Brookesia brygooi

Brookesia brygooi in Kirindy 2017
Brookesia brygooi in Isalo 2017
Brookesia brygooi in Isalo 2017
Brookesia brygooi in Isalo 2017
CITES quotas
2011-13 no specimens,
2014-16 each 500 specimens,
2017 for the first time 1000 specimens,
2018-2020 again 500 specimens for legal export

First description:

Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995

Origin of the species name:

Christopher J. Raxworthy from the American Museum of Natural History, New York (USA) and Ronald A. Nussbaum from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor (USA), named the species after the French biologist Édouard-Raoul Brygoo from the Natural History Museum in Paris (France). Brygoo used to work for 18 years at the Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar. During this time, he described numerous chameleons of the island. In 1978, he was also the first to note the discovery of an animal that Raxworthy and Nussbaum later attributed to the species Brookesia brygooi.

Distribution:

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia brygooi

loading map - please wait...

Kirindy forest: -20.268961, 44.345627
Isalo: -22.417376, 45.288391
Zombitse-Vohibasia: -22.886100, 44.691400
Tsingy de Bemaraha: -19.129275, 44.823875
Ankarafantsika: -16.328047, 46.631470
Sept Lacs: -23.498514, 44.217224
Anavelona: -22.662175, 44.165039
Sakaraha: -22.911000, 44.530600

This species occurs in western Madagascar, from Ankarafantsika to the south with Isalo, Sakaraha, and Zombitse-Vohibasia. The best place to find them – for us – has been the dry forest of Kirindy. The area is extremely warm and most time of the year very dry. The rainy season may be limited to three months only. We have not found Brookesia brygooi walking or sitting higher than 50 cm above the ground yet. During the daytime, they seem to walk around the leaf litter exclusively. Juveniles even sleep very low above the ground, usually in 10 cm height on small blades of grass.

Appearance & size:

Brookesia brygooi belongs to the leaf chameleons. Both genders reach sizes of approximately 8 cm from the tip of the nose to the tip of the tail. They do not wear a dorsal crest, but 10 latero-vertebral spines that do not continue on the tail. They have no spines on the chin. The pelvic shield is well developed and has a typical shape that is slightly bowed in direction of the tail. There is a prominent supranasal cone between eyes and nose.

Good to know:

Those leaf chameleons in Isalo that are up to date known as Brookesia brygooi might be an own species. But there is no published data or genetic research done yet. Maybe there are even more specimens known as Brookesia brygooi today that are in fact own species.

Incubation of eggs:

Eggs are laid under leaf litter, in the mossy ground or under pieces of bark. Juveniles hatch after 52-71 days.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 28 28 28 28 25 23 23 24 26 28 29 28
Minimum temperature 23 22 23 22 18 16 15 16 19 21 22 23
Maximum temperature 33 33 33 33 33 31 31 32 33 35 35 34
Rain days 16 12 6 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 2 9

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Kirindy is mainly one thing: Hot. During dry season from April until September, it rarely rains and if, very short. The dry forest loses its leaves and few green survives. During daytime, it becomes extremely hot, but at night temperature drops massively, sometimes even below 15°C. This extreme temperature drop at night is typical for the area in dry season.

During rainy season from October until March, the forest blooms: It is raining several times a day, trees and plants begin to sprout. Everything becomes green and vivid. Humidity is accordingly high. During daytime, rainy season is even warmer than dry seasin. But at night, temperature drops only few degrees in rainy season.

2017 UVI Kirindy
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Kirindy available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show parts of the habitat of Brookesia brygooi in Kirindy and Isalo during the rainy season. Some are even from finding places of this species. Isalo as well as Kirindy are dry forests with not really high, slender trees. All over the year, a dense foliage covers the sandy soil. The undergrowth that Brookesia brygooi inhabits mainly consists of thin twigs and few small blades of grass.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Kirindy that we took during rainy season. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full-screen mode. Enjoy!

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia brygooi

Brookesia brygooi in Kirindy 2017
Brookesia brygooi in Isalo 2017
Brookesia brygooi in Isalo 2017
Brookesia brygooi in Isalo 2017
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-16 je 500 Tiere und 2017 erstmals 1000 Tiere, 2018 wieder 500 Tiere zum legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia brygooi

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Kirindy forest: -20.268961, 44.345627
Isalo: -22.417376, 45.288391
Zombitse-Vohibasia: -22.886100, 44.691400
Tsingy de Bemaraha: -19.129275, 44.823875
Ankarafantsika: -16.328047, 46.631470
Sept Lacs: -23.498514, 44.217224
Anavelona: -22.662175, 44.165039
Sakaraha: -22.911000, 44.530600

Verbreitung:

Diese Art kommt im Westen Madagaskars vor, wo sie von Ankarafantsika bis in den Süden nach Isalo, Sakaraha und Zombitse-Vohibasia verbreitet sind. Wir haben sie bisher am einfachsten im Trockenwald von Kirindy finden können. Die Gegend ist extrem warm und die meisten Monate des Jahres sehr trocken. Die Regenzeit ist teils auf nur drei Monate begrenzt. Brookesia brygooi haben wir noch nie höher als 50 cm über dem Boden gefunden, tagsüber scheinen sie ausschließlich auf der Erde und im Laub unterwegs zu sein. Besonders die Jungtiere schlafen oft verhältnismäßig exponiert auf dünnen, gerade mal 10 cm hohen Grashalmen am Wegesrand.

Aussehen & Größe:

Brookesia brygooi gehört zu den Erdchamäleons. Beide Geschlechter werden von der Nasen- bis zur Schwanzspitze etwa 8 cm lang. Sie tragen keinen Rückenkamm, aber 10 paarige seitliche Fortsätze entlang des Rückens, die sich nicht über den Schwanz fortsetzen. Am Kinn tragen sie keine Kegelschuppen. Das Hüftschild ist sehr gut ausgebildet und hat eine typische, leicht zum Schwanz hin geneigte Form. Zwischen Nase und Augen tragen die Tiere einen auffälligen Fortsatz. Im Folgenden findest du Fotos von Jungtieren der Art.

Besonderheiten:

Die Erdchamäleons in Isalo, die zur Zeit noch als Brookesia brygooi bezeichnet werden, stellen wahrscheinlich eine eigene Art dar. Eine Publikation dazu mit genetischen Untersuchungen steht jedoch noch aus. Möglicherweise sind auch noch weitere momentan als Brookesia brygooi bezeichnete Tiere eigene Arten.

Inkubation der Eier:

Die Eier werden unter Laub, in Moos oder an Rindenstücke abgelegt. Nach 52-71 Tagen schlüpfen die Jungtiere.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 28 28 28 28 25 23 23 24 26 28 29 28
Minimale Temperatur 23 22 23 22 18 16 15 16 19 21 22 23
Maximale Temperatur 33 33 33 33 33 31 31 32 33 35 35 34
Regentage 16 12 6 1 1 0 0 0 1 1 2 9

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Kirindy ist vor allem eines: Heiß. In der Trockenzeit von April bis September regnet es nur selten und kurz. Der Trockenwald wird kahl und nur wenig Grün überlebt. Es wird tagsüber brütend heiß, nachts sinkt die Temperatur jedoch deutlich nach unten und kann auch gut mal 15°C und kälter erreichen. Dieser massive Temperatursturz über Nacht ist typisch für die Gegend und nur in der Trockenzeit vorhanden.

Während der Regenzeit von Oktober bis März lebt der Wald auf: Es regnet mehrfach am Tag, die Bäume und Pflanzen beginnen zu blühen und zu sprießen. Alles wird grün und lebendig. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit ist entsprechend hoch. Es ist jetzt tags noch etwas heißer als in der Trockenzeit. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen während der Regenzeit allerdings nur um wenige Grad.

2017 UVI Kirindy

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Kirindy verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia brygooi zur Regenzeit in Isalo und Kirindy. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Sowohl Isalo als auch Kirindy sind Trockenwälder mit nicht besonders hohen, schlanken Bäumen. Das ganze Jahr über bedeckt eine dicke Laubschicht den teils sandigen Erdboden. Ameisen -und Termitennester sind zu Hauf vor allem in Kirindy zu finden. Das Unterholz, das Brookesia brygooi bewohnt, besteht vor allem aus dünnen Ästen und wenigen kleinen, schmalen Gräsern.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Kirindy, die wir während der Regenzeit aufgenommen haben. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald von Kirindy, Region Menabe, West-Madagaskar März 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove