Aktuelle Rubrik

Chameleons & habitat data

  • Home
  • Chameleons & habitat data
Brookesia antakarana Montagne d'Ambre 2019

Brookesia antakarana

First description: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995 Distribution: As the name already suggests, these chameleons exist only in northwest Madagascar, where the Antankarana tribe lives, to be more precise in Amber mountain national park. In...

Furcifer angeli

First description: Brygoo & Domergue, 1968 Distribution: Furcifer angeli lives in the dry forests of northwest Madagascar. The distribution area ranges from the Ankarafantsika National Park to various forest remnants near Port-Bergé and Mahajanga...

Frequently asked questions about local forms

There are some questions we have been asked again and again, so we set up this page to collect all those. If you think there might be more questions, we would be glad to...
Calumma amber, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019

Calumma amber

First description: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006 Distribution: Calumma amber is, as the name already suggests, an inhabitant of the evergreen mountain rainforests of Amber Mountain. You can only find them on elevations of 1000-1300...
Calumma ambreense, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019

Calumma ambreense

First description: Ramanantsoa, 1974 Distribution: Calumma ambreense is an inhabitant of the rainforests of Amber Mountain national park. You can only find it on elevations between 600 and 1200 meters above sea level. The...

Calumma boettgeri

First description: Boulenger, 1888 Distribution: Calumma boettgeri can be found on some islands in the northwest of Madagascar as well as the offshore mainland. It is found in the remaining rainforests of Manongarivo and...
Calumma brevicorne

Calumma brevicorne

First description: Günther, 1879 Distribution: You can find Calumma brevicorne with high probability in Analamazaotra, part of Andasibe-Mantadia national park. These chameleons are quite common there, and you can find them without any problems...

Calumma cucullatum

First description: Gray, 1831 Distribution: The habitat of Calumma cucullatum extends from the eastern foothills of the central highlands of Madagascar of Vohidrazana to the evergreen rainforests of the Masoala National Park. Preference is...

Furcifer antimena

First description: Grandidier, 1872 Distribution: Furcifer antimena inhabits the spiny forests and savannah edges of dry and hot southwest Madagascar. The best time to find these animals is from the mid of February to...
Calumma crypticum in Ranomafana 2018

Calumma crypticum

First description: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006 Distribution: This species, also called blue-legged chameleon in English, only lives in the rainforest at elevations between 1000 and 1800 meters above sea level. Ranomafana and Andohahela national...

Aktuelle Rubrik

Chamäleons & Habitatsdaten

  • Home
  • Chamäleons & Habitatsdaten
Brookesia antakarana Montagne d'Ambre 2019

Brookesia antakarana

Erstbeschreibung: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995 Verbreitung: Wie der Name es schon vermuten lässt, gibt es diese Chamäleons ausschließlich im Nordwesten Madagaskars, etwas weiter als das Volk der Antankarana beheimatet ist, im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre....

Furcifer angeli

Erstbeschreibung: Brygoo & Domergue, 1968 Verbreitung: Furcifer angeli lebt in den Trockenwäldern im Nordwesten Madagaskars. Das Verbreitungsgebiet reicht vom Nationalpark Ankarafantsika bis zu diversen Waldresten nahe Port- Bergé und Mahajanga an der Wesküste. Letztere...

Häufig gestellte Fragen zu Lokalformen

Hier haben wir eine Sammlung an Fragen beantwortet, die wir immer wieder gestellt bekommen. Sollten weitere Fragen hierher passen, freuen wir uns über eine E-Mail. Um direkt zu den Fragen zu springen einfach auf...
Calumma amber, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019

Calumma amber

Erstbeschreibung: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006 Verbreitung: Calumma amber ist, wie der Name schon vermuten, lässt in den immergrünen Bergnebelwäldern des Montagne d’Ambre zu finden. Diese Tiere sind überwiegend in Höhen von ca. 1000-1300 Meter...
Calumma ambreense, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019

Calumma ambreense

Erstbeschreibung: Ramanantsoa, 1974 Verbreitung & Habitat: Calumma ambreense ist ein Bewohner der Regenwälder des Nationalparks Montagne d’Ambre. Dabei ist es in den mittleren Höhenlagen von 600-1200 Meter zu finden. Die Art lebt vorwiegend in...

Calumma boettgeri

Erstbeschreibung: Boulenger, 1888 Verbreitung: Calumma boettgeri ist auf einigen Inseln im Nordwesten Madagaskars sowie dem vorgelagerten Festland zu finden. Man findet es in den verbliebenen Regenwäldern von Manongarivo sowie im Nationalpark Lokobe auf der...
Calumma brevicorne

Calumma brevicorne

Erstbeschreibung: Günther, 1879 Verbreitung und Habitat: Calumma brevicorne findet man mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit im Analamazaotra, Teil des Nationalparks Andasibe-Mantadia. Diese Chamäleons sind dort recht häufig, und man kann sie ohne Probleme bei Nachtwanderungen schlafend...

Calumma cucullatum

Erstbeschreibung: Gray, 1831 Verbreitung: Der Lebensraum von Calumma cucullatum erstreckt sich von den östlichen Ausläufern des zentralen Hochlandes Madagaskars von Vohidrazana bis hin in die immergrünen Regenwälder des Nationalparks Masoala. Dabei werden überwiegend dichte...

Furcifer antimena

Erstbeschreibung: Grandidier, 1872 Verbreitung: Furcifer antimena bewohnt die Dornwälder und Savannenränder des trockenen, heißen Süd-Westen Madagaskars. Man findet diese Tiere am besten in der Zeit von Mitte Februar bis Mitte März in den Didieraceenwäldern...
Calumma crypticum in Ranomafana 2018

Calumma crypticum

Erstbeschreibung: Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006 Verbreitung: Diese Art lebt nur in Regenwäldern auf Höhen zwischen 1000 und 1800 Metern. Zu ihrem Lebensraum gehören die Nationalparks Ranomafana und Andohahela sowie das Tsaratanana-Gebirge und die Gegend...