All Posts

Archives

Calumma guillaumeti

First description: (Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1974) Origin of the species name: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (later working at the Natural History Museum in Paris, France), Charles Pierre Blanc and Charles Antoine Domergue from the then...

Brookesia desperata

First description: Glaw, Köhler, Townsend & Vences, 2012 Origin of the species name: Frank Glaw from the Zoologische Staatssammlung Munich (Germany), Jörn Köhler from the Hessisches Landesmuseum Darmstadt (Germany), Ted Townsend from the University...

Calumma uetzi

  First description: Prötzel, Vences, Hawlitschek, Scherz, Ratsoavina & Glaw, 2018 Origin of the species name: Frank Glaw of the Munich State Zoological Collection (Germany) had the idea to name the species after Peter...

Brookesia betschi

First description: Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970 Origin of the species name: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo, Charles Pierre Blanc and Charles Antoine Domergue of the then Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar dedicated the species to Jean-Marie...

Available lizards

We will probably have offspring of Calumma parsonii parsonii in autumn 2022, color variation orange eye. The eggs are hatching right now. We were very satisfied with the development of the siblings last year....

Local form Vohimarina (Vohémar)

Distribution of the local form Vohimarina : Vohimarina, better known by its French name Vohémar, is a city on the northeast coast of Madagascar. With a population of around 15,000, it is one of...

Recapturing escaped feeders

At some point it happens to every chameleon keeper: feeders, which were actually meant for the chameleon, have made off and run around freely in the apartment. Most feeders cannot reproduce in the average...

Photographing chameleons

Photographing chameleons in their natural habitat is not only exciting but also a lot of fun. Not least through the passion for chameleons and photography, this website was created! Therefore, there is now a...

Info about Madagascar

Madagascar is the fourth largest island in the world with 587,295 km². This is more area than France and Switzerland together. Madagascar is located in the Indian Ocean, about 500 to 600 km east...

Brumation

Among many chameleon keepers, it is a recurring topic: hibernation in the terrarium. Should you offer a brumation period, if yes with which species and why at all? This article is intended to get...

All Posts

Archives

Calumma guillaumeti

Erstbeschreibung: (Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1974) Herkunft des Artnamens: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (später tätig im Naturhistorischen Museum Paris, Frankreich), Charles Pierre Blanc und Charles Antoine Domergue vom damaligen Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar widmeten die...

Brookesia desperata

Erstbeschreibung: Glaw, Köhler, Townsend & Vences, 2012 Herkunft des Artnamens: Frank Glaw von der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München, Jörn Köhler vom Hessischen Landesmuseum Darmstadt, Ted Townsend von der Universität San Diego (USA) und Miguel Vences...

Calumma uetzi

  Erstbeschreibung: Prötzel, Vences, Hawlitschek, Scherz, Ratsoavina & Glaw, 2018 Herkunft des Artnamens: Frank Glaw von der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München hatte die Idee, die Art nach Peter Uetz zu benennen. Der deutsche Biologe betreibt...

Brookesia betschi

Erstbeschreibung: Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970 Herkunft des Artnamens: Édouard-Raoul Brygoo, Charles Pierre Blanc und Charles Antoine Domergue vom damaligen Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar widmeten die Art Jean-Marie Betsch. Betsch arbeitete seit 1963...

Abzugeben

Wir werden voraussichtlich ab Oktober/November 2022 Nachzuchten von Calumma parsonii parsonii abzugeben haben, Farbvariante orange eye. Die Eier sind größtenteils schon geschlüpft, die Jungtiere allesamt sehr agil. Mit der Entwicklung der Geschwistertiere waren wir...

Lokalform Vohimarina (Vohémar)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Vohimarina : Vohimarina, besser bekannt unter seinem französischem Namen Vohémar, ist eine Stadt an der Nordostküste Madagaskars. Mit rund 15.000 Einwohnern gehört sie zu den größeren Städten der Region Sava. Zu...

Entflohene Futtertiere wieder einfangen

Irgendwann passiert es jedem Chamäleonhalter: Futtertiere, die eigentlich für das Chamäleon gedacht waren, haben sich aus dem Staub gemacht und laufen frei in der Wohnung herum. Die meisten Futtertiere können sich nicht im durchschnittlichen...

Chamäleons fotografieren

Chamäleons in ihrem natürlichen Lebensraum zu fotografieren ist nicht nur spannend, sondern macht auch sehr viel Spaß. Nicht zuletzt entstand durch die Leidenschaft zu Chamäleons und Fotografie diese Website! Daher gibt es jetzt genau...

Infos über Madagaskar

Madagaskar ist mit 587.295 km² die viertgrößte Insel der Welt. Das ist mehr Fläche als Frankreich und die Schweiz zusammen. Madagaskar liegt im Indischen Ozean, je nach Küstenlinie rund 500 bis 600 km östlich...

Winterruhe

Unter vielen Chamäleonhaltern ist sie ein wiederkehrendes Thema: Die Winterruhe im Terrarium. Sollte man eine halten, wenn ja bei welchen Arten und warum überhaupt? Dieser Artikel soll dem Ganzen ein wenig auf den Grund...