Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Fieldguides for Madagascar

Fieldguides für Madagaskar Montagne dAmbre
Fieldguides für Madagaskar Marojejy
Fieldguides für Madagaskar Ankarafantsika

There are guides in many national parks and reserves in Madagascar who would like to learn more about reptiles. Unfortunately, there is a lack of literature on the island. The only large field guide about amphibians and reptiles costs about 50 € and is from 2007, but since then countless new species have been described, all of which are missing in the old field guide. However, an updated version of the field guide is not expected in the next few years. So what to do?

Alex clarified this relatively quickly for herself: She compiled the additions for the field guide herself, working for hours in the evening. The whole thing was then formatted appropriately, equipped with photos, reduced in size, printed out, cut to size and then glued into the “old” field guide in the appropriate places. It takes about 6 hours to glue in each field guide alone. We didn’t count how long it took to write the additions… In the end, a single field guide, updated by hand, existed at the beginning of 2015.

Fieldguides

Ines and Steffi helping to update fieldguides

The idea for the project “Fieldguides for Madagascar” was born on a trip to Marojejy in the north-east of Madagascar in the same year. The guides on site tried extremely hard to show us as many reptiles as possible. In the evening, Alex’s field guide, filled with dozens of handwritten notes and updates, came to the table to identify all the animals found. And then suddenly it was gone – because the guides had borrowed it to copy by hand all the new species they didn’t know yet with a tiny, broken-off pencil and individual pages of paper from an old notebook. It quickly became clear that such a field guide would be worth its weight in gold! Finally Alex gave away her own field guide to Mosesy, one of the best guides in Marojejy. And he was speechless when he really held the book in his hands. The joy and pride about this gift was immense. Thus the idea was born to provide other interested guides with an updated field guide.

Since then we have been asking friends and acquaintances to donate a used field guide for this project or give away their own for a good cause. In fact, some field guides already came together and with the help of good friends we were able to provide them with all updates one by one. In 2017 the first updated field guides could be given away: In Isalo, Kirindy, Ankarafantsika, Andasibe and Amber Mountain. The gifted guides were incredibly pleased, and one or the other counts the book among his most valuable possessions. This is probably the biggest thank you we can get with this project.

…so if you also have an old field guide “too much”, we will gladly take it!

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Startseite / Madagaskar / Fieldguides für Madagaskar

Fieldguides für Madagaskar

Es gibt auf Madagaskar in vielen Nationalparks und Reservaten Guides, die sich gerne in Sachen Reptilien fortbilden würden. Leider mangelt es dafür an Literatur auf der Insel. Der einzige große Fieldguide über Amphibien und Reptilien kostet rund 50 € (auf Madagaskar sehr viel Geld) und ist von 2007. In den letzten zehn Jahren sind jedoch unzählige neue Arten beschrieben worden, die dem alten Fieldguide alle fehlen. Eine aktualisierte Variante des Fieldguides von 2007 ist in den nächsten Jahren jedoch nicht zu erwarten. Was also tun?

Präparation von Fieldguides – zu dritt geht alles schneller. Danke an Ines und Steffi!

Alex hat das relativ schnell für sich selbst geklärt: Sie hat die Ergänzungen für den Fieldguide in stundenlanger Arbeit abends selbst zusammengetragen. Das Ganze wurde dann passend formatiert, mit Fotos bestückt, verkleinert, ausgedruckt, zugeschnitten und dann in den „alten“ Fieldguide an den passenden Stellen eingeklebt. Pro Fieldguide dauert allein das Einkleben rund 6 Stunden. Wie lange es gedauert hat, die Ergänzungen zu schreiben, haben wir gar nicht gezählt… letztlich existierte also Anfang 2015 ein einzelner, von Hand aktualisierter Fieldguide.

Die Idee zu dem Projekt „Fieldguides für Madagaskar“ entstand dann auf einer Reise nach Marojejy im Nordosten Madagaskars im gleichen Jahr. Die Guides vor Ort waren extrem bemüht, uns möglichst viele Reptilien zu zeigen. Abends kam Alex‘ Fieldguide, gefüllt mit zig handschriftlichen Notizen und Updates, auf den Tisch, um alle gefundenen Tiere zu bestimmen. Und dann war er plötzlich weg – denn die Guides hatten ihn sich geliehen, um mit Bleistift und Notizbuch all die neuen Arten abzuschreiben, die sie noch nicht kannten. Schnell wurde klar: Hier wäre ein solcher Fieldguide Gold wert! Letztlich verschenkte Alex ihren eigenen Fieldguide an Mosesy, einem der besten Guides vor Ort. Und der war sprachlos, als er das Buch dann wirklich in den Händen hielt. Die Freude und der Stolz über dieses Geschenk waren riesig. Damit war die Idee geboren, auch anderen interessierten Guides einen aktualisierten Fieldguide zukommen zu lassen.

Ndrema in Ankarafantsika mit Alex sowie Ines und Chrissi, die diesen Fieldguide gesponsert haben

Seitdem fragen wir bei Freunden und Bekannten herum, wer einen gebrauchten Fieldguide für dieses Projekt spendieren oder seinen eigenen für einen guten Zweck verschenken möchten. Tatsächlich kamen bereits einige zusammen, die wir mit Hilfe guter Freunde nach und nach mit allen Updates versehen konnten. 2017 konnten die ersten aktualisierten Fieldguides verschenkt werden: In Isalo, Kirindy, Ankarafantsika, Andasibe und im Montagne d’Ambre. Die beschenkten Guides freuten sich unglaublich, und der ein oder andere zählt das Buch zu seinen wertvollsten Besitztümern. Das ist wahrscheinlich das größte Dankeschön, was wir mit diesem Projekt erreichen können.

…falls also auch du einen alten Fiedguide „zuviel“ hast, wir nehmen ihn gerne!

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Kommentare sind geschlossen.

Nach oben scrollen