Brookesia micra

Brookesia micra
Brookesia micra
Brookesia micra, Nosy Hara, 2019
Brookesia micra, Nosy Hara, 2019
Brookesia micra, Nosy Hara, 2019
Brookesia micra, Nosy Hara, 2019
Brookesia micra, Nosy Hara, 2019
Brookesia micra
CITES quotas
No legal export possible

First description:

Glaw, Köhler, Townsend, Vences 2012

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Nosy Hara

loading map - please wait...

Nosy Hara: -12.244734, 49.012756

Distribution:

Brookesia micra occurs exclusively on the island of Nosy Hara in northern Madagascar. The island is about 3.2 km² in size and consists mainly of karst rock, which covers the island in layers and resembles the Tsingys, and dry forest. The ground of the habitat of this leaf chameleon has an enormously stony underground, in between there are trees and bushes. The microhabitat of Brookesia micra is surprisingly much more humid than one would expect when looking at the rocky area. The animals are best found at the roots of certain large trees, where they live relatively close to the ground. Higher than 10 cm above the ground it cannot be found even at night when sleeping, whereby the animals prefer to sleep on blades of grass. The entire island of Nosy Hara is a national park in its own right, but visitors are scarce. This is mainly due to the fact that Nosy Hara can only be reached by boat and there is neither running water nor electricity. So every supply (water, food, cooking facilities) has to be taken to the island, which means a considerable logistical as well as financial effort in Madagascar.

Appearance & size:

With a maximum total length of 3 cm from the nose to the tip of the tail as adults, Brookesia micra is the smallest of all chameleons. Thus it forms a group with other tiny leaf chameleons such as Brookesia tuberculata or Brookesia karchei, it is called the minima group. Brookesia micra has 11 or 12 spines along its dorsal crests, that do not continue on the tail. The head has only one enlarged tubercle. But the easiest way to distinguish Brookesia micra from other species of the minima group is to look at the tail: Adults wear a bright yellow to orange coloured tail, that looks rather stumpy. Many adults have a beige coloured broad line running from the head along the back.

Good to know:

Brookesia micra is not only the smallest chameleon worldwide known today, but also the smallest reptile on Earth.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 28 27 28 27 27 24 24 24 25 26 27 28
Minimum temperature 24 22 25 23 22 21 21 19 20 21 22 22
Maximum temperature 31 30 30 31 29 28 29 29 30 31 30 32
Rain days /td>

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The climate on Nosy Hara is similar to that of Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) on the coast: it is warm to hot, and relatively dry most of the year. The location as an island in the sea provides for a somewhat more humid climate, however, there are precipitations nevertheless mainly in the rainy season.

At night the temperatures drop only slightly and are still very warm (when camping you sweat very much).

2014 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Nosy Hara available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Brookesia micra at the end of the rainy season on Nosy Hara. This species belongs to the few chameleons that live right between the Tsingys, needle stone rocks, in the dry forest. The ground along the Tsingys is very rocky and crossed by gravel and stones, many small twigs lay around. Low bushes offer a little more humid microclimate than you would assume when looking at the Tsingys. Nevertheless, the habitat is very sparse and rocky, actually no typical chameleon habitat.

 

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from habitats of the species on the island Nosy Hara. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia micra

Brookesia micra
Brookesia micra
Brookesia micra, Nosy Hara, 2019
Brookesia micra, Nosy Hara, 2019
Brookesia micra, Nosy Hara, 2019
Brookesia micra, Nosy Hara, 2019
Brookesia micra, Nosy Hara, 2019
Brookesia micra
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Glaw, Köhler, Townsend, Vences 2012

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Nosy Hara

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Nosy Hara: -12.244734, 49.012756

Verbreitung:

Brookesia micra kommt ausschließlich auf der Insel Nosy Hara im Norden Madagaskars vor. Die Insel besteht ist rund 3,2 km² groß und besteht vorwiegend aus Karstgestein, das schichtartig die Insel bedeckt und den Tsingys ähnelt, und Trockenwald. Boden des Lebensraums dieses Erdchamäleons weist einen enorm steinigen Untergrund auf, dazwischen findet man Bäume und Büsche. Das Mikrohabitat von Brookesia micra ist erstaunlicherweise deutlich feuchter, als man es beim Anblick der felsigen Gegend zunächst vermuten würde. Man findet die Tiere am besten an den Wurzeln bestimmter großer Bäume, wo sie relativ standorttreu leben. Höher als 10 cm über dem Boden findet man es auch nachts im Schlaf nicht, wobei die Tiere nachts bevorzugt auf Grashalmen schlafen. Die gesamte Insel Nosy Hara ist ein eigener Nationalpark, Besucher sind jedoch spärlich vorhanden. Dies liegt vor allem daran, dass Nosy Hara nur per Boot erreichbar ist und es weder fließend Wasser noch Strom dort gibt. So muss jeglicher Vorrat (Wasser, Nahrung, Kochgelegenheiten) mit zur Insel genommen werden, was auf Madagaskar einen erheblichen logistischen als auch finanziellen Aufwand bedeutet.

Aussehen & Größe:

Mit maximal 3 cm Länge von der Nasen- bis zur Schwanzspitze im ausgewachsenen Zustand ist Brookesia micra das kleinster aller Chamäleons. Es gehört mit weiteren, nur wenig größeren Winzlingen wie Brookesia tuberculata oder Brookesia karchei, zur minima-Gruppe. Auf dem Rücken tragen micras 11 oder 12 kleine Tuberkel, die sich am Schwanz nicht fortsetzen. Am Kopf ist nur ein vergrößerter Tuberkel zu finden. Am einfachsten unterscheidet man Brookesia micra aber am Schwanz von den anderen Arten der minima-Gruppe: Adulte Tiere tragen einen hellgelb bis orangefarbenen Schwanz, der insgesamt relativ kurz wirkt. Häufig haben sie außerdem einen hell-beigen Streifen, der sich mittig über Gesicht und Rücken zieht.

Besonderheiten:

Brookesia micra ist nicht nur das kleinste aktuell bekannte Chamäleon der Welt, sondern auch das kleinste Reptil der Erde.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 28 27 28 27 27 24 24 24 25 26 27 28
Minimale Temperatur 24 22 25 23 22 21 21 19 20 21 22 22
Maximale Temperatur 31 30 30 31 29 28 29 29 30 31 30 32
Regentage /td>

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima auf Nosy Hara ist ähnlich dem von Antsiranana (Diego Suarez) an der Küste: Es ist warm bis heiß, und die meiste Zeit des Jahres relativ trocken. Die Lage als Insel im Meer sorgt zeitweise für ein etwas feuchteres Klima, Niederschläge gibt es aber trotzdem vor allem in der Regenzeit.

Nachts sinken die Temperaturen nur wenig und sind immernoch sehr warm (beim Zelten schwitzt man noch bestens).

2019 UVI Nosy Hara

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Nosy Hara verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia micra zu Ende der Regenzeit auf Nosy Hara. Die Art gehört zu den wenigen Chamäleons, die unmittelbar zwischden dem Karstgestein im Trockenwald leben können. Der Erdboden entlang der Tsingys ist sehr steinig und mit Kies und Felsen versetzt, viele dünne Ästchen liegen herum. Niedriges Gebüsch bietet ein etwas feuchteres Mikroklima als man beim Anblick der Tsingys zuerst annehmen könnte. Trotzdem ist der Lebensraum sehr karg und steinig, eigentlich kein typischer Chamäleon-Lebensraum.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder direkt aus dem Lebensraum von Brookesia micra auf der Insel Nosy Hara. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Nationalpark Nosy Hara, Insel in der Baie du Courrier, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove