Planned expeditions

  • Home
  • Planned expeditions

Here we would like to present which expeditions we will undertake this year in Madagascar to find animals, take photos and collect further data. And of course, which chameleon species can be found on the expeditions. If you would like to join us and experience Madagascar and its chameleons up close, please feel free to contact us. And don’t worry – our accommodations are quite normal and a cold beer is always waiting for us when we come back from the forest. Our trips to Madagascar are run by Tanalahorizon. Tanalahorizon has 27 years of travel and chameleon experience on the island, so you are in the very best hands.

Return to the island of dragons

Period: 26.03. – 15.04.2023
(three weeks)
maximum 10 participants still few places left!

In spring 2023 we will again travel to the north of Madagascar. This trip is mainly dedicated to the many different local forms of the panther chameleons and other extremely colorful chameleons of the northwest. Our first destination is the dry forest of Ankarafantsika, where we will encounter the small, colorful Furcifer rhinoceratus and the hard-to-find terrestrial chameleon Brookesia decaryi. On the way further north we will discover Furcifer viridis in the bushes until we finally can admire the first local forms of the panther chameleons: We will visit animals of the local forms Ankaramy, Ambanja, Beramanja and Djangoa in their natural habitat. For relaxation, we will spend a few days on the beach of Ankify and snorkel with sea turtles on the dream island of Nosy Tanikely. After that, we continue to Ambilobe. The most colorful local form of the panther chameleons is located near the big city – we spend a whole day tracking down and photographing these chameleons. In Ankarana National Park, with its longest underground cave system in Africa, we meet crowned macaws and leaf-tailed geckos before heading to our final destination. The Amber Mountain is a true chameleon paradise. In the middle of this enchanting rainforest, we pitch our tents. From the gentle giants of the forest, Calumma ambreense, to rarer species like Furcifer timoni or Brookesia ebenaui, we will experience countless animals on our walks in the forest. Our trip will finally end at Diego Suarez Bay, where we can relax by the pool and share memories and review the trip.

 

Lokalform Ankaramy

Diese wunderschöne Lokalform der Pantherchamäleons finden wir jedes Jahr zuverlässig.

Lokalform Ambanja

Diese wunderschöne Lokalform finden wir in den Kakaoplantagen auf jeden Fall.

Lokalform Beramanja

Eine eher unbekannte Lokalform der Pantherchamäleons, aber nicht weniger schön.

Lokalform Djangoa

Auch in Djangoa werden wir natürlich nach Pantherchamäleons suchen.

 

Lokalform Ankify

In Ankify gibt es nicht nur Traumstrände, sondern auch schöne Pantherchamäleons.

Lokalform Nosy Tanikely

Auf Nosy Tanikely lässt sich mit Meeresschildkröten schnorcheln und nach Chamäleons schauen.

Lokalform Ambilobe

Der buntesten Lokalform widmen wir uns einen ganzen Tag lang.

Lokalform Diego Suarez

Diese Pantherchamäleons finden wir häufig auf dem Weg.

 

Lokalform Ankarana Ost

Eine weitere Lokalform, die wir entdecken werden.

Calumma ambreense

Diese wunderschönen großen Chamäleons erwarten uns im Montagne d’Ambre.

Calumma amber

Diese Tiere werden wir sogar neben unseren Zelten finden.

Furcifer petteri

Eine schöne Chamäleonart, die wir am Rande des Montagne d’Ambre sehen werden.

 

Brookesia stumpffi

Eine kleine, aber sehr interessante Chamäleonart aus der Bucht von Antongil.

Furcifer timoni

Eine der schönsten Chamäleonarten des Montagne d’Ambre.

Calumma cf. nasutum

Diese kleine, noch unbeschriebene Art haben wir schon mehrfach gefunden.

Brookesia ebenaui

Dieses schöne Erdchamäleon lebt an den Hängen des Montagne d’Ambre.

 

Brookesia antakarana

Dieses Erdchamäleon lebt im Regenwald des Montagne d’Ambre.

Brookesia desperata

Eine winzige, aber faszinierende Art aus dem Forêt d’Ambre.

Calumma linotum

Dieses häufige, kleine Chamäleon finden wir rund um unseren Zeltplatz.

Brookesia tuberculata

Dieser Winzling gehört zu den kleinsten Chamäleons der Welt.

 

Furcifer rhinoceratus

Eine faszinierende Art aus dem Trockenwald von Ankarafantsika.

Brookesia decaryi

Eine kleine, sehr hübsche Erdchamäleon-Art aus dem Nordwesten.

Furcifer oustaleti

Das häufigste Chamäleon Madagaskars findet sich überall auf der Insel.

Furcifer viridis

Eine hübsche Chamäleonart, die wir auf dem Weg in den Westen sehen.

 

Hunt  for  the  Green  Giant

Time frame: 04th March – 24th March 2023
(two or three weeks, optional)
maximum 8 participants only 2 places left!

Our journey begins in the capital, Antananarivo, in the central highlands. The very next morning, we take a very small plane to Maroantsetra, directly to the bay of Antongil in the northeast of Madagascar. The adventure is waiting! With sun, warmth and beautiful panther chameleons we get to know each other and get in the mood for the coming weeks comfortably by the pool. Our first destination is the UNESCO World Heritage Masoala. We cross the Bay of Antongil by boat and reside in a beautiful hotel directly in the rainforest, the beach in front of our feet and jungle giants behind us. A real chameleon paradise awaits us, pristine, untouched and mysterious. For several days we will cross the rainforest of Masoala on foot. We will search the higher altitudes for Calumma cucullatum and the most colorful leaf chameleon of Madagascar, Brookesia vadoni, which still occurs only in very small areas. On the way, we will encounter one or the other panther chameleon and the small Calumma radamanus. One of the smallest chameleons on the island, Brookesia peyrierasy, can be found at the roots of some big trees in the jungle. Our special highlight and namesake of this trip, however, is the green giant, supposedly the largest Parson’s chameleon in Madagascar. We want to meet this rarely observed, mystical color variant of the Parson’s chameleon in nature!

After a fabulous week in the rainforest of Masoala, we take our little plane back to Antananarivo. Next, we head east to the famous highland rainforest of Andasibe. Here the calls of wild indris wake us up and we have breakfast overlooking the rainforest. Andasibe is the widely known home of Calumma brevicorne, Calumma emelinae and Calumma nasutum. Here we visit mainly small, less visited protected areas, which are not even noticed by the majority of travelers. But it is in these unnoticed and untouched forests that very special animals can be found: Calumma malthe, Calumma furcifer and the only 2018 newly described Calumma roaloko are waiting for us and want to be discovered in the dense jungle. Of course, we also experience the gentle giants of Madagascar, Calumma parsonii cristifer, in their natural habitat. In Vohimana we will not only meet beautiful panther chameleons, but also the yellow giant Parsons chameleon Calumma parsonii parsonii and the tiny, but wonderfully pretty Calumma gallus.

Afterwards, to relax, we go by boat to the Canal des Pangalanes to visit a small paradise at the lake Ampitabe. The “Nest of Dreams” is not only home to many lovely people and very cheeky lemurs, it is also home to a particularly beautiful local form of panther chameleon and a still undescribed species of terrestrial chameleon. In the direct neighborhood is the Vohibola Reserve, where  Calumma vohibola lives in the last remnant of gallery forest. In our bungalows directly in the lowland rainforest, only a few hundred meters away from the Indian Ocean, we relax and enjoy the many animals, the delicious food and the beautiful surroundings. The perfect end to our trip! After an amazing trip full of adventures and experiences, we finally head back to the capital, Antananarivo. The farewell will be hard for all of us!

Color variant ‘green giant’

This Parson’s Chameleon is the titular and highlight of our trip!

Color variant ‘yellow giant’

We will for sure meet the gentle giants from Vohimana.

Color variant ‘orange eye’

You can find the most popular color variant of Parson’s chameleon in Akanin’ny Nofy.

Calumma parsonii cristifer

We will discover the second subspecies of Parson’s chameleons in Andasibe.

 

Calumma malthe

This species can be found close to Andasibe.

Brookesia vadoni

The most colorful leaf chameleon of Madagascar lives in Masoala, too.

Brookesia thieli

This beautiful tiny chameleon loves to hide in ferns.

Calumma emelinae

A very common chameleon in Andasibe.

 

Local form Maroantsetra

We will find these panther chameleons around Maroantsetra.

Local form Ampitabe

This local lives around lake Ampitabe and surroundings.

Local form Masoala

A rather unknown local, but really beautiful.

Local form Vohimana

A gorgeous local of the eastern highlands.

 

Calumma radamanus

A small but very interesting chameleon species from Antongil Bay.

Calumma brevicorne

We reliably find these chameleons in Andasibe.

Calumma roaloko

A beautiful recently described species from the edge of the eastern highlands.

Calumma furcifer

A very rarely found chameleon species.

 

Calumma nasutum

The real nasutum is rather rare in Andasibe.

Calumma gallus

We’ll see this beautiful but small species in Vohimana.

Brookesia superciliaris

This leaf chameleon is very common in Andasibe.

Brookesia therezieni

The sister species of superciliaris is not easy to differentiate.

 

Furcifer willsii

A fascinating species from Andasibe’s rainforests.

Calumma marojezense

This species does not only occur in Marojejy.

Brookesia peyrierasi

A really tiny species from Antongil Bay.

Brookesia griveaudi

A species we can easily find besides our bungalows in the wilderness.

 

 

Interested in our expeditions? Drop us a line!

    Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Geplante Expeditionen

  • Home
  • Geplante Expeditionen

Hier möchten wir vorstellen, welche Expeditionen wir im nächsten Jahr auf Madagaskar unternehmen werden, um Tiere zu finden, Fotos zu machen und weitere Daten zu sammeln. Und natürlich, welche Chamäleon-Arten man auf den Expeditionen finden kann. Wer sich uns anschließen möchte und Madagaskar und seine Chamäleons hautnah erleben möchte, kann sich gerne bei uns melden. Und keine Angst – unsere Unterkünfte sind ganz normal und ein kaltes Bier wartet stets schon auf uns, wenn wir aus dem Wald zurück kommen. Unsere Reisen auf Madagaskar werden von Tanalahorizon durchgeführt. Tanalahorizon hat 27 Jahre Reise- und Chamäleonerfahrung auf der Insel, so dass man sich in allerbesten Händen befindet.

 

Jagd  nach  dem  grünen  Giganten

Zeitraum: 04.03. – 24.03.2023
(drei Wochen)
maximal 8 Teilnehmer ausgebucht!

Unsere Reise beginnt in der Hauptstadt, Antananarivo, im zentralen Hochland. Schon am nächsten Morgen geht es mit einem sehr kleinen Flugzeug nach Maroantsetra, direkt in die Bucht von Antongil im Nordosten Madagaskars. Das Abenteuer wartet! Bei Sonne, Wärme und schönen Pantherchamäleons lernen wir uns kennen und stimmen uns gemütlich am Pool auf die kommenden Wochen ein. Unser erstes Ziel ist das UNESCO Weltnaturerbe Masoala. Mit dem Boot durchqueren wir die Bucht von Antongil und residieren in einem schönen Hotel direkt am Regenwald, den Strand vor unseren Füßen und Urwaldriesen im Rücken. Ein echtes Chamäleonparadies erwartet uns, ursprünglich, unberührt und geheimnisvoll. Mehrere Tage werden wir nun zu Fuß den Regenwald Masoalas durchqueren. Wir suchen in den höheren Lagen nach Calumma cucullatum und dem farbenprächtigsten Erdchamäleon Madagaskars, Brookesia vadoni, das nur auf sehr kleinen Flächen noch vorkommt. Unterwegs wird uns das ein oder andere Pantherchamäleon und das kleine Calumma radamanus begegnen. Eines der kleinsten Chamäleons der Insel, Brookesia peyrierasi, ist an den Wurzeln mancher großer Bäume im Dschungel zu finden. Unser besonders Highlight und Namensgeber dieser Reise ist jedoch der green giant, das angeblich größte Parsons Chamäleons Madagaskars. Wir wollen dieser selten beobachteten, mystischen Farbvariante des Parsons Chamäleons unbedingt in natura begegnen!

Nach einer sagenhaften Woche im Regenwald von Masoala nehmen wir unseren kleinen Flieger zurück nach Antananarivo. Als nächstes geht es in Richtung Osten, in den berühmten Hochland-Regenwald von Andasibe. Hier wecken uns die Rufe der wilden Indris und wir frühstücken mit Blick in den Regenwald. Andasibe ist die weithin bekannte Heimat von Calumma brevicorne, Calumma emelinae und Calumma nasutum. Hier besuchen wir vor allem kleine, weniger besuchte Schutzgebiete, die von der Mehrheit der Reisenden gar nicht beachtet werden. Dafür gibt es gerade in diesen unbeachteten und unberührten Wäldern ganz besondere Tiere zu finden: Calumma malthe, Calumma furcifer und das erst 2018 neu beschriebene Calumma roaloko warten auf uns und wollen im dichten Urwald entdeckt werden. Natürlich erleben wir aber auch die sanften Riesen Madagaskars, Calumma parsonii cristifer, in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum. In Vohimana begegnen wir nicht nur wunderschönen Pantherchamäleons, sondern auch dem yellow giant Parsons Chamäleon Calumma parsonii parsoniiund den winzigen, aber wunderhübschen Calumma gallus.

Zur Entspannung begeben wir uns danach mit dem Boot auf den Canal des Pangalanes, um ein kleines Paradies am See Ampitabe zu besuchen. Das „Nest der Träume“ ist nicht nur mit vielen lieben Menschen und sehr frechen Lemuren ausgestattet, es ist auch die Heimat einer besonders schönen Lokalform von Pantherchamäleons und einer noch unbeschriebenen Art Erdchamäleons. In der direkten Nachbarschaft liegt das Reservat Vohibola, in dem das gleichnamige Calumma vohibola in einem letzten Rest Galeriewald lebt. In unseren Bungalows direkt im Tieflandregenwald, nur wenige hundert Meter vom Indischen Ozean entfernt, lassen wir die Seele baumeln und genießen hautnah die vielen Tiere, das leckere Essen und die schöne Umgebung. Der perfekte Abschluss unserer Reise! Nach einer Wahnsinnsreise voller Abenteuer und Erlebnisse geht es schließlich zurück in die Hauptstadt, Antananarivo. Der Abschied wird uns allen schwer fallen!

 

Farbvariante ‚green giant‘

Dieses Parsons Chamäleon ist der Titelgeber und Highlight unserer Reise – das wollen wir unbedingt finden!

Farbvariante ‚yellow giant‘

Die sanften Riesen aus Vohimana besuchen wir auf jeden Fall.

Farbvariante ‚orange eye‘

Die bekannteste Farbvariante findet man in Akanin’ny Nofy.

Calumma parsonii cristifer

Die zweite Unterart des Parsons Chamäleons entdecken wir in Andasibe.

 

Calumma malthe

Diese schöne Art werden wir nahe Andasibe entdecken.

Brookesia vadoni

Das bunteste Erdchamäleon der Welt lebt an den steilen Hängen Marojejys.

Brookesia thieli

Dieses schöne Chamäleon versteckt sich gerne im Farn.

Calumma emelinae

Die kleinen Chamäleons sind in Andasibe leicht zu finden.

 

Lokalform Maroantsetra

Rund um Maroantsetra kann man diese Pantherchamäleons gut finden.

Lokalform Ampitabe

Diese Lokalform findet man am See Ampitabe und in der Umgebung.

Lokalform Masoala

Eine eher unbekannte Lokalform der Pantherchamäleons, aber wunderschön.

Lokalform Vohimana

Diese tolle Lokalform lebt am Rande des östlichen Hochlandes.

 

Calumma radamanus

Eine kleine, aber sehr interessante Chamäleonart aus der Bucht von Antongil.

Calumma brevicorne

Diese Art findet man zuverlässig in Andasibe.

Calumma roaloko

Eine wunderschöne, erst kürzlich beschriebene Art aus dem östlichen Hochland.

Calumma furcifer

Eine sehr selten gefundene Art.

 

Calumma nasutum

Das echte Calumma nasutum ist eher selten in Andasibe.

Calumma gallus

Diese schöne, aber sehr kleine Chamäleon finden wir in Vohimana.

Brookesia superciliaris

Dieses Erdchamäleon ist sehr häufig in Andasibes Regenwäldern.

Brookesia therezieni

Ein spannendes Erdchamäleon, das schwer von seiner Schwesternart zu unterscheiden ist.

 

Furcifer willsii

Eine faszinierende Art aus den Regenwäldern um Andasibe.

Calumma marojezense

Diese Art kommt nicht nur in Marojejy vor.

Brookesia peyrierasi

Eine winzige Art Chamäleon aus der Bucht von Antongil.

Brookesia griveaudi

Diese Art finden wir unweit unserer Lodge.

 

 

Fragen zu unseren Expeditionen? Schreib uns!

    Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove