Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer antimena

Furcifer antimena in Ifaty 2017
Furcifer antimena in Ifaty 2017
Furcifer antimena male
Furcifer antimena male
Furcifer antimena male
Furcifer antimena male
Furcifer antimena female
Furcifer antimena female
Furcifer antimena
CITES quotas
2011-13 no specimen, 2014-18 each 150 specimen for legal export

First description:

Grandidier, 1872

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer antimena

loading map - please wait...

Toliara: -23.357000, 43.672600
Ifaty-Mangily: -23.159200, 43.610500
Antsokay: -23.415000, 43.756500
Belalanda: -23.300400, 43.645600
Ihotry: -23.512700, 44.329200
Tsivanoabe: -23.133500, 43.618600
Ankotapiky: -21.759500, 43.413849

Distribution:

Furcifer antimena inhabits the spiny forests and savannah edges of dry and hot southwest Madagascar. Best time to find these animals is from the mid of February to the mid of March in the Didiereaceae forests nearby Toliara (Tuléar). The distribution area extends from Morombe to Antsokay south of Toliara, although we could always find most specimen about 15 to 50 kilometers north of Toliara.

Appearance and size:

Males reach a length of approximately 35 cm, females are much small with almost 20 cm. Both genders have a small, round nose appendage which is more distinct in males. Males have a dorsal crest made of large spines, in females this dorsal crest os only visible in the anterior part of the back. The casque is high, the body is bright green coloured with yellow accents, a white belly and a white lateral stripe that is interrupted several times. When stressed, this species show dark rings on both sides. Females have a colourful casque and violet cheeks with the violet colour continuing to the sides, some have a very strong violet pattern. Younger females often have only violet and blue dots on the cheeks.

Reproduction:

In the end of March until the beginning of April, females lay 10-15 eggs in dry and sandy ground. The eggs need approximately one year until young will hatch – they wait for the next rainy season.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 27 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 22 23 25 26
Minimum temperature 22 22 21 20 17 14 14 15 16 18 20 22
Maximum temperature 32 32 32 30 28 26 26 27 28 29 30 31
Rain days 13 12 7 5 4 4 3 3 3 4 7 12

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Toliara (Tuléar) and surroundings is mainly one thing: Hot. In rainy season, daily temperatures rise easily to more than 30°C. In sunny places, it may even get 45°C. This is the location to look for every shady place you can get. And although it is called "rainy" season, precipitation in the south is lean. In good years, it is raining every couple of days from November to February. In worse years, it is raining even less.

During dry season, temperatures drop a little, but it remains very warm. In the night, temperatuers in July and August may drop even to 15°C, but days reach temperatures over 25°C without a problem. This large temperature drop is typical for the area. The dry season has only shot and very few rainfall.

2017 UVI Toliara
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Toliara available yet.

Habitat:

The habitat of Furcifer antimena consists of spiny and dry forest which is only green during rainy season. In the dry season, the whole region is gray and withered. Where still is spiny forest, the ground is red sand and the forest is not really high, but the more so dense. Spiny plants, among them introduced opuntia, make the main part of the vegetation. Inbetween there may be Baobabs from time to time. But Furcifer antimena also inhabits secondary vegetation. It occurs in shrubs and bushes on sandy dunes and dried clay ground. During dry season, many specimen die because of the harsh environmental conditions.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Antsokay and Ifaty that we took during rainy season. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Dornwald im Reservat Reniala, Ifaty-Mangily, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Antsokay, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Antsokay, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Antsokay, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Antsokay, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer antimena

Furcifer antimena in Ifaty 2017
Furcifer antimena in Ifaty 2017
Furcifer antimena male
Furcifer antimena male
Furcifer antimena male
Furcifer antimena male
Furcifer antimena female
Furcifer antimena female
Furcifer antimena
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-18 je 150 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Grandidier, 1872

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer antimena

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Toliara: -23.357000, 43.672600
Ifaty-Mangily: -23.159200, 43.610500
Antsokay: -23.415000, 43.756500
Belalanda: -23.300400, 43.645600
Ihotry: -23.512700, 44.329200
Tsivanoabe: -23.133500, 43.618600
Ankotapiky: -21.759500, 43.413849

Verbreitung:

Furcifer antimena bewohnt die Dornwälder und Savannenränder des trockenen, heißen Süd-Westen Madagaskars. Man findet diese Tiere am besten in der Zeit von Mitte Februar bis Mitte März in den Didieraceenwäldern nahe Toliara (Tuléar). Das Verbreitungsgebiet erstreckt sich von Morombe bis südlich von Toliara nach Antsokay, obwohl wir die meisten Tiere rund 15 bis 50 Kilometer nördlich von Toliara finden konnten.

Aussehen und Größe:

Die Männchen erreichen eine Größe von rund 35 cm, die Weibchen sind mit knapp 20 cm um einiges kleiner. Beide Geschlechter tragen einen kleinen Nasenfortsatz, der jedoch bei dem Männchen deutlich ausgeprägter ist. Die Männchen haben einen Rückenkamm aus Sägeschuppen, der bei den Weibchen nur im vorderen Bereich des Rückens zu sehen ist. Der Helm ist hoch, die Körperfärbung ist hellgrün mit gelben Einschlägen, weißem Bauch und einem weißen, mehrfach unterbrochenem Lateralstreifen. Bei Erregung zeigen die Tiere dunkle Ringe auf den Seiten. Weibchen tragen einen farbigen Helm und lila Wangen, deren Farbe sich seitlich weiter nach hinten fortsetzt und vereinzelt sehr stark ausgeprägt sein. Jüngere Weibchen haben oft nur lila oder blaue Farbtupfer auf den Wangen.

Fortpflanzung:

Ende März Anfang April legen die Weibchen Ihre 10-15 Eier im trockenen und sandigen Boden ab. Hier liegen die Eier ca. ein Jahr bis zum Schlupf der Jungtiere.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 27 27 26 25 23 21 20 21 22 23 25 26
Minimale Temperatur 22 22 21 20 17 14 14 15 16 18 20 22
Maximale Temperatur 32 32 32 30 28 26 26 27 28 29 30 31
Regentage 13 12 7 5 4 4 3 3 3 4 7 12

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Toliara (Tuléar) und Umgebung ist vor allem eins: Heiß. In der Regenzeit steigen die Temperaturen täglich locker über 30°C, in der Sonne kann es auch mal 45°C heiß werden. Hier sucht man jeden Schatten, den man kriegen kann. Und obwohl es "Regen"zeit heißt, fällt der Niederschlag im Süden Madagaskars eher mager aus: In guten Jahren regnet es von November bis Februar alle paar Tage. In schlechten weniger.

In der Trockenzeit sinken die Temperaturen ein wenig, sehr warm bleibt es aber trotzdem. Nachts können die Temperaturen im Juli und August schonmal bis 15°C abfallen, tagsüber geht es trotzdem auf über 25°C nach oben. Der Temperatursturz ist typisch für die Gegend. Während der Trockenzeit regnet es kaum und wenn nur sehr kurz.

2017 UVI Toliara

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Toliara verfügbar.

Habitat:

Der Lebensraum von Furcifer antimena besteht aus Dorn- und Trockenwald, der nur in der Regenzeit grün ist. Während der Trockenzeit ist die gesamte Region grau und verdorrt. Wo noch Dornwald vorhanden ist, ist der Boden roter Sand und der Wald zwar nicht besonders hoch, aber dafür umso dichter. Stachelige Pflanzen, darunter auch eingeschleppte Opuntien, bilden den Hauptanteil der Vegetation. Dazwischen stehen immer mal wieder Baobabs. Furcifer antimena kommt aber auch in Sekundärvegetation vor, in Sträuchern und Büschen auf Sanddünen und ausgetrocknetem Lehmboden. In der Trockenzeit sterben sehr viele der Tiere auf Grund der harten Bedingungen des Lebensraums.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Antsokay und Ifaty, die wir während der Regenzeit aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Dornwald im Reservat Reniala, Ifaty-Mangily, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Antsokay, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Antsokay, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Antsokay, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Dornwald im Reservat Antsokay, Region Atsimo-Andrefana, Süd-Madagaskar – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove