay in the middle of a lush green landscape. Everywhere grow bushes and shrubs, enough place for panther chameleons to live.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Lokalform Ankaramy

Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Männchen
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ankaramy
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ankaramy
Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Weibchen
Furcifer pardalis aus Ankaramibe, 2017 Weibchen
Furcifer pardalis weiblich, Ankaramibe
Furcifer pardalis, Jungtier, aus Ankaramibe
Furcifer pardalis female Ankaramibe, 2019 (
urcifer pardalis male Ankaramibe, 2019
urcifer pardalis male Ankaramibe, 2019
urcifer pardalis male Ankaramibe, 2019
urcifer pardalis male Ankaramibe, 2019
Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Ankaramy

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ankaramy -13.975898, 48.178431 Ankaramibe, Mahajanga, Madagaskar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Ankaramy:

Die kleine Stadt Ankaramibe liegt im Nordwesten Madagaskars in der Region Mahajanga direkt an der RN6. Der Ort besteht teils aus Steinhäusern, mehrwiegend aber aus den üblichen Holzhütten, und ist umgeben von Maisfeldern, Sekundärvegetation und Kaffeeplantagen. Alles Grün außerhalb der Plantagen ist stark von unzähligen Mangobäumen geprägt. Südlich von Ankaramibe verläuft der für diese Lokalform namensgebende Fluss Ankaramy, hinter dem das westliche Verbreitungsgebiet der Pantherchamäleons beginnt. Richtung Norden grenzt die Lokalform Djangoa an, bei denen die Männchen bereits völlig anders aussehen. Zwischen Ankaramibe und Djangoa verlaufen die beiden Flüsse Antranofotaka und Ankingameloka.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Die in und um Ankaramibe vorkommenden Tiere haben eine sehr spezielle Farbe, die es nirgendwo anders auf Madagaskar gibt. Die Männchen hier sind allesamt schmutzig rot, teils in eine Art rosa (pink) übergehend. Wegen der teilweise rosa-ähnlichen Farbgebung sind die Tiere in der Terraristik auch als „pink panther“ bekannt. Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Jungtiere der Lokalform.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 26 26 26 26 25 24 23 23 24 25 26 26
Minimale Temperatur 22 22 22 22 20 18 18 18 19 20 21 22
Maximale Temperatur 30 30 31 31 30 29 29 29 30 31 31 30
Regentage 29 26 24 15 8 7 7 8 7 10 18 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

In Ankaramibe ist es ganzjährig warm mit Temperaturen um die 25°C. In der Sonne kann die Temperatur gut über die 30°C gehen. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen auf bis zu 20° C herunter, während der Trockenzeit von April bis September kann es auch mal knapp darunterr auf 18°C gehen.

Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich lange und ergiebig, so dass die Luftfeuchtigkeit enorm ansteigt. Während der Trockenzeit bleibt es jedoch auch sehr grün in der Gegend. Es regnet zwar deutlich weniger, aber die immer mal wieder auftretenden Niederschläge und die Lage direkt zwischen Flüssen sorgen für eine stetige Wasserversorgung der Region.

2014 UVI Ambanja

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ankaramibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Ankaramibe liegt eingebettet in eine hügelige Landschaft, die sehr grün scheint, aber fast nur aus Sekundärvegetation besteht. Einige der Hügel sind von kleinen, jungen Wäldchen bedeckt. Die Pantherchamäleons haben sich jedoch an die geänderten Umweltbedingungen angepasst und leben selbst innerhalb der Stadt zwischen Holzhütten und Sträuchern, in Mangobäumen und entlang kleiner Plantagen. Die „Stadt“ kann man sich allerdings dabei keinesfalls so vorstellen wie ein Dorf in Europa. Es sind letztlich ein paar Steinhäuser und viele ärmliche Hütten, die mitten im Grünen stehen. Da überall Büsche und Sträucher wuchern, findet sich genug Platz für Pantherchamäleons.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove