Browsing Tags

Madagascar

Info about Madagascar

Madagascar is the fourth largest island in the world with 587,295 km². This is more area than France and Switzerland together. Madagascar is located in the Indian Ocean, about 500 to 600 km east...

Brumation

Among many chameleon keepers, it is a recurring topic: hibernation in the terrarium. Should you offer a brumation period, if yes with which species and why at all? This article is intended to get...

Chameleon food

What do chameleons actually eat in Madagascar? This has not been really well studied yet. This article aims to summarize the current state of research and observations on the diet of chameleons on the...

Wild caught or captive bred?

If you want to buy a chameleon, you will need to decide sooner or later whether you like to have a captive bred (cb) individual or a wild caught (wc) chameleon. Generally, in our...
Malbücher für Madagaskar

Colouring books for Madagascar

Madagascar’s population is among the poorest in the world. Most families have to make do with the lowest income, medical care is scarce and schools are few. Traditionally it is considered good to have...

Furcifer campani

First description: (Grandidier, 1872) Origin of the species name: The French naturalist Alfred Grandidier visited Madagascar three times between 1865 and 1868, traveling almost the entire island and producing one of the first maps...
Furcifer lateralis

Furcifer lateralis

First description: (Gray, 1831) Origin of the species name: The English zoologist John Edward Gray was very brief in his description of this chameleon species: it consists of just keywords instead of a coherent...

Browsing Tags

Madagaskar

Winterruhe

Unter vielen Chamäleonhaltern ist sie ein wiederkehrendes Thema: Die Winterruhe im Terrarium. Sollte man eine halten, wenn ja bei welchen Arten und warum überhaupt? Dieser Artikel soll dem Ganzen ein wenig auf den Grund...

Chamäleonfutter

Was fressen Chamäleons eigentlich auf Madagaskar? So richtig gut wurde das noch nicht untersucht. Dieser Artikel soll den aktuellen Stand von Forschung und Beobachtungen zur Nahrung von Chamäleons auf der roten Insel zusammenfassen. Die...

Wildfang oder Nachzucht?

Wer ein Chamäleon kaufen möchte, steht früher oder später vor der Wahl, ob er sich für eine Nachzucht (NZ) oder einen Wildfang (WF) entscheiden will. Wir sind grundsätzlich der Meinung, dass kontrollierten Nachzuchten stets...
Malbücher für Madagaskar

Malbücher für Madagaskar

Madagaskars Bevölkerung gehört zu den ärmsten der Welt. Die meisten Familien müssen mit geringsten Einkommen auskommen, medizinische Versorgung ist rar und Schulen gibt es nur wenige. Traditionell gilt es in Madagaskar als gut, viele...

Furcifer campani

Erstbeschreibung: (Grandidier, 1872) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der französische Naturkundler Alfred Grandidier besuchte Madagaskar zwischen 1865 und 1868 drei Mal, wobei er fast die ganze Insel bereiste und eine der ersten Karten des Landes erstellte....
Furcifer lateralis

Furcifer lateralis

Erstbeschreibung: (Gray, 1831) Herkunft des Artnamens: Der englische Zoologe John Edward Gray hielt sich mit der Beschreibung dieser Chamäleonart sehr kurz: Sie umfasst gerade einmal Stichworte statt eines zusammenhängenden Satzes. 1831 war Gray gerade...