Furcifer balteatus

Furcifer balteatus Weibchen in Ranomafana 2017
Häutungsprobleme Furcifer balteatus Ranomafana
Furcifer balteatus aus Ranomafana
Furcifer balteatus male
Furcifer balteatus male
Furcifer balteatus male
Furcifer balteatus male
Furcifer balteatus
Furcifer balteatus
Furcifer balteatus
Furcifer balteatus trächtig
Furcifer balteatus in Ranomafana 2018
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

(Duméril & Bibron, 1851)

Origin of the species name:

The zoologist André Marie Constant Duméril, then head of herpetology at the Natural History Museum of Paris (France), together with his assistant Gabriel Bibron, named this chameleon species. Unfortunately, they did not mention where the name balteatus comes from in the first description.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Furcifer balteatus

loading map - please wait...

Ranomafana: -21.189534, 47.463684
Ifanadiana: -21.303500, 47.637800
Ikongo: -21.880000, 47.436500
Tolongoina: -21.259700, 47.454900
Ranomafana: -21.330315, 47.399139

Distribution:

This species exclusively lives in the mountain rainforests of Ranomafana and Ifanadiana. Sometimes they also climb in lush, high grown secondary vegetation. If you walk along the street in direction of the national park at night, you will find these animals sitting at the end of small branches of big trees. But you have to be a little lucky, it is not a very common species.

Appearance & size:

With a total length of 45 cm, especially the males are quite impressive. They have two tapered nose appendages that slightly bow to the ceiling, the females have only two small humps instead. Both genders are green colored with a white stripe running diagonally over the body, they both have white lips and whitish-brown spots on the belly. When stressed, the puffed-up throat can be bright turquoise-blue. Furcifer balteatus are easy to distinguish from other species by their body size, the special color pattern and the finding place. Young individuals are usually neon-green like the one pictured below.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The rainforest of Ranomafana is located in Madagascar's southern highlands at elevations around 1000 m above sea level. Thus climate is generally cooler than e.g. on the coast or in the southwestern part of the island. Days reach temperatures around 25°C, rainy season may become a little warmer. Sunny places may get a little above 30°C sometimes. At night, temperature drops down to 20°C in rainy season and even lower to 15°C in dry season.

But "dry" season is very relative in Ranomafana, because the forest does not get dry at all. Never. It may rain less and precipitation is not lasting for days, but it is still rich enough to let ground and trees never dry completely. Key factors of Ranomafana's climate are high humidity and cool nights.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ranomafana available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Furcifer balteatus in Ranomafana. Some are even from “finding trees” of this species. The rainforest here covers several canyons so it is partially very steep. The ground is rocky with dense undergrowth. The trees are huge and in many locations completely overgrown by lichen and moss. In the morning, it is foggy and it generally never gets dry here. That’s why the rainforest blooms all year long so fantastically. But Furcifer balteatus is not restricted to the primary rainforest only. They also live in secondary vegetation, on tamarind trees between wooden huts or on jackfruit trees next to streets. Even in a small bush directly in front of a hotel, we have already found animals of the species.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Ranomafana that we took in 2017. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Furcifer balteatus

Furcifer balteatus Weibchen in Ranomafana 2017
Häutungsprobleme Furcifer balteatus Ranomafana
Furcifer balteatus aus Ranomafana
Furcifer balteatus male
Furcifer balteatus male
Furcifer balteatus male
Furcifer balteatus male
Furcifer balteatus
Furcifer balteatus
Furcifer balteatus
Furcifer balteatus trächtig
Furcifer balteatus in Ranomafana 2018
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Dumeril & Bibron , 1851

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Furcifer balteatus

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ranomafana: -21.189534, 47.463684
Ifanadiana: -21.303500, 47.637800
Ikongo: -21.880000, 47.436500
Tolongoina: -21.259700, 47.454900
Ranomafana: -21.330315, 47.399139

Verbreitung:

Diese Art ist ausschließlich in den Bergnebelwäldern von Ranomafana und Ifandiana zu finden. Sie weichen jedoch auch mal in üppige, hoch gewachsene Sekundärvegetation aus. Wenn man nachts entlang der Straße zum Nationalpark entlang läuft, kann man die Tiere an den Enden von Ästen großer Bäume entdecken. Ein bisschen Glück gehört zum Fund, es sind keine sehr häufig anzutreffenden Tiere.

Aussehen & Größe:

Mit einer Gesamtlänge von 45 cm sind die Männchen ziemlich imposant. Sie haben zwei spitz zulaufende, leicht nach oben gebogene Nasenfortsätze, bei den Weibchen sind an deren Stelle nur kleine Höcker zu sehen. Beide Geschlechter sind grün gefärbt mit einem schräg verlaufenden, weißen Lateralstreifen, weißen Lippen und weiß-braunen Flecken am Bauch. Der Kehlsack kann bei Erregung türkisblau leuchten. Von ähnlich aussehenden Arten mit Nasenfortsätzen sind sie leicht an Hand ihrer Größe, der spezifischen Zeichnung und dem jeweiligen Fundort zu unterscheiden. Jungtiere sind meist leuchtend neongrün wie das Jungtier im folgenden Foto.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Regenwald von Ranomafana liegt im südlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen um die 1000 m über Meeresniveau. Damit ist das Klima hier grundsätzlich kühler als z.B. an der Küste oder im Südwesten der Insel. Tagsüber wird es um die 25°C warm, während der Regenzeit auch wärmer. Sonnige Stellen erreichen auch mal knapp über 30°C. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen herunter bis auf 20°C in der Regenzeit und bis auf 15°C in der Trockenzeit.

Trockenzeit ist in Ranomafana allerdings sehr relativ, denn wirklich trocken wird es hier nie. Es regnet zwar etwas weniger und nicht tagelang am Stück, aber trotzdem noch ergiebig genug, dass Erdboden und Bäume nie völlig abtrocknen. Eine hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und kühle Nächte sind die Schlüsselfaktoren in Ranomafana.

2016 UVI Ranomafana 2015 UVI Ranomafana

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ranomafana verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Furcifer balteatus in Ranomafana, darunter auch „Fundbäume“ der Art. Der Regenwald hier zieht sich über mehrere Schluchten, so dass es stellenweise recht steil ist. Der Boden ist felsig, und weist dichtes Unterholz auf. Die Bäume sind teils riesig, und an vielen Stellen von Flechten und Moosen völlig überwuchert. Morgens ist es meistens neblig, und trocken wird es eigentlich nie. Deshalb grünt und blüht der Regenwald auch so fantastisch. Furcifer balteatus ist aber nicht ausschließlich auf primären Regenwald beschränkt. Sie leben auch mal in Sekundärvegetation, auf Tamarinden zwischen Holzhütten oder auf Jackfruit-Bäumen neben der Straße. Selbst in einem kleinem Busch direkt vor einem Hotel haben wir schon Tiere der Art gefunden.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ranomafana. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Ranomafana, Region Haute Matsiatra und Vatovavy-Fitovinany, südliches Hochland, Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove