Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Locale Nosy Faly

urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Nosy Faly

loading map - please wait...

Nosy Faly -13.315400, 48.471291 Nosy Faly, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution of the locale Nosy Faly:

Nosy Faly (translated “happy island”) is situated in the Channel of Mozambique in northwest Madagascar. Actually, it is a peninsula of Diana region, that has contact to the onshore in one small place (it is used as 200 m broad ford). Nevertheless, the island is comfortably only reachable via the sea from Ankify or the surrounding islands. You usually arrive at the only village of the island, Mahambo. People here solely live from fishing and are extremely poor. Nosy Faly itself has small savanaahs, steep beaches, much secondary vegetation and even mangroves. Due to consistent deforestation (especially for wood) almost nothing of the original vegetation is left on the island. Touristically, the island is virtually no man’s land. Since 2015 there is only one small hotel on Nosy Faly.

Appearance of the locale:

The panther chameleons of Nosy Faly are well known in terraristics and belong to the most exported local forms. The males here are turquoise green or blue with red dotted bands and yellow corners of the mouth. Some males carry a lot of white under the red dots, others barely white, but a very intense red banding. The animals with a particularly high proportion of white are most frequently found in terrariums, as most people find them more attractive than the darker coloured island variant – they are therefore collected preferentially for export. Nevertheless, Nosy Faly not only had and still has panther chameleons with a lot of white.

 

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = females, Männchen = males

Since 2015 we have been measuring the weights of chameleons we have found in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) are participating. So far there are only a few weights, in the long term an average weight in relation to the snout-vent-length It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so they are probably maximum weights in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females do not mean pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In the case of Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, there have been no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to the weight of the individual locales.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 27 27 27 26 25 24 24 25 25 26 27 27
Minimum temperature 23 23 24 23 22 20 20 19 20 22 23 23
Maximum temperature 31 31 31 31 31 29 29 29 30 31 31 31
Rain days 21 19 17 12 8 8 8 8 7 8 11 17

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate on the islands in front of Madagascar's north west coast is very warm all year long. Temperatures over 30°C are usual. In the night, temperatures hardly drop below 25°C, during rainy season they may drop much lower until 19°C.

Durin rainy season, it rains a lot and very often. From April to October, climate is mainly dry and sunny on the islands, but it still rains shortly on a regular base.

2016 UVI Nosy Be
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Nosy Faly available yet.

Habitat:

The panther chameleons here live in the remaining trees, shrubs and bushes of the island that have not yet been cleared. Actually, they use every tree that is available and are not very choosy. The soil of Nosy Faly is very sandy, but also earthy and loamy in places.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Nosy Faly. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Lokalform Nosy Faly

urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
urcifer pardalis Nosy Faly male, 2019
Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Nosy Faly

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Nosy Faly -13.315400, 48.471291 Nosy Faly, Madagaskar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Nosy Faly:

Nosy Faly (übersetzt „glückliche Insel“) liegt im Nordwesten Madagaskars direkt im Kanal von Mozambique. Eigentlich ist es eine Halbinsel der Region Diana, die an einer kleinen Stelle noch Kontakt zum Festland hat (die Stelle könnte früher als rund 200 m breite Furt genutzt werden – aktuell kommt man mit dem Auto nicht mehr durch). Nichtsdestotrotz ist die Insel bequem nur über den Seeweg von Ankify oder den umliegenden Inseln aus zu erreichen. Man kommt in aller Regel im einzigen Dorf der Insel, Mahabo, an. Die Menschen hier leben ausschließlich von der Fischerei und sind bitterarm. Nosy Faly selbst bietet an Landschaften sowohl kleine Savannen als auch steile Strände, viel Sekundärvegetation und sogar Mangroven. Von der ursprünglichen Vegetation ist auf der Insel durch konsequente Abholzung (vor allem für Brennholz) so gut wie nichts mehr übrig geblieben. Touristisch ist die Insel quasi Niemandsland. Erst seit 2015 existiert ein einziges, kleines Hotel auf Nosy Faly.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Die Pantherchamäleons von Nosy Faly sind in der Terraristik sehr bekannt, und gehören zu den meist exportierten Lokalformen. Die Männchen hier sind türkisgrün oder -blau mit rot getüpfelter Bänderung und gelben Mundwinkeln. Einige Männchen tragen sehr viel weiß unter den roten Punkten, andere kaum weiß, dafür eine sehr intensive rote Bänderung. Die Tiere mit besonders hohem Weißanteil sind in der Terraristik am häufigsten zu finden, da die meisten Leute sie attraktiver finden als die dunkler gefärbte Inselvariante – sie werden daher beim Export bevorzugt eingesammelt. Nichtsdestotrotz gab und gibt es auf Nosy Faly nicht nur Pantherchamäleons mit viel Weiß.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 27 27 27 26 25 24 24 25 25 26 27 27
Minimale Temperatur 23 23 24 23 22 20 20 19 20 22 23 23
Maximale Temperatur 31 31 31 31 31 29 29 29 30 31 31 31
Regentage 21 19 17 12 8 8 8 8 7 8 11 17

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima auf den Inseln vor Madagaskars Nordwestküste ist ganzjährig sehr warm. Temperaturen über 30°C komme regelmäßig vor. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen in der Regenzeit nur knapp unter 25°C, während der Trockenzeit deutlich tiefer bis 19°C.

Während der Regenzeit regnet es sehr ergiebig und viel. Von April bis Oktober bleibt es weitestgehend trocken und sonnig auf den Inseln, regnet aber ab und zu trotzdem noch.

2016 UVI Nosy Be

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Nosy Faly verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die Pantherchamäleons hier leben in den verbliebenen, noch nicht abgeholzten Bäumen, Sträuchern und Gebüsch der Insel. Eigentlich nutzen sie jeden Baum, der verfügbar ist und sind nicht besonders wählerisch. Der Boden von Nosy Faly ist sehr sandig, stellenweise aber auch erdig-lehmig.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder direkt von Nosy Faly. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf der Insel Nosy Faly, Region Diana, Nord-West-Madagaskar, März 2019 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove