Aktuelle Rubrik

The cage & the animal

Terrarium lighting

Naturally, lighting belongs naturally to the species-appropriate terrarium. The lighting is secured by different lamps. In the last decades, a lot has happened in this area so that the imitation of nature-like lighting conditions...

Outdoor enclosures

Many chameleon species can be kept outside in Europe at least temporarily. Chameleons, like many other reptiles, benefit greatly from the real solar radiation, various weather influences and the natural temperature development in outdoor...

Wild caught or captive bred?

If you want to buy a chameleon, you will need to decide sooner or later whether you like to have a captive bred (cb) individual or a wild caught (wc) chameleon. Generally, in our...

Plants for the cage

Here we have compiled an alpahbetic list of plants that are suitable for various chameleon terrariums. However, some of them contain potentially toxic substances, so they should not be used for those chameleons that...

Building a cage – which material?

Glass Cages made of glass belong to the oldest in keeping reptiles, and have been staying keepers in good stead for years. Unfortunately, many standard glass cages in common shops are not suitable for...
Große Parsons Terrarien

Size & ventilation of the cage

Size The final size of a chameleon cage has to comply with the needs of the future inhabitant, not the other way round. Please pay attention to the species’ acitivity as well as the...
Transport von Chamäleons

Transporting a chameleon

From the breeder’s home, to the vet or when selling a young animal: At some point comes the time when you have to transport your chameleon. Like all reptiles, chameleons are ectothermic, so their...

“Free range” and chameleons inside the living room

Again and again, pictures pop off in the world wide web showing chameleons “free-roaming” inside the living room, optionally in kitchen, sleeping room or at the balcony, too. In most cases, the animals sit...
Nebel über Ranomafana

Fog and foggers

What is fog? Fog is actually nothing more than a cloud hanging very close above the ground. It occurs when the temperature of the air and the dew point are almost the same. Fog...
Wasserfall in Ranomafana

Fountains and waterfalls

The pet shop offers a variety of colourful boxes with indoor fountains, small waterfalls or terrarium fountains. Many chameleon keepers expect a beautiful terrarium decoration from waterfalls and fountains, which also encourages drinking. This...

Aktuelle Rubrik

Terrarium & Tier

Winterruhe

Unter vielen Chamäleonhaltern ist sie ein wiederkehrendes Thema: Die Winterruhe im Terrarium. Sollte man eine halten, wenn ja bei welchen Arten und warum überhaupt? Dieser Artikel soll dem Ganzen ein wenig auf den Grund...

Wasserversorgung

Chamäleons auf Madagaskar kann man vor allem während des Regens und am Morgen beim Trinken beobachten. Sie gehen nicht an stehendes Gewässer, sondern nehmen vor allem bewegtes Wasser von Pflanzen oder Ästen aktiv auf....
UVB messen

UV-B-Strahlung

Was ist UV-B? UV-B ist die Abkürzung für Ultraviolett-B. Das ist ein Teil der Sonnenstrahlung, die auf die Erde trifft. Nur etwa 5% der Sonnenstrahlen sind überhaupt Ultraviolett-Strahlen. Sie teilen sich je nach Wellenlänge...

Beleuchtung des Terrariums

Zum artgerechten Terrarium gehört selbstverständlich auch die Beleuchtung, die von verschiedenen Lampen gesichert wird. In den letzten Jahrzehnten hat sich in diesem Bereich sehr viel getan, so dass die Imitation naturähnlicher Lichtverhältnisse zunehmend einfacher...

Außenhaltung im Sommer

Viele Chamäleon-Arten kann man in Deutschland zumindest zeitweise draußen halten. Chamäleons profitieren wie viele andere Reptilien sehr von der echten Sonnenstrahlung, verschiedenen Wettereinflüssen und dem natürlichen Temperaturverlauf in Außengehegen. Sie werden auf Balkon, Terrasse...

Wildfang oder Nachzucht?

Wer ein Chamäleon kaufen möchte, steht früher oder später vor der Wahl, ob er sich für eine Nachzucht (NZ) oder einen Wildfang (WF) entscheiden will. Wir sind grundsätzlich der Meinung, dass kontrollierten Nachzuchten stets...

Pflanzen fürs Terrarium

Hier haben wir eine alphabetische Liste an Pflanzen zusammengestellt, die sich für verschiedene Chamäleonterrarien eignen. Einige davon enthalten jedoch potenziell giftige Stoffe, so dass sie bei den Chamäleons nicht zum Einsatz kommen sollten, die...

Terrarienbau – welches Material?

Glas Terrarien aus Glas gehören zu den ältesten in der Terraristik und haben über viele Jahre bis heute gute Dienste geleistet. Leider sind die üblichen Standard-Glasterrarien aus dem Handel auf Grund ihrer schlechten Belüftung...
Große Parsons Terrarien

Größe & Belüftung des Terrariums

Größe des Terrariums Die Größe des Terrariums muss sich natürlich nach dem zukünftigen Bewohner richten, nicht andersherum. Dabei ist die Aktivität der Art genauso zu beachten wie die erreichbare Endgröße des Chamäleons selbst. Beispielsweise...
Transport von Chamäleons

Chamäleons transportieren

Vom Züchter nach Hause, zum Tierarzt oder beim Verkauf eines Jungtieres: Irgendwann kommt der Zeitpunkt, an dem man sein Chamäleon transportieren muss. Chamäleons sind wie alle Reptilien wechselwarm, ihre Körpertemperatur ist also von der...