Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Outdoor enclosures

Außengehege

Many chameleon species can be kept outside in Europe at least temporarily. Chameleons, like many other reptiles, benefit greatly from the real solar radiation, various weather influences and the natural temperature development in outdoor enclosures. They become more active on the balcony, terrace and in the garden, show their colouring much better and mate easier. There are a few things to consider when it comes to outdoor enclosures, which is why we have written this article. Above in the picture: On the left a usable outdoor enclosure, the right enclosure has to be greened before use.

The enclosure itself

Terrariums made entirely of aluminium gauze or cage grids are best suited as outdoor enclosures for keeping chameleons. Closed terrariums with glass panes can heat up very quickly in the sun and prevent the vital UVB radiation. Therefore, indoor terrariums are unsuitable for most outdoor purposes. The enclosure itself should be equipped with plenty of branches and living plants. Concerning the size one can orient oneself at the terrarium measurements inside. The larger, the more practical. Whoever has large chameleons or wants to have walk-in enclosures will not get around DIY enclosures. For smaller chameleon species or young animals there are various ready-made outdoor enclosures, commercially available online or in pet stores. We would like to present some variants and our experience with them in the following.

RepTerraX Screen Cage

Our absolute recommendation for holders of small and medium-sized chameleon species: The Screen Cages from RepTerraX. They are made of aluminium profiles covered with aluminium gauze. The profiles are well built and use a simple construction: You simply insert them into each other. This way you can disassemble the enclosure later if you don’t need it in winter. Through the black gauze you can see into the enclosure very well. 2/3 of the front surface serves as door. The screen cages have proven to be very stable, rust-free and easy to clean.

ReptiBreeze

ReptiBreeze are made by Zoo Med and consist of plastic profiles with metal gauze. The construction takes place with many small screws (in the building market there is a replacement in case of need), a dismantling and reconstruction is possible several times. Through the black gauze the view into the enclosure is good, about 2/3 of the front serve as door. In our experience ReptiBreeze are relatively stable, but not designed for years of outdoor use. Earlier models soon began to rust, but this problem should have been solved by now. A good alternative for chameleon enclosures on balconies or terraces that aren’t used permanently.

Flexariums

Flexariums from ExoTerra are nylon nets that are pulled over a plastic tube frame. They are easy to assemble and easy to transport. Due to the light weight and the zippers used to open it, however, we have come to know Flexariums as a rather wobbly and instable. The view through the nylon fabric is slightly darker than with metal gauze. We therefore regard flexariums as an inexpensive solution for temporary accommodation of chameleons or only for an hourly stay in the open air.

Aviaries

Bird aviaries are another alternative, especially for large chameleons. Indoor aviaries or bird cages are generally very susceptible to rust and are therefore not suitable for use. Ready-to-use, stainless external aviaries or lattice elements for construction are available in all sizes and shapes. Most of them are made of metal, very stable and designed for permanent outdoor use. Of course, they are correspondingly cost-intensive. It is important not to choose aviaries with wire or too large grid spacings (see Safety) and to make sure that the door openings are generous so that the chameleon can be easily caught out again.

DIY enclosures

A little more effort is a self-built enclosure, but you can design it exactly according to your own wishes and ideas. The proven aluminium profiles for terrariums offer stainless construction possibilities. You can also screw wooden frames together and paint them rainproof. Again, it is important not to use wire mesh or rabbit mesh, but gauze. Designing the majority of a side of the enclosure as a door makes it easier to reach into the enclosure and use it later.

 

Whether an enclosure needs to be covered depends mainly on the size and planting of the enclosure. Basically it is good for chameleons to sit in a rain shower in warm temperatures. Usually it even encourages them to drink. But also in nature, chameleons seek protection from the rain under dense canopies. So, for example, if you have low-stemmed fruit trees or dense bushes in a large outdoor enclosure that provide good protection, you do not need a roof over the enclosure. If the enclosure is less densely overgrown or rather small, a partial roofing can be helpful.

Location

The location of the enclosure should be well thought out. It is easiest to find a place in the garden: it is best to look for a place near a tree or big bush, which casts shade on 2/3 of the enclosure, and leaves almost 1/3 sunny places to warm up. On a balcony or terrace with free-standing enclosures you have to do some tricks and, if necessary, place a few bushes, palm trees or a small tree next to it in order to obtain sufficient shady areas. Sometimes a sun sail can also help. On balconies at lofty heights, one should also always think of a location protected from the wind.

Außengehege im Garten

Outdoor enclosures in the garden

And be careful – the sun wanders through the day! Sounds self-evident, but is often not considered. An enclosure that is in an unfavourable position can stand in the shade in the morning, but completely unprotected in the sun at noon. During the first test runs you should therefore supervise the chameleon and the enclosure in order to be able to make corrections or choose another location if in doubt.

Temperatures

In general, suitable temperatures should be taken into account – re-measuring is better than estimating. Chameleons, like all reptiles, can overheat when exposed to high temperatures and suffer frost damage at low temperatures. Overheated chameleons become very bright in colour, open their mouths and sometimes even walk around on the floor to find cooler places.

A thermometer in the sun area of the enclosure and one in the shade help to find the right location and the right time of year for outdoor time. It is best to measure during the day and at night to find out maximum, average and minimum temperatures. These can then be compared with the temperatures in the natural habitat. As a general rule, species found in the Madagascan highlands should not necessarily be exposed to the sun above 30°C in midsummer. A panther chameleon, on the other hand, which comes from the northwest coast, lives well in the shade with temperatures around 30°C, but does not want to come below 10°C at night. Chameleons also do well outdoors for hours – provided that the animals are used to handling. If the temperatures are right, chameleons can stay out in the enclosure overnight.

Chameleon enclosures should also be regularly sprayed with water outside, by hand or with the help of a rain system. If you want to lower the temperatures in the enclosure, wet towels and hourly spraying can also help. A dripper allows the chameleon to drink at will.

Safety in outdoor enclosures

Parsons Chamäleon im Außengehege

Young Parson‘s chameleon in its outdoor enclosure

If the enclosure is to stand in the garden, it is advisable to secure the ground with grids (buried or fixed to the ground). Otherwise martens or rats can dig into the enclosure from below and in the worst case seriously injure the chameleon. Rats are everywhere and not only in supposedly dirty or dilapidated residential areas. Even if you hardly see them during the day, they can still be around at night in the neighbourhood and in your own garden.

If you choose wide meshed grids for enclosure construction, insects as potential prey are more likely to enter the enclosure of the chameleon. Likewise, however, free-range cats, crows and other predators can injure chameleons more easily in wide- and soft-meshed enclosures. In this case, it may be considered to place a second wire mesh in some distance around the enclosure to prevent any interference. The potential risk of injury to the chameleon must also be taken into account if the wire is wide-meshed (depending on the tongue size of the chameleon) and coarse. It has happened that chameleons have shot through of rabbit wire to reach an insect, but seriously injured their tongues in retreat.

Heavy, large chameleon species also occasionally injure their feet on wires – therefore please pay attention to not sharp-edged wires and if necessary thicker variants for larger chameleon feet. You have to adjust the mesh size to the animal and especially its tongue size – for panther chameleons and larger species mesh sizes below 2 cm should be unproblematic. If enclosures are left unattended in the garden and children play nearby, it makes sense to install a small lock. Most enclosures are quickly opened, and the chameleon warmed up in the sun quickly disappears. Finally, of course, but we’ll mention it again anyway: If thunderstorms were announced, it’s safer to bring chameleons into their terrariums inside. Most enclosures do not offer too much area for wind to attack due to the gauze, but can be damaged by hail or may “take off” in a gust of storm.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Außenhaltung im Sommer

Außengehege

Viele Chamäleon-Arten kann man in Deutschland zumindest zeitweise draußen halten. Chamäleons profitieren wie viele andere Reptilien sehr von der echten Sonnenstrahlung, verschiedenen Wettereinflüssen und dem natürlichen Temperaturverlauf in Außengehegen. Sie werden auf Balkon, Terrasse und im Garten aktiver, zeigen ihre bunte Färbung wesentlich besser und kommen leichter in Paarungsstimmung. Ein paar Dinge gibt es bei der Außenhaltung zu bedenken, weshalb wir diesen Artikel verfasst haben. Oben im Bild: Links ein nutzbares Außengehege, das rechte Gehege muss vor dem Einsatz noch begrünt werden.

Das Gehege selbst

Als Außengehege für die Chamäleonhaltung eignen sich am besten Terrarien, die vollständig aus Alugaze oder Käfiggitter bestehen. Geschlossene Terrarien mit Glasscheiben können sich bei Sonneneinstrahlung sehr schnell aufheizen und halten die lebenswichtige UVB-Strahlung ab. Daher sind Terrarien  aus der Wohnung für die meisten Außenhaltungen ungeeignet. Das Gehege selbst sollte wie in der Innenhaltung auch mit reichlich Ästen und lebenden Pflanzen ausgestattet sein. Bei der Größe kann man sich an den Terrarienmaßen drinnen orientieren. Auch draußen gilt: Je größer, desto praktischer. Wer große Chamäleons hält oder begehbare Gehege möchte, wird um’s selbst basteln nicht herumkommen. Für kleinere Chamäleonarten oder Jungtiere gibt es verschiedene fertige Außengehege. Einige Varianten und unsere Erfahrungen damit möchten wir im Folgenden vorstellen.

RepTerraX Screen Cage

Für Halter von kleinen und mittelgroßen Chamäleonarten unsere absolute Empfehlung: Die Screen Cages von RepTerraX. Sie bestehen aus Aluminiumprofilen, die mit Alugaze bezogen sind. Die Profile sind sauber verarbeitet und glänzen durch einfachen Aufbau: Man steckt sie einfach ineinander. So kann man das Gehege später auch wieder auseinander bauen, sollte man es im Winter nicht benötigen. Durch die schwarze Alugaze kann man prima in das Gehege hinein schauen. Als Tür dienen 2/3 der Frontfläche. Die Screen Cages haben sich bei uns als sehr stabil erwiesen, sind rostfrei und leicht zu reinigen.

ReptiBreeze

ReptiBreeze werden von Zoo Med hergestellt und bestehen aus Plastikprofilen mit Metallgaze. Der Aufbau erfolgt mit vielen kleinen Schräubchen (im Baumarkt gibt es zur Not Ersatz), ein Ab- und Wiederaufbau ist mehrfach möglich. Durch die schwarze Gaze ist die Einsicht ins Gehege gut, etwa 2/3 der Front dienen als Tür. ReptiBreeze sind unserer Erfahrung nach relativ stabil, allerdings nicht für den jahrelangen Außengebrauch konzipiert. Frühere Modelle fingen bald an zu rosten, dieses Problem soll aber inzwischen behoben worden sein. Eine gute Alternative für Chamäleongehege auf Balkon oder Terrasse, die nicht ewig/dauerhaft benutzt werden sollen.

Flexarien

Flexarien von ExoTerra sind Nylonnetze, die man über ein Gestell aus Plastikrohren zieht. Sie sind leicht aufzubauen und gut zu transportieren. Durch das leichte Gewicht und die zum Öffnen genutzte Reißverschlüsse haben wir Flexarien jedoch als eher wackelige, Problem anfällige Angelegenheit kennengelernt. Die Einsicht durch das Nylongewebe ist etwas dunkler als bei Metallgaze. Wir betrachten Flexarien daher vor allem als günstige Lösung für eine vorübergehende Unterbringung von Chamäleons oder lediglich zum stundenweisen Aufenthalt im Freien.

Vogelvolieren

Vogelvolieren sind eine weitere Alternative, besonders für große Chamäleons. Innenvolieren bzw. Vogelkäfige sind in der Regel sehr rostanfällig und daher nicht zu gebrauchen. Fertige, rostfreie Außenvolieren oder Gitterelemente für den Bau gibt es in allen Größen und Formen. Die meisten sind aus Metall, sehr stabil und für den dauerhaften Außeneinsatz konzipiert. Dafür sind sie natürlich auch entsprechend kostenintensiv. Wichtig ist, keine Volieren mit Draht oder zu großen Gitterabständen zu wählen (siehe Sicherheit) und auf großzügige Türöffnungen zu achten, damit man das Chamäleon auch problemlos wieder heraus fangen kann.

Selbstbauten

Ein bisschen mehr Aufwand ist ein selbst gebautes Gehege schon, aber dafür kann man es genau nach den eigenen Wünschen und Ideen gestalten. Die für Terrarien bewährten Aluprofile bieten rostfreie Baumöglichkeiten. Genauso kann man Holzgestelle zusammenschrauben und diese regentauglich lackieren.  Auch hier ist es wichtig, keinen Maschendraht und kein Kaninchengitter zu verwenden, sondern Alugaze. Den Großteil einer Gehegeseite als Tür zu konzipieren erleichtert das Hineingreifen ins Gehege und damit die spätere Nutzung.

 

Ob ein Gehege überdacht werden muss, hängt vor allem von Größe und Bepflanzung des Geheges ab. Grundsätzlich tut es Chamäleons bei warmen Temperaturen gut, auch mal in einem Regenschauer zu sitzen. Meist animiert sie das sogar zum Trinken. Aber auch in der Natur suchen Chamäleons Schutz vor dem Regen unter dichten Blätterdächern. Hat man also beispielsweise in einem großen Außengehege niedrigstämmige Obstbäume oder dichte Büsche, die guten Schutz bieten, benötigt man kein Dach über dem Gehege. Ist das Gehege weniger dicht bewachsen oder eher klein ausgefallen, kann eine teilweise Überdachung hilfreich sein.

Standort

Der Standort des Geheges sollte gut durchdacht werden. Im Garten ist es am einfachsten: Hier sucht man sich am besten einen Platz nahe eines Baums oder großen Busches, der Schatten auf 2/3 des Geheges wirft, und knapp 1/3 Sonnenplätze zum Aufwärmen lässt. Auf Balkon oder Terrasse mit freistehenden Gehegen muss man etwas tricksen und gegebenenfalls noch ein paar Sträucher, Palmen oder einen kleinen Baum daneben stellen, um ausreichend schattige Bereiche zu erhalten. Manchmal kann auch ein Sonnensegel helfen. Auf Balkonen in luftigen Höhen sollte man außerdem immer an einen windgeschützten Standort denken.

Außengehege im Garten

Außengehege im Garten

Und Vorsicht – die Sonne wandert über den Tag! Klingt eigentlich selbstverständlich, wird aber oft nicht bedacht. Ein Gehege, das ungünstig steht, kann morgens im Schatten, aber am Mittag komplett ungeschützt in der Sonne stehen. Bei den ersten Testläufen sollte man also Chamäleon und Gehege beaufsichtigen, um im Zweifel noch nachbessern oder einen anderen Standort wählen zu können.

Temperaturen

Generell sollte auf passende Temperaturen geachtet werden – nachmessen ist dabei besser als schätzen. Chamäleons können wie alle Reptilien überhitzen, wenn sie zu hohen Temperaturen ausgesetzt sind, und Frostschäden bei zu niedrigen Temperaturen davontragen. Überhitzte Chamäleons werden farblich sehr hell, öffnen das Maul und laufen teils sogar auf dem Boden herum, um kühlere Plätze zu finden.

Ein Thermometer im Sonnenbereich des Geheges und eines im Schatten helfen, den richtigen Standort und die richtige Jahreszeit für die Außenhaltung herauszufinden. Man misst am besten am Tag und in der Nacht, um jeweils Maximal-, Durchschnitts- und Minimaltemperaturen herauszufinden. Diese kann man dann mit den Temperaturen im natürlichen Lebensraum vergleichen. Grundsätzlich gilt: Arten, die im madagassischen Hochland vorkommen, sollten nicht unbedingt im Hochsommer bei über 30°C in der Sonne stehen. Ein Pantherchamäleon dagegen, das von der Nordwestküste kommt, lebt mit Temperaturen um 30°C im Schatten gut, möchte dafür aber nachts nicht unter 10°C kommen. Auch stundenweise Aufenthalte im Freien tun Chamäleons gut – vorausgesetzt, dass die Tiere Handling gewöhnt sind. Passen die Temperaturen, können Chamäleons auch wunderbar über Nacht im Gehege draußen bleiben.

Auch draußen sollten Chamäleon-Gehege regelmäßig mit Wasser besprüht werden, per Hand oder mit Hilfe einer Regenanlage. Möchte man die Temperaturen im Gehege senken, helfen auch nasse Handtücher und stündliches Sprühen. Eine Tropftränke ermöglicht es dem Chamäleon, nach Belieben zu trinken.

Sicherheit beim Außengehege

Parsons Chamäleon im Außengehege

Junges Parsons Chamäleon »“>Parsons Chamäleon im Außengehege

Soll das Gehege im Garten stehen, ist eine Absicherung des Bodens mit Gittern sinnvoll (eingegraben oder auf dem Boden befestigt). Marder oder Ratten können sich sonst von unten ins Gehege buddeln und im schlechtesten Fall das Chamäleon schwer verletzen. Ratten gibt es übrigens überall und nicht nur in  vermeintlich schmutzigen oder herunter gekommenen Wohngegenden. Auch wenn man sie tagsüber so gut wie nicht sieht, können sie in der Nachbarschaft und im eigenen Garten nachts unterwegs sein.

Hat man sich für eher weitmaschige Gitter beim Gehegbau entschieden, kommen Insekten als potenzielle Beutetiere leichter ins Gehege des Chamäleons. Genauso bieten weitmaschige Gehege jedoch auch frei laufenden Katzen, Krähen und anderen Beutegreifern die Möglichkeit, Chamäleons leichter „heraus zu angeln“ oder zu verletzen. In diesem Fall  kann man überlegen, ein zweites Drahtgeflecht mit einigem Abstand rund um das Gehege anzubringen, so dass jeglicher Eingriff verhindert wird. Bei weitmaschigem, grobem Gehegedraht ist außerdem die potenzielle Verletzungsgefahr für das Chamäleon zu berücksichtigen. Es ist schon vorgekommen, dass Chamäleons durch sehr weitmaschigen Draht durchgeschossen haben, um ein Insekt zu erreichen, sich aber die Zunge beim Zurückziehen schwer verletzten. Hier muss man die Maschenweite an das Tier und vor allem seine Zungengröße anpassen – bei Pantherchamäleons und größeren Arten sollten Maschengrößen unter 2 cm unproblematisch sein. Schwere, große Chamäleonarten verletzten sich an Drähten immer mal wieder die Füße, man sollte daher auf scharfkantigen Draht und besonders dünne Varianten bei großen Chamäleonfüßen eher verzichten.

Stehen Gehege unbeaufsichtigt im Garten und spielen Kinder in der Nähe, ist die Anbringung eines kleinen Schlosses oder einer anderen Absicherung sinnvoll. Die meisten Gehege sind schnell geöffnet, und das in der Sonne aufgewärmte Chamäleon entsprechend schnell verschwunden. Zuletzt ganz selbstverständlich, aber wir erwähnen es trotzdem nochmal: Sind Unwetter angekündigt, ist es sicherer, Chamäleons in ihre Terrarien nach drinnen zu bringen. Die meisten Gehege bieten durch die viele Gaze zwar nicht allzu viel Angriffsfläche für Wind, können aber z.B. bei Hagel beschädigt werden oder bei einer Sturmböe doch mal „abheben“.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove