Browsing Tags

Chamäleon

Chameleon predators

The knowledge about predators of Malagasy chameleons comes mainly from anecdotal reports and so far less systematic research. Also, we observe from time to time how chameleons become victims of other animals in the...
Häutung Furcifer verrucosus in Ifaty

Shedding

Shedding Chameleons grow for a lifetime. Since their skin cannot grow with them, they have to shed it from time to time. This process is called molting or shedding. The anatomical term is ecdysis,...

The chameleon eye

The eyes are probably one of the most striking specializations of the chameleon. The chameleon basically has a lens eye like a human being. However, for the purpose of enlarging the field of vision,...
Egg Monitor Buddy Mk2 mit Ei

Using an Egg Monitor

With an egg monitor, the pulse of an embryo still in the egg can be measured during incubation. Originally the Egg Monitor was developed for bird eggs. Most chameleon eggs are significantly smaller than...

Building a cage – which material?

Glass Cages made of glass belong to the oldest in keeping reptiles, and have been staying keepers in good stead for years. Unfortunately, many standard glass cages in common shops are not suitable for...
Große Parsons Terrarien

Size & ventilation of the cage

Size The final size of a chameleon cage has to comply with the needs of the future inhabitant, not the other way round. Please pay attention to the species’ acitivity as well as the...
Transport von Chamäleons

Transporting a chameleon

From the breeder’s home, to the vet or when selling a young animal: At some point comes the time when you have to transport your chameleon. Like all reptiles, chameleons are ectothermic, so their...
Skelett Calumma parsonii parsonii Weibchen

Anatomy

Anatomy means as much as the study of the structure of the body. This site is dedicated to the anatomy of Madagascan chameleons, and it is certainly not complete. We expand the article piece...
Lousiana Moos im Parsons Terrarium

Climbing possibilities and decoration

Before a terrarium can be occupied by its new occupant, it needs suitable furnishings. In addition to living substrate, back wall, and living plants and needs a chameleon terrarium especially one thing: climbing opportunities....

Brookesia perarmata

First description: (Angel, 1933) Origin of the species name: Fernand Angel described this chameleon species in his function as an assistant taxidermist using a prepared animal that was kept in the Natural History Museum...

Browsing Tags

Chamäleon

Fressfeinde von Chamäleons

Das Wissen um Fressfeinde madagassischer Chamäleons entstammt mehrheitlich anekdotischen Berichten und bisher weniger systematischer Untersuchung. Auch wir beobachten immer mal wieder, wie Chamäleons in der Wildnis Madagaskars Opfer anderer Tiere werden. Jenkins, Rabearivony und...
Häutung Furcifer verrucosus in Ifaty

Häutung

Die Häutung Chamäleons wachsen ein Leben lang. Da ihre Haut nicht mitwachsen kann, müssen sie sie von Zeit zu Zeit abstreifen. Diesen Vorgang nennt man Häutung. Der Fachbegriff lautet Ekdysis, abgeleitet vom Altgriechischen ἐκδύω...

Das Chamäleon-Auge

Die Augen gehören wohl zu den markantesten Spezialisierungen beim Chamäleon. Das Chamäleon hat grundsätzlich ein Linsenauge wie der Mensch. Die beiden Augen stehen allerdings zwecks Sichtfeldvergrößerung aus den Augenhöhlen fast vollständig heraus und können...
Egg Monitor Buddy Mk2 mit Ei

Nutzung eines Egg Monitors

Mit einem Egg Monitor kann der Puls eines noch im Ei befindlichen Embryo während der Inkubation gemessen werden. Ursprünglich wurde der Egg Monitor für Vogeleier entwickelt. Die meisten Chamäleoneier sind deutlich kleiner als die...

Terrarienbau – welches Material?

Glas Terrarien aus Glas gehören zu den ältesten in der Terraristik und haben über viele Jahre bis heute gute Dienste geleistet. Leider sind die üblichen Standard-Glasterrarien aus dem Handel auf Grund ihrer schlechten Belüftung...
Große Parsons Terrarien

Größe & Belüftung des Terrariums

Größe des Terrariums Die Größe des Terrariums muss sich natürlich nach dem zukünftigen Bewohner richten, nicht andersherum. Dabei ist die Aktivität der Art genauso zu beachten wie die erreichbare Endgröße des Chamäleons selbst. Beispielsweise...
Transport von Chamäleons

Chamäleons transportieren

Vom Züchter nach Hause, zum Tierarzt oder beim Verkauf eines Jungtieres: Irgendwann kommt der Zeitpunkt, an dem man sein Chamäleon transportieren muss. Chamäleons sind wie alle Reptilien wechselwarm, ihre Körpertemperatur ist also von der...
Skelett Calumma parsonii parsonii Weibchen

Anatomie

Anatomie bedeutet soviel wie die Lehre vom Bau des Körpers. Diese Seite widmet sich der Anatomie madagassischer Chamäleons, und sie ist sicher nicht ganz vollstänig. Wir erweitern den Artikel Stück für Stück, so dass...
Lousiana Moos im Parsons Terrarium

Klettermöglichkeiten

Bevor ein Terrarium von seinem neuen Bewohner bezogen werden kann, benötigt es eine passende Einrichtung. Neben lebendem Bodengrund, Rückwand und lebenden Pflanzen und braucht ein Chamäleonterrarium vor allem eines: Klettermöglichkeiten. Dieser Artikel stellt vor,...

Brookesia perarmata

Erstbeschreibung: (Angel, 1933) Herkunft des Artnamens: Fernand Angel beschrieb diese Chamäleonart in seiner Funktion als Assistenzpräparator an Hand eines präparierten Tiers, das im Naturhistorischen Museum von Paris (Frankreich) aufbewahrt wurden. Das Chamäleon war ursprünglich...