UVB radiation

Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye in Mahambo 2018
Furcifer labordi Männchen
Palleon nasus in Ranomafana 2018
Furcifer lateralis

What is UVB radiation?

UVB is the abbreviation for Ultraviolet B. This is a part of the solar radiation that reaches the earth. Only about 5% of the sun’s rays are ultraviolet rays at all. They are divided into UVA, UVB, and UVC depending on the wavelength of the radiation. UVA covers wavelengths from 380 to 315 nm. UVB is the ultraviolet that is important for chameleons and is discussed in more detail in this article. It contains wavelengths from 315 to 280 nm, which is a very narrow radiation range. UVC rays with wavelengths from 280 to 100 nm are mostly absorbed by the uppermost air layers of the earth’s atmosphere, so they do not reach the earth at all. Ultraviolet radiation is not visible to the human eye.

The spectrum of electromagnetic radiation on earth

Why does a chameleon need UVB radiation?

UVB radiation is vital for chameleons. Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) is produced in the skin by UVB radiation from provitamin D (7-dehydrocholesterol). “Too much” vitamin D3 decomposes again when it is not needed in the blood. The vitamin D3 released into the blood is transported to the liver where it is converted to calcidiol. Vitamin D3 is then transported to the kidneys where it is metabolized into calcitriol. The hormone calcitriol ensures the incorporation of calcium into the chameleon’s bones. If there is too little calcium in the blood, the formation of vitamin D3 in the skin of the chameleon is increased. However, this only happens when there is sufficient UVB radiation.

A lack of UVB radiation leads with the chameleon over a decreased calcium blood level to the increased release of parathormone. This hormone stimulates the bones to break down calcium and release it into the blood. The kidney stops filtering calcium back out of the blood. At the same time, less calcium is absorbed from the intestines. Ultimately, calcium deficiency leads to life-threatening metabolic bone disease.

In addition to this vital process, UVB also contributes to well-being, better reproduction, and a more active metabolism in chameleons. It is also assumed that chameleons can see in the UVA range (not in the UVB range!) so that ultraviolet radiation also influences their communication and perception. Studies have shown that chameleons adapt their behavior to their vitamin D3 needs. They spend more time under UV-B radiation when more vitamin D3 is needed. How exactly they recognize when they need to sunbathe more and when has not yet been studied in detail.

 

Measurement of UVB radiation

Why should you measure UVB?

UVB measurements with the Solarmeter 6.5 on the island of Nosy Faly in northwest Madagascar

On-line and in specialized stores, there are today a lot of different UV-B lamps to buy. With many already the packing suggests how much UVB the respective lamp is to deliver. Unfortunately, this information is not very reliable. If you measure lamps regularly, it is noticeable that even within a single batch difference in UVB radiation can occur. Some lamps emit UV-B that is too short-waved or emit radiation in the range of much too high UVB indices. These lamps can cause severe burns. Other lamps emit little or no UVB, which later leads to calcium deficiency and metabolic bone disease in chameleons. So it is very important to measure lamps for terrariums and to align them appropriately for the chameleon.

The re-measurement not only ensures that the chameleon gets the “right amount” of UVB but it also allows us as the owner to find the right time for lamp replacement. So you do not throw away a lamp too early anymore, although it might still be usable. On the other hand, lamps can be sorted out exactly when they no longer provide enough UVB. And if a lamp really does not emit any UVB at all, you can directly return it to the manufacturer.

Which measuring device can be used?

In the meantime, there are several devices that can be used to measure UVB radiation. However, not all of them are suitable for reptiles. For the measurement of UVB sources above the terrarium, it is important to know how much vitamin D3 the chameleon can effectively produce with it. The optimal measuring device should therefore measure as exactly as possible in the wavelengths in which the animal produces vitamin D3. Fortunately, such a “vitamin D3 synthesis curve” already exists. And even better: there is a measuring device whose measuring range coincides with this curve by more than 90%.

The Solarmeter 6.5 with a silicon carbide photodetector is manufactured by Solar Light Company Inc. (USA) and currently costs 250 $. The identical measuring device is distributed by Zoo Med under the name Digital UV Index Radiometer. The Solarmeter 6.5 measures the so-called UV Index, an internationally used scientific quantity. The Solarmeter can be used for years without having to be calibrated. Recently the model 6.5 R has been released, but it differs from the Solarmeter 6.5 only by a different sticker. It is powered by a 9V battery, which can be easily replaced. We regularly use Solarmeters 6.5 on Madagascar, they have been proving themselves for years.

A comparison of the different stickers of the Solarmeter 6.5: On the left the old design, in the middle the two current stickers, and on the right the ZooMed version. The devices are all identical in construction. Photo courtesy of Frances Baines, uvguide.co.uk

At present, there are no other measuring devices that come close to the accuracy of the Solarmeter 6.5 for measuring UVB in terraristics. Cell phone Apps, cheap China copies, and also allegedly high-quality, but cheaper measuring instruments are unfortunately not meaningful. By not following exactly the synthesis curve of vitamin D3, these measuring devices show falsified measured values. It is of no use to measure any UVB range. The range, in which the Chameleon can form Vitamin D3, is the one that must be measured. The “other” UVB is of no use to the animal! The false readings from cheap measuring devices are useless for the chameleon at best, but can also be extremely dangerous. Here you should therefore not save at the wrong end under any circumstances.

How and where to measure?

It is important that the Solarmeter 6.5 is used to measure inside the terrarium – exactly where the chameleon is. Due to the gauze in the terrarium lid used for chameleons, about 30% of the UVB radiation is absorbed. Fruit fly-proof gauze with very small mesh sizes can even absorb up to 50% of UVB radiation. It is therefore worthwhile to consider which mesh size you want to use already when building the terrarium. Because of the high risk of burns, lamps cannot be installed inside the terrarium for chameleons. A grid between terrarium and lamps is always necessary for chameleons.

UVB messen

UVB measurements with the Solarmeter 6.5 in Maroantsetra in northeast Madagascar

Measuring the UV index with the Solarmeter 6.5 is very easy. Measurements should be taken in or near the central beam of the lamp, as the highest UV index is expected there. Hold the solar meter with the sensor towards the lamp and press the black button. The UV index is now shown directly in the display. Then you move the solar meter horizontally with your hand very slowly under the lamp to find the highest point of the measurement. It is best to measure not only directly under the gauze of the terrarium but also at the sunny spots the chameleon can reach. The lamp above the terrarium should be hung up in a way that the maximum UV index the chameleon should be able to reach is directly under the lid gauze. Chameleons like to climb around upside down on gauze. Therefore not only the sunny spots should be considered, but also under the gauze cover, the animal should be able to move without risk of injury.

Very important: If you measure the UVB radiation of a lamp directly in the terrarium, all other UV-B lamps in the vicinity should be switched off at the same time. Otherwise, you might measure their radiation and not the radiation of the lamp you wanted to measure.

To measure lamps for the first time, the burn-in time should be considered. It takes at least 30 minutes on average until the “real” UVB index of a lamp can be measured. At best you let a lamp work for even a whole day before you measure it with the solarmeter 6.5. After the first measurement and alignment to match the needs of your chameleon, we recommend at least monthly remeasurement of each lamp.

UV-Indices on Madagascar

You can find UV indices that we measured directly in the chameleon habitats on Madagascar in the section “Species & habitat data”. Please note that these data represent the maximum UV indices that can be reached by a chameleon at the respective location. However, most chameleon species do not spend the whole day in the blazing sun, but most of the time in shady areas. Even “sun worshippers” like panther chameleons only sunbathe a limited time of the day. Some species are more common in sunny places than others, only a few chameleons sunbathe in the midday heat. Leaf chameleons generally get hardly any UVB on the ground, although individual sunspots reach amazingly high UV indices even in the deepest rainforest.

UV indices under different weather conditions, measured over a whole day in March 2016 near Ambilobe in northwest Madagascar; translation: Tageszeit = daytime, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade.

In addition, the UV index on Madagascar depends extremely on the weather conditions and the time of day. The UV index increases and decreases with the time of day. Shortly after noon with the highest level of the sun, the highest values are reached. In the early morning and late afternoon, almost no UVB can be measured in Madagascar. When it rains heavily or there are many clouds in the sky, the UV index is much lower than when the sun is blazing at the same time of day. So in nature, there is no constant UV index, but an extremely variable UV index with many outliers up and down.

In order to imitate UV indices exactly like in nature in a terrarium, a terrarium has to be dimensioned generously and above all, it has to have very good planting. The chameleon must be able to choose which UVB range it wants to use. Caution is also indicated here with the temperatures: In nature, the UVB value is highest where it is warmest. This is not always the case with terrarium lamps. There you may have to readjust very precisely with brightness, temperature, and UVB.

If you want to make it easier for yourself and “play it safe” in chameleon keeping, the Ferguson zones are the right choice.

Ferguson zones

In 2009, biologist Gary Ferguson and five colleagues published an article dealing with reptiles in North America and Jamaica. They measured 15 different snakes and lizards to see what UV indices these voluntarily exposed themselves to in nature, when, and how. Then they sorted the 15 species into four different zones, the so-called Ferguson zones, according to their behavior. For the first time, they published guidelines which UV indices could be used for which reptile species in terraristics. Ferguson et al. also recommended measuring with the Solarmeter 6.5 in natural habitats in order to determine average and maximum exposure levels of different reptiles.

Median UV Index Maximum UV Index
Zone 1 0-0,7 0,6-1,4 Crepuscular or shade dweller
Zone 2 0,7-1,0 1,1-3,0 Partial sun or occasional basker
Zone 3 1,0-2,6 2,9-7,4 Open or partial sun basker
Zone 4 2,6-3,5 4,5-9,5 ‘Mid-day’ open sun baskers

The Ferguson zones offer a rough orientation for the terrarium. They are, in simple terms, “safe” areas to avoid burns from UVB radiation, but at the same time to provide a reptile in the terrarium with the necessary amount of UVB radiation. The values of the zones do not necessarily correspond to what a chameleon finds in Madagascar. This is not even possible with the original article, because on the one hand non-Madagascan chameleons were examined and on the other hand nothing was measured on Madagascar to create the Ferguson zones.

In 2016, veterinarian Frances Baines and seven other colleagues published concrete recommendations for the classification of many common reptile species into the existing Ferguson zones. They also developed recommendations for the use of different lamps. At least three chameleon species made it into this publication, even though there are still no published locality measurements from Madagascar for them.

Median UV Index Maximum UV index
Zone 1 0-0,7 0,6-1,4 Brookesia superciliaris
Zone 2 0,7-1,0 1,1-3,0
Zone 3 1,0-2,6 2,9-7,4 Calumma parsonii
Furcifer pardalis
Zone 4 2,6-3,5 4,5-9,5

Modified Ferguson zones for Malagasy chameleons

Modified Ferguson zones for Malagasy chameleons

Unfortunately, there is no research yet on which chameleon species in Madagascar prefers which UV index. We are currently working on site measurements of the different species in Madagascar. Based on our observations over the years, we propose the division of the different species shown here on the right into modified Ferguson zones. We do not use a rigid table, but a bar with increasing UV-index, because some species can be observed in the sun much more often than others and therefore probably can cope with higher UV-indexes. For example, although we think that both Calumma brevicorne and Furcifer balteatus are in zone 3, Calumma brevicorne sunbathes less frequently and less intensively than Furcifer balteatus.

This classification is only a suggestion. We have divided the species into different zones mainly based on the behavior we observed. But since we cannot observe a chameleon 24 hours a day for 365 days a year, these are rough estimates, nothing more. There are also some species missing, where we lack current observations and therefore have not yet included them in the table.

Are there alternatives for measuring UVB?

Yes, there is. When there were no solar meters yet, the UVB supply had to be ensured differently. In order to do so, people used a very special mixed light lamp, the Osram Ultra Vitalux 300 W. A ballast is not necessary with this lamp. It has been on the market since 1928 with small improvements, has more than proven itself in this time, and originally comes from human needs. The Vitalux was used in the prophylaxis and therapy of rachitic children. For chameleons, the lamp only needs to be used for 30 minutes daily, whereby a safety distance of 80 to 100 cm from the chameleon should always be maintained. A porcelain socket is suitable for use as with many other lamps because the lamp gets very hot during use. Since most chameleon keepers do not have one and a half meter space above the terrarium, the chameleon usually has to be taken out of the terrarium to use the lamp. If you do not want to buy a solarmeter, you should not go without a Vitalux. By the way, the Radium Sanolux is identical in construction to the Osram Ultra-Vitalux. The Osram Ultra Vitalux is still frequently used today in the therapy of sick chameleons.

In summer, UVB radiation can be obtained by keeping chameleons in an outside enclosure, depending on where you live and depending on your outside temperatures. This does not replace UVB radiation in winter.

Osram Vitalux

Current packaging of the Osram Ultra Vitalux

By the way, it is no alternative to let a chameleon “sit by the window to sunbathe“. Unfortunately, UVB radiation does not penetrate through glass, so the chameleon does not get any UVB radiation there.

Iso irradiation charts

Those who measure out new lamps more frequently can share the values with other reptile keepers and thus contribute to broader knowledge about the UVB radiation of the different lamps. To measure lamps for more than just your own use in the terrarium, so-called Iso Irradiance Charts are used. Such a diagram shows the UVB radiation of a certain lamp or its course in two dimensions. Instructions on how to create such a diagram at home can be found here and here.

Example of an Iso Irradiance Chart. Photo courtesy of Frances Baines, uvguide.co.uk

The diagrams of individual lamps of the same type look very similar in principle. A metal halide lamp, for example, usually emits intense UVB radiation over a relatively narrow range, while a fluorescent tube emits very uniform UV-B radiation over a large area. Here is a good overview of which diagram can be expected for which lamp type. Below the diagram, the manufacturer of the measured lamp, the lamp type, the name as well as burning time in hours, and batch number are indicated. This information is important because the UVB radiation decreases with time and can vary even within the same batch.

The diagrams can help you to find the right type of lamp for your own chameleon terrarium. They can also be helpful when positioning a lamp above the terrarium. However, the diagrams do not replace the regular measurement of a purchased lamp!

Iso-irradiance diagrams of a whole range of lamps can be found under the following links: Lucky Reptile Bright Sun UV Desert 50 W, Lucky Reptile Bright Sun UV Desert 50 W, ZooMed PowerSun 160 W, ZooMed ReptiSun 5.0 T8 18 W, Zoo Med ReptiSun 10.0 UVB T8 18W, Arcadia D3+ Reptile Lamp T8, Arcadia D3+ 12% UVB Reptile Lamp T8 18 W, Arcadia D3 6% UVB Reptile Lamp T5, Arcadia D3+ 12% UVB Reptile Lamp T5, Zoo Med ReptiSun 5.0 UVB T8.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

UV-B-Strahlung

Calumma parsonii parsonii orange eye in Mahambo 2018
Furcifer labordi Männchen
Palleon nasus in Ranomafana 2018
Furcifer lateralis

Was ist UV-B?

UV-B ist die Abkürzung für Ultraviolett-B. Das ist ein Teil der Sonnenstrahlung, die auf die Erde trifft. Nur etwa 5% der Sonnenstrahlen sind überhaupt Ultraviolett-Strahlen. Sie teilen sich je nach Wellenlänge der Strahlung auf in UV-A, UV-B und UV-C. UV-A deckt Wellenlängen von 380 bi 315 nm ab. UV-B ist das für Chamäleons wichtige Ultraviolett und wird in diesem Artikel ausführlicher behandelt. Es beinhaltet Wellenlängen von 315 bis 280 nm, also nur einen ganz schmalen Strahlungsbereich. UV-C-Strahlen mit Wellenlängen von 280 bis 100 nm werden von den obersten Luftschichten der Erdatmosphäre größtenteils absorbiert, kommen also gar nicht auf der Erde an. Ultraviolette Strahlung ist für das menschliche Auge nicht sichtbar.

Spektrum der elektromagnetischen Strahlung auf der Erde

Wozu braucht ein Chamäleon UV-B-Strahlung?

Für Chamäleons ist UV-B-Strahlung lebenswichtig. Vitamin D3 (Cholecalciferol) wird in der Haut durch UV-B-Strahlung aus Provitamin D (7-Dehydrocholesterol) hergestellt. „Zuviel“ Vitamin D3 zerfällt wieder, wenn es nicht im Blut benötigt wird. Das ins Blut abgegebene Vitamin D3 wird zur Leber transportiert und dort zu Calcidiol umgebaut. Selbiges wird über das Blut wiederum zu den Nieren transportiert, um dort zu Calcitriol verstoffwechselt zu werden. Das Hormon Calcitriol sorgt für den Einbau von Kalzium in die Knochen des Chamäleons. Ist zu wenig Kalzium im Blut, wird die Vitamin D3-Bildung in der Haut des Chamäleons erhöht. Das geschieht jedoch nur, wenn genügend UV-B-Strahlung vorhanden ist.

Ein Mangel an UV-B-Strahlung führt beim Chamäleon über eine verringerten Kalzium-Blutspiegel zur gesteigerten Ausschüttung von Parathormon. Dieses Hormon stimuliert die Knochen, Kalzium abzubauen und ins Blut abzugeben. Die Niere hört auf, Kalzium aus dem Blut zurück zu filtern. Gleichzeitig wird weniger Kalzium aus dem Darm aufgenommen. Letztlich führt der Kalziummangel zur lebensbedrohlichen metabolic bone disease.

Zusätzlich zu diesem lebenswichtigen Vorgang trägt UV-B auch zu Wohlbefinden, besserer Reproduktion und regerem Stoffwechsel beim Chamäleon bei. Außerdem ist anzunehmen, dass Chamäleons im UV-A-Bereich (nicht im UV-B!) sehen können, so dass ultraviolette Strahlung auch ihre Kommunikation und Wahrnehmung beeinflusst. Studien haben gezeigt, dass Chamäleons ihr Verhalten an ihren Vitamin D3-Bedarf anpassen. Sie verbringen mehr Zeit unter UV-B-Strahlung, wenn gerade mehr Vitamin D3 benötigt wird. Wie genau sie erkennen, wann sie mehr sonnen müssen und wann nicht, ist noch nicht genauer untersucht worden.

 

Messung von UV-B-Strahlung

Weshalb sollte man UV-B messen?

UV-B-Messungen mit dem Solarmeter 6.5 auf der Insel Nosy Faly im Nordwesten Madagaskars

Online und in Fachgeschäften gibt es heute verschiedenste UV-B-Lampen zu kaufen. Bei vielen steht bereits auf der Verpackung, wie viel UV-B das jeweilige Lampe abgeben soll. Leider sind diese Angaben nicht sehr zuverlässig. Misst man regelmäßig Lampen nach, fällt auf, dass selbst innerhalb einer einzigen Charge Unterschiede in der UV-B-Strahlung auftreten können. Einige Lampen geben zu kurzwelliges UV-B oder Strahlung im Bereich viel zu hoher UV-B-Indizes ab. Diese Lampen können zu schweren Verbrennungen führen. Andere Lampen geben kaum oder gar kein UV-B ab, was beim Chamäleon später zu einem Kalziummangel und einer metabolic bone disease führt. Es ist also sehr wichtig, Lampen für Terrarien nachzumessen und passend für das Chamäleon auszurichten.

Das Nachmessen sichert nicht nur dem Chamäleon die „richtige Menge“ an UV-B, es lässt uns als Halter auch den richtigen Zeitpunkt zum Lampenwechsel finden. Man wirft also keine Lampe mehr zu früh weg, obwohl sie vielleicht noch nutzbar wäre. Andersherum kann man Lampen genau dann aussortieren, wenn sie nicht mehr genügend UV-B abgeben. Und falls eine Lampe mal wirklich ab Kauf bereits gar kein UV-B abgibt, kann man sie an den Hersteller zurückschicken.

Welches Messgerät kann man verwenden?

Es gibt inzwischen etliche Geräte, mit denen man UV-B-Strahlung messen kann. Für Reptilien sind jedoch nicht alle geeignet. Für die Messung von UV-B-Quellen über dem Terrarium ist wichtig zu wissen, wie viel Vitamin D3 das Chamäleon damit effektiv bilden kann. Das optimale Messgerät sollte also möglichst genau in den Wellenlängen messen, in denen das Tier Vitamin D3 bildet. Zum Glück gibt es eine solche „Vitamin-D3-Synthetisierungs-Kurve“ bereits. Und noch besser: Es gibt ein Messgerät, dessen Messbereich sich zu über 90% mit dieser Kurve deckt.

Das Solarmeter 6.5 mit Silizium-Karbid-Photodetektor wird von Solar Light Company Inc. (USA) hergestellt und kostet aktuell 250 bis 350 €. Das baugleiche Messgerät wird von Zoo Med unter dem Namen Digital UV Index Radiometer vertrieben. Das Solarmeter 6.5 misst den sogenannten UV-Index, eine international verwendete wissenschaftliche Größe. Das Solarmeter kann über Jahre genutzt werden, ohne kalibriert werden zu müssen. Seit Kurzem gibt es das Model 6.5 R, das sich aber lediglich durch einen anderen Aufkleber vom Solarmeter 6.5 unterscheidet. Es wird mit einer 9V-Batterie betrieben, die problemlos ausgewechselt werden kann. Wir haben regelmäßig Solarmeter 6.5 auf Madagaskar im Einsatz, sie bewähren sich bei uns seit Jahren.

Die verschiedenen Aufkleber des Solarmeter 6.5 im Vergleich: Links das alte Design, in der Mitte die beiden aktuellen Aufkleber und rechts die Variante von ZooMed. Die Geräte sind alle baugleich. Foto mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Frances Baines, uvguide.co.uk

Zurzeit gibt es keine anderen Messgeräte, die an die Genauigkeit des Solarmeter 6.5 für die Messung von UV-B in der Terraristik herankommen. Handy-Apps, billige China-Kopien und auch vermeintlich hochwertige, aber preisgünstigere Messgeräte sind leider nicht aussagekräftig. Indem diese Messgeräte nicht exakt der Synthetisierungskurve von Vitamin D3 folgen, zeigen sie verfälschte Messwerte an. Es nutzt nichts, irgendeinen UV-B-Bereich zu messen. Es muss der gemessen werden, in dem das Chamäleon auch wirklich Vitamin D3 bilden kann. Das „übrige“ UV-B nutzt dem Tier nichts! Die falschen Messwerte von Billig-Messgeräten sind für das Chamäleon bestenfalls noch nutzlos, können aber auch extrem gefährlich werden. Hier sollte man also keinesfalls am falschen Ende sparen.

Wie und wo wird gemessen?

Entscheidend ist, dass mit dem Solarmeter 6.5 innerhalb des Terrariums gemessen wird – also genau dort, wo das Chamäleon sich aufhält. Durch die bei Chamäleons verwendete Gaze im Terrariendeckel wird ungefähr 30% der UV-B-Strahlung absorbiert. Fruchtfliegen-dichte Gaze mit sehr geringen Maschenweiten kann sogar bis zu 50% der UV-B-Strahlung absorbieren. Es lohnt sich also, bereits beim Terrarienbau zu überlegen, welche Maschenweite man verwenden möchte. Wegen der hohen Gefahr von Verbrennungen können Lampen jedoch bei Chamäleons nicht innerhalb des Terrariums angebracht werden. Ein Gitter zwischen Terrarium und Lampen ist bei Chamäleons immer zwingend notwendig.

UVB messen

UV-B-Messungen mit dem Solarmeter 6.5 in Maroantsetra im Nordosten Madagaskars

Die Messung des UV-Index mit dem Solarmeter 6.5 ist denkbar leicht. Gemessen werden sollte im oder nahe des Zentralstrahl der Lampe, da dort der höchste UV-Index zu erwarten ist. Man hält das Solarmeter dabei mit dem Sensor in Richtung der Lampe und drückt auf die schwarze Taste. Im Display wird nun direkt der UV-Index angezeigt. Dann bewegt man das Solarmeter horizontal mit der Hand ganz langsam unter der Lampe, um den höchsten Punkt der Messung zu finden. Am besten misst man nicht nur direkt unter der Gaze des Terrariums, sondern auch an den Sonnenplätzen, die das Chamäleon erreichen kann. Die Lampe über dem Terrarium sollte so aufgehängt werden, dass der maximale UV-Index, den das Chamäleon erreichen können soll, direkt unter der Deckelgaze liegt. Chamäleons klettern gerne auch kopfüber an Gaze herum. Deshalb sollte nicht nur den Sonnenplätzen Beachtung geschenkt werden, auch unter der Deckelgaze direkt sollte das Tier sich ohne Verletzungsgefahr bewegen können.

Ganz wichtig: Misst man die UV-B-Strahlung einer Lampe direkt im Terrarium, sollten zur gleichen Zeit alle anderen UV-B-Lampen in der Nähe ausgeschaltet werden. Sonst misst man womöglich deren Strahlung mit und gar nicht die der Lampe, die man eigentlich messen wollte.

Um Lampen das erste Mal zu messen, sollte die Einbrennzeit beachtet werden. Mindestens 30 Minuten dauert es im Durchschnitt, bis sich der „reelle“ UV-B-Index einer Lampe messen lässt. Bestenfalls lässt man eine Lampe sogar einen ganzen Tag laufen, bevor man sie mit dem Solarmeter 6.5 ausmisst. Nach der ersten Messung und Ausrichtung passend zum Chamäleon empfehlen wir mindestens monatliches Nachmessen jeder Lampe.

UV-Indizes auf Madagaskar

Direkt im Lebensraum auf Madagaskar von uns gemessene UV-Indizes findest du in der Rubrik „Arten & Habitatsdaten“. Bei diesen Daten ist zu beachten, dass sie maximal für ein Chamäleon am jeweiligen Ort erreichbare UV-Indizes darstellen. Die meisten Chamäleonarten verbringen jedoch nicht den ganzen Tag in der prallen Sonne, sondern die meiste Zeit in Schattenbereichen. Selbst „Sonnenanbeter“ wie Pantherchamäleons sonnen nur eine begrenzte Zeit des Tages. Manche Arten sind häufiger als andere auf sonnigen Plätzen zu finden, nur wenige Chamäleons sonnen auch in der Mittagshitze mal. Erdchamäleons bekommen am Boden generell kaum UV-B ab, obwohl einzelne Sonnenflecken selbst im tiefsten Regenwald noch erstaunliche UV-Indizes erreichen.

UV-Indizes unter verschiedenen Wetterbedingungen, gemessen über einen ganzen Tag im März 2016 in der Nähe von Ambilobe im Nordwesten Madagaskars

Dazu kommt, dass der UV-Index auf Madagaskar extrem von den Wetterbedingungen und der Tageszeit abhängt. Der UV-Index steigt und sinkt mit der Uhrzeit. Kurz nach Mittag mit dem höchsten Stand der Sonne werden die höchsten Werte erreicht. Am frühen Morgen und späten Nachmittag ist auf Madagaskar fast kein UV-B messbar. Bei starkem Regen oder vielen Wolken am Himmel ist der UV-Index wesentlich niedriger als bei knallender Sonne um die gleiche Uhrzeit. Es gibt also in der Natur keinen stetig gleich bleibenden UV-Index, sondern einen extrem wechselhaften UV-Index mit vielen Ausreißern nach oben und unten.

Um UV-Indizes exakt wie in der Natur im Terrarium imitieren zu können, muss ein Terrarium entsprechend großzügig dimensioniert sein und vor allem eine sehr gute Bepflanzung aufweisen. Das Chamäleon muss sich aussuchen können, welchen UV-B-Bereich es nutzen möchte. Vorsicht ist hier auch bei den Temperaturen angezeigt: In der Natur ist der UV-B-Wert vereinfacht gesagt dort am höchsten, wo es am wärmsten ist. Bei Terrarienlampen ist das nicht immer der Fall. Dort muss gegebenenfalls sehr genau mit Helligkeit, Temperatur und UV-B nachjustiert werden.

Wer es sich einfacher machen und in der Chamäleonhaltung „auf Nummer Sicher gehen“ möchte, ist mit den Ferguson-Zonen gut bedient.

Ferguson-Zonen

2009 veröffentlichte der Biologe Gary Ferguson zusammen mit fünf Kollegen einen Artikel, der sich mit Reptilien in Nordamerika und Jamaika befasste. Sie hatten bei 15 verschiedenen Schlangen und Echsen nachgemessen, welchen UV-Indizes diese sich wann und wie freiwillig in der Natur aussetzten. Dann sortierten sie die 15 Arten je nach ihrem Verhalten in vier verschiedene Zonen ein, die sogenannten Ferguson-Zonen. Sie veröffentlichten damit erstmals Richtlinien, welche UV-Indizes für welche Reptilienarten in der Terraristik genutzt werden könnten. Ferguson et al. empfohlen außerdem, selbst mit dem Solarmeter 6.5 in Lebensräumen in der Natur zu messen, um mittlere und maximale Expositionswerte verschiedener Reptilien zu ermitteln.

Mittlerer UV-Index Maximaler UV-Index
Zone 1 0-0,7 0,6-1,4 Schatten oder in der Dämmerung aktive Reptilien
Zone 2 0,7-1,0  1,1-3,0 Halbschatten, gelegentlich sonnende Reptilien
Zone 3  1,0-2,6  2,9-7,4 Halbschatten oder Sonne, aber nicht unbedingt in der größten Mittagshitze
Zone 4  2,6-3,5  4,5-9,5 „Sonnenanbeter“, auch mittags in der prallen Sonne auffindbare Reptilien

Die Ferguson-Zonen bieten eine grobe Orientierung für die Terraristik. Es sind, vereinfacht formuliert, „sichere“ Bereiche, um Verbrennungen durch UV-B-Strahlung zu vermeiden, gleichzeitig einem Reptil im Terrarium aber die notwendige Menge an UV-B-Strahlung zukommen zu lassen. Die Werte der Zonen entsprechen nicht unbedingt dem, was ein Chamäleon auf Madagaskar vorfindet. Das können sie auch gar nicht, denn es wurden zum einen nicht madagassische Chamäleons untersucht, zum anderen wurde zur Erstellung der Ferguson Zonen nichts auf Madagaskar gemessen.

2016 veröffentlichte die Tierärztin Frances Baines zusammen mit sieben weiteren Kollegen konkrete Empfehlungen für die Einteilung vieler gängiger Reptilienarten in die bestehenden Ferguson-Zonen. Außerdem erarbeiteten sie konkrete Nutzungsempfehlungen zu verschiedenen Lampen. Immerhin drei Chamäleon-Arten schafften es in diese Veröffentlichung, auch wenn zu ihnen nach wie vor keine publizierten Fundort-Messungen aus Madagaskar vorliegen. 2021 korrigierten Ferguson et al. die Einschätzung für Furcifer pardalis eine Zone nach oben.

Mittlerer UV-Index Maximaler UV-Index
Zone 1 0-0,7 0,6-1,4 Brookesia superciliaris
Zone 2 0,7-1,0  1,1-3,0
Zone 3  1,0-2,6  2,9-7,4 Calumma parsonii
Zone 4  2,6-3,5  4,5-9,5 Furcifer pardalis

Modifizierte Ferguson-Zonen für madagassische Chamäleons

Modifizierte Ferguson Zonen für madagassische Chamäleons

Leider gibt es noch keine Untersuchung darüber, welche Chamäleon-Art auf Madagaskar welchen UV-Index bevorzugt. Wir arbeiten zurzeit an Fundort-Messungen der verschiedenen Arten auf Madagaskar. Auf Grund unserer Beobachtungen über die Jahre schlagen wir die hier rechts gezeigte Einteilung der verschiedenen Arten in eine Art modifizierte Ferguson-Zonen vor. Wir nutzen dabei keine starre Tabelle, sondern eine Leiste mit steigendem UV-Index, da einige Arten im Verhältnis zu anderen deutlich häufiger in der Sonne zu beobachten sind als andere und entsprechend vermutlich auch mit höheren UV-Indizes klarkommen. So befinden sich beispielsweise unseres Erachtens zwar sowohl Calumma brevicorne als auch Furcifer balteatus in Zone 3, Calumma brevicorne sonnt aber seltener und weniger intensiv als Furcifer balteatus.

Es handelt sich bei dieser Einteilung nur um einen Vorschlag. Wir haben die Arten vor allem auf Grund ihres von uns beobachteten Verhaltens in die verschiedenen Zonen eingeteilt. Da wir aber kein Chamäleon 24 Stunden täglich über 365 Tage im Jahr beobachten können, handelt es sich dabei um grobe Einschätzungen, mehr nicht. Es fehlen außerdem noch einige Arten, bei denen uns aktuelle Beobachtungen fehlen und die wir deshalb noch nicht in die Tabelle mit aufgenommen haben.

Gibt es Alternativen zur Messung von UV-B?

Ja, die gibt es. Als es noch keine Solarmeter gab, musste man die UV-B-Versorgung anders sicherstellen. Dazu verwendet man eine sehr spezielle Mischlichtlampe,  die Osram Ultra Vitalux 300 W. Ein Vorschaltgerät ist bei dieser Lampe nicht nötig. Sie ist seit 1928 mit kleinen Verbesserungen auf dem Markt, hat sich in dieser Zeit mehr als bewährt und stammt ursprünglich aus dem Humanbedarf. Die Vitalux wurde in der Prophylaxe und Therapie rachitischer Kinder genutzt. Bei Chamäleons muss die Lampe lediglich 30 Minuten täglich eingesetzt werden, wobei stets ein Sicherheitsabstand von 80 bis 100 cm zum Chamäleon eingehalten werden sollte. Eine Porzellanfassung bietet sich wie bei vielen anderen Leuchtmitteln für die Nutzung an, da die Lampe im Gebrauch sehr heiß wird. Da die meisten Chamäleonhalter keine anderthalb Meter Platz über dem Terrarium haben, muss das Chamäleon für die Verwendung der Lampe in aller Regel aus dem Terrarium entnommen werden. Wer sich kein Solarmeter anschaffen möchte, sollte auf eine Vitalux nicht verzichten. Die Radium Sanolux ist übrigens baugleich zur Osram Ultra-Vitalux. Die Osram Ultra Vitalux findet heute auch noch in der Therapie kranker Chamäleons häufig Anwendung.

Im Sommer kann UV-B-Strahlung je nach Wohnort und Außentemperaturen über eine Haltung von Chamäleons im Gehege genutzt werden. Dies ersetzt jedoch keinesfalls die UV-B-Bestrahlung im Winter.

Osram Vitalux

Aktuelle Verpackung der Osram Ultra Vitalux

Keine Alternative ist es übrigens, ein Chamäleon „zum Sonnen am Fenster sitzen zu lassen“. UV-B-Strahlung dringt leider nicht durch Glas, das Chamäleon bekommt also dort gar keine UV-B-Strahlung ab.

Iso-Bestrahlungsstärke-Diagramme

Wer häufiger neue Lampen ausmisst, kann die Werte mit anderen Reptilienhaltern teilen und so zu einem breiteren Wissen über die UV-B-Strahlung der verschiedenen Lampen beitragen. Um Lampen für mehr als nur den Eigenbrauch im Terrarium auszumessen, nutzt man sogenannte Iso Irradiance Charts, zu deutsch Iso Bestrahlungsstärke-Diagramme. Ein solches Diagramm stellt die UV-B-Strahlung einer bestimmten Lampe bzw. deren Verlauf zweidimensional dar. Anleitungen, wie man ein solches Diagramm selbst zu Hause herstellt, gibt es hier und hier.

Beispiel für ein Iso Irradiance Chart. Foto mit freundlicher Genehmigung von Frances Baines, uvguide.co.uk

Die Diagramme der einzelnen Lampen gleichen Typs sehen sich prinzipiell sehr ähnlich. Eine Metalldampflampe beispielsweise gibt in der Regel eine intensive UV-B-Strahlung auf einem relativ engen Bereich ab, während eine Leuchtstoffröhre eine sehr gleichmäßige UV-B-Strahlung über eine große Fläche abgibt. Hier gibt es eine gute Übersicht, bei welchem Lampentyp welches Diagramm zu erwarten ist. Unter dem Diagramm ist jeweils der Hersteller der gemessenen Lampe, der Lampentyp, der Name sowie Brenndauer in Stunden und Chargennummer angegeben. Diese Angaben sind deshalb wichtig, weil die UV-B-Strahlung mit der Nutzungszeit abnimmt und selbst innerhalb der gleichen Charge variieren kann.

Die Diagramme können vor allem dabei helfen, den passenden Lampentyp für das eigene Chamäleonterrarium zu finden. Sie können außerdem ungefähr bei der Positionierung einer Lampe über dem Terrarium hilfreich sein. Die Diagramme ersetzen jedoch nicht das regelmäßige Ausmessen einer gekauften Lampe!

Iso-Bestrahlungsstärke-Diagramme einer ganzen Reihe von Lampen finden sich unter den folgenden Links: Lucky Reptile Bright Sun UV Desert 50 W, Lucky Reptile Bright Sun UV Desert 50 W, ZooMed PowerSun 160 W, ZooMed ReptiSun 5.0 T8 18 W, Zoo Med ReptiSun 10.0 UVB T8 18WArcadia D3+ Reptile Lamp T8, Arcadia D3+ 12% UVB Reptile Lamp T8 18 W, Arcadia D3 6% UVB Reptile Lamp T5, Arcadia D3+ 12% UVB Reptile Lamp T5, Zoo Med ReptiSun 5.0 UVB T8.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove