Calumma nasutum

Calumma nasutum
Calumma nasutum, Andasibe, 2014 (1)
Calumma nasutum, Anlamazaotra, female, 2014 (1)
Calumma nasutum
Calumma nasutum
Calumma nasutum Andasibe
CITES quotas
2011-13 no specimens, 2014-16 each 1000 specimens, 2017 for the first time 2000, 2018-2022 each 1000 specimens for legal export

First description:

(Duméril & Bibron, 1836)

Origin of the species name:

The zoologist André Marie Constant Duméril, then head of herpetology at the Natural History Museum of Paris (France), together with his assistant Gabriel Bibron, named this chameleon species after its conspicuous nose.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma nasutum

loading map - please wait...

Analamazaotra: -18.933811, 48.431683
Maromizaha: -18.966526, 48.478374
Mitsinjo: -18.916030, 48.436661
Mantadia: -18.813368, 48.478546
Tarzanville: -19.180841, 48.218651
Sorata Massif: -13.669762, 49.409637
Vohidrazana: -18.992661, 48.519745

Distribution:

The distribution range of Calumma nasutum is mainly restricted to the region around the Andasibe-Mantadia National Park in the eastern highlands of Madagascar. Since the 2020 revision (see “Good to know”), it is clear that the species is significantly rarer than Calumma emelinae, which also occurs in this area. Especially the females of Calumma nasutum are often confused with Calumma emelinae. A second population of Calumma nasutum occurs in northern Madagascar in the Sorata Massif. This area is largely inaccessible for travelers, so that there are hardly any finding reports from there.

Look and size:

Calumma nasutum is one of the small chameleons and with a total body length of eight to ten centimeters, it is a real midget. The animals have a round, elastic rostral appendage, which is more pronounced in the males. The rostral scale directly below the nose is not integrated into the rostral appendage itself. The temporal crest consists of only one tubercle. Whether males show a dorsal crest or not varies within the species. A striking feature of males of Calumma nasutum is the high casque (1.5-2 mm), which is very similar to that of Calumma fallax. The scales on arms and legs are slightly larger than those on the body, and the coloration of the males is mainly limited to beige on the body and light green on the head, arms, and legs. The females are a little more inexpressibly light beige. When excited, Calumma nasutum can show slightly visible turquoise-blue bands on the body.

Good to know:

Calumma nasutum is the name-giving chameleon species of the so-called nasutum group. This group includes a large number of small chameleons from Madagascar with a soft rostral appendage. It was not until 2020 that Prötzel, Scherz et al. defined Calumma nasutum in more detail so that its distribution and appearance are determined as described here. Most of the animals described as Calumma nasutum all over Madagascar until 2020 now belong to Calumma radamanus and the radamanus group of the same name. The latter still contains many undescribed species. Due to years of lack of genetic differentiation of different species, countless chameleons have been exported under the name Calumma nasutum since 2014. Most are not Calumma nasutum at all, but other chameleon species.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The region around Andasibe with the belonging forests Mantadia and Analamazaotra is located in Madagascar's eastern highlands at elevations between 900 and 1250 m above sea level. Thus temperatures sometimes reach temperatures above 25°C, but thermometers rarely climbs above 30°C or only in sunny places. At night, temperatures always drop to 10° to 15°C.

Humidity in Andasibe's rainforest is high all year long. During rainy season, it rains intensively every day, sometimes rain even lasts for days. But also dry season does not differ much besides the fact of cooler temperatures. It still rains at least every other day, in most years more often. Rain, humidity and temperature drop at night are the key features of the region around Andasibe.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for the region of Andasibe available yet.

Habitat:

The following photos show parts of the habitat of Calumma nasutum in Andasibe, Analamazaotra and Maromizaha. They inhabit thin trees, shrubs and bushes, but also thick lianas in the dense rainforest. Only very rarely they are found in open terrain, they prefer dense foliage and deep rainforest.

Below you will find some 360° pictures from Analamazaotra. With the mouse, you can turn in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the pictures will open in a separate window in an enlarged view. There you also have the possibility to view the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun watching it!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

 

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

 

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma nasutum

Calumma nasutum
Calumma nasutum, Andasibe, 2014 (1)
Calumma nasutum, Anlamazaotra, female, 2014 (1)
Calumma nasutum
Calumma nasutum
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-16 je 1000 Tiere, 2017 erstmals 2000 Tiere, 2018-2020 je 1000 Tiere für den legalen Export frei

Erstbeschreibung:

(Duméril & Bibron, 1836)

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Der Zoologe André Marie Constant Duméril, damals Leiter der Herpetologie am Naturhistorischen Museum von Paris (Frankreich), benannte zusammen mit seinem Assistenten Gabriel Bibron diese Chamäleonart nach ihrer auffälligen Nase.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma nasutum

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Analamazaotra: -18.933811, 48.431683
Maromizaha: -18.966526, 48.478374
Mitsinjo: -18.916030, 48.436661
Mantadia: -18.813368, 48.478546
Tarzanville: -19.180841, 48.218651
Sorata Massif: -13.669762, 49.409637

Verbreitung:

Das Verbreitungsgebiet von Calumma nasutum beschränkt sich vor allem auf die Region rund um den Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars. Seit der Revision 2020 (siehe „Besonderheiten“) ist klar, dass die Art deutlich seltener ist als das ebenfalls in dieser Gegend vorkommende Calumma cf. radamanus. Eine zweite Population von Calumma nasutum kommt im Norden Madagaskars im Sorata-Massif vor. Dieses Gebiet ist für Reisende weitestgehend unzugänglich, so dass es kaum Fundmeldungen von dort gibt.

Aussehen und Größe:

Calumma nasutum zählt zu den kleinen Chamäleons und ist mit einer Gesamtkörperlänge von acht bis zehn Zentimeter ein echter Winzling. Die Tiere haben einen runden, elastischen Nasenfortsatz, der bei den Männchen deutlicher ausgeprägt ist. Die rostrale Schuppe direkt unter dem Nasenfortsatz ist nicht in den Nasenfortsatz selbst integriert. Der Temporalkamm besteht nur aus einem einzigen Tuberkel. Ob Männchen einen Dorsalkamm zeigen oder nicht, variiert innerhalb der Art. Auffallend ist bei den Männchen von Calumma nasutum der hohe Helm (1,5-2 mm), der dem von Calumma fallax sehr ähnelt. Die Schuppen an Armen und Beinen sind etwas größer als die am Körper.

Die Färbung der Männchen beschränkt sich vor allem auf Beige am Körper und einem hellem Grün an Kopf, Armen und Beinen. Die Weibchen sind etwas unscheibarer hellbeige gefärbt. Bei Erregung können Calumma nasutum ganz leicht sichtbare, türkisblaue Bänder am Körper zeigen.

Besonderheiten:

Calumma nasutum ist die namensgebende Chamäleon-Art der sogenannten nasutum-Gruppe. Zu dieser Gruppe zählen eine Vielzahl kleiner Chamäleons aus Madagaskar mit weichem Nasenfortsatz. Erst 2020 wurde von Prötzel, Scherz et al. Calumma nasutum genauer definiert, so dass Verbreitung und Aussehen wie hier beschrieben festgelegt sind. Die bis 2020 überall auf Madagaskar als Calumma nasutum beschriebenen Tiere fallen zu einem sehr großen Teil heute Calumma radamanus und der gleichnamigen radamanus-Gruppe zu. Letztere beinhaltet noch viele unbeschriebene Arten. Durch die jahrelange Problematik der fehlenden genetischen Differenzierung verschiedener Arten wurden seit 2014 unter dem Namen Calumma nasutum unzählige Chamäleons exportiert, die überhaupt keine Calumma nasutum sind, sondern andere Chamäleon-Arten.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Region um Andasibe mit den dazugehörigen Wäldern Mantadia und Analamazaotra liegen im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen zwiscen 900 und 1250 m über Meeresniveau. Es wird deshalb tagsüber zwar mal über 25°C warm, über die 30°-Grenze klettert das Thermometer aber eher selten oder nur in Sonnenflecken. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen immer tief in den Keller. 10° bis 15° Grad sind die Regel.

Die Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Regenwäldern um Andasibe ist das ganze Jahr über hoch. Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig, manchmal hält der Regen über Tage an. Aber auch die Trockenzeit unterscheidet sich nicht massiv, außer dass sie etwas kühlere Temperaturen aufweist. Es regnet trotzdem mindestens jeden zweiten Tag, eher öfter. Regen, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und nächtlicher Temperatursturz sind daher die zentralen Punkte im Klima Andasibes.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März, April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Region Andasibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma nasutum in Andasibe, Analamazaotra und Maromizaha. Sie bewohnen dünne Bäumchen, Sträucher und Gebüsch, aber auch dicke Lianen im dichten Regenwald. Nur sehr selten sind sie in offenem Gelände zu finden, sie bevorzugen ein dichtes Blattwerk und tiefen Regenwald.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Analamazaotra. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

 

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

 

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove