Calumma guillaumeti

CITES quotas
2014-2022 500 animals allowed for legal export each year

First description:

(Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1974)

Origin of the species name:

Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (later working at the Natural History Museum in Paris, France), Charles Pierre Blanc and Charles Antoine Domergue from the then Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar, dedicated the species to their colleague Jean-Louis Guillaumet. Among other things, the French Botanist dealt with the flora of Madagascar and wrote a number of publications about the island. He worked at the Natural History Museum in Paris.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma guillaumeti

loading map - please wait...

Marojejy: -14.426028, 49.683554
Anjanaharibe-Sud: -14.714910, 49.469855
Tsaratanana: -13.920784, 48.844080
Bemanevika: -14.303435, 48.772430

Distribution:

Calumma guillaumeti is known from three different rainforests in the north and northeast of Madagascar. These are, on the one hand, the two national parks Marojejy and Anjanaharibe-Sud, and on the other hand, the Tsaratanana Mountains. All three places are poorly accessible and hardly visited by travelers. Calumma guillaumeti can only be found from an average altitude of about 1300 m, in Marojejy we discovered it already a bit below that at about 1000 m above sea level between Camp Marojejya and Camp Simpona. A single juvenile we found even lower, namely in Camp Marojejya at about 775 m. But also the ascent there is incredibly strenuous, accordingly few photos of the species exist. In places, the species occurs in Marojejy sympatric with Calumma marojezense.

Appearance and size:

Venter coloration in Calumma guillaumeti

Calumma guillaumeti belongs to the small chameleon species. Both sexes reach up to 12 centimeters from nose to tail tip, most females remain slightly smaller at 10 cm. They carry neither throat nor ventral crest. Instead, a small dorsal crest is present in the anterior dorsal region, which distinguishes the species from Calumma marojezense and Calumma vencesi. The dorsal crest can even be used to distinguish juveniles of Calumma guillaumeti and Calumma marojezense. Both sexes are green colored. The males bear a yellow lateral stripe, above and below which several white dots are visible. They also have blue-rimmed eyelids and a line, also blue, extends from the tip of the nose on both sides of the head to the casque. In females, this stripe is simply dark in color. In addition, females either lack the lateral stripe altogether or it is only very delicately indicated. The number of white spots on the sides is variable. Calumma guillaumeti bears a broad red ventral stripe flanked on both sides by a narrow white line.

The following photo shows the young of Calumma guillaumeti from Camp Marojejya.

Good to know:

Because of the great similarity, the species was initially thought to be a subspecies of Calumma gastrotaenia. It was not until 1997 that the German herpetologist Wolfgang Böhme, then deputy director of the Museum Alexander König in Bonn, elevated Calumma guillaumeti to species status.

Weight table

Weibchen = females, Männchen = males, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length, Gewicht = weight

Since 2022 we have been measuring the weights of Calumma guillaumeti found on Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) cooperate. In the long run, average weight in relation to the head-torso length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) for the species should be obtained from as many measurements as possible. That is, unfortunately, not too much can be gleaned from the current tables yet, but they can be the first guide. It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so they should be maximum weights on Madagascar. Triangular symbols for females mean not pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 26 26 25 25 23 23 22 23 24 25 26
Minimum temperature 24 24 23 23 22 21 20 19 20 21 22 24
Maximum temperature 30 29 29 29 28 27 25 25 25 27 28 30
Rain days 28 23 27 22 24 21 20 18 23 22 16 25

Marojejy mainly consists of rainforest that extends over the eponymic sacred mountain at elevations of 200 to maximally 2100 m above sea level. In the highest areas, climate is cool and vegetation sparse, but most chameleons live in the warmer dense rainforest below. Marojejy has different altitude levels, each with its own species living in its own climate. In the lowest altitude level it is very warm and humid, in the middle and high altitudes it becomes a little cooler, but not less humid.

In Marojejy, there is few difference between rainy and dry season. Humidity is always very, very high. In the rainy season, precipitation is more intense with rainfalls that may last for days and sometimes are accompagnied by heavy storms. In the dry season, temperatures are a little lower, but it never becomes really cold. And it still rains almost daily. It really cannot become dry in Marojejy during "dry" season. Humidity is the main key factor of this rainforest. In 2022, we measured relative humidity on various days during the rainy season, and the data can be found below.

2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy 2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy
2022 UVI Marojejy2022 UVI Marojejy 2015 UVI Marojejy

Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March until beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Marojejy available yet.

Since 2022, in addition to other climate data, we have been measuring air pressure at the locations we visit in Madagascar. The following data is from different days during the rainy season. On the X-axis is the time of day or night. In Madagascar, the day begins around 6 a.m., and night falls at 6 p.m. The Y-axis shows the atmospheric pressure in hPa.

2022 Luftdruck Marojejy 2022 Luftdruck Marojejy

Habitat:

The following photos show sections of the habitat of Calumma guillaumeti during the rainy season in Marojejy. The rainforest of Marojejy is located in a mountain range that consists almost entirely of ravines and steep slopes. At the altitude where Calumma guillaumeti occurs, the forest is crossed by many small streams. Many ancient giant trees are covered with endless moss. The undergrowth is very dense. The soil is earthy and interspersed with countless rocks.

Below you can find some 360° images from Marojejy. With the mouse, you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the images will open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to run the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun watching!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma guillaumeti

CITES-Quoten
2014-2022 jedes Jahr 500 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

(Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1974)

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Édouard-Raoul Brygoo (später tätig im Naturhistorischen Museum Paris, Frankreich), Charles Pierre Blanc und Charles Antoine Domergue vom damaligen Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar widmeten die Art ihrem Kollegen Jean-Louis Guillaumet. Der französische Botaniker beschäftigte sich unter anderem mit der Flora Madagaskars und schrieb eine Reihe von Veröffentlichungen über die Insel. Er arbeitete am Naturhistorischen Museum Paris.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma guillaumeti

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Marojejy: -14.426028, 49.683554
Anjanaharibe-Sud: -14.714910, 49.469855
Tsaratanana: -13.920784, 48.844080
Bemanevika: -14.303435, 48.772430

Verbreitung:

Calumma guillaumeti ist aus drei verschiedenen Regenwäldern im Norden und Nordosten Madagaskars bekannt. Dabei handelt es sich zum einen um die beiden Nationalparks Marojejy und Anjanaharibe-Sud, zum anderen um das Tsaratanana-Gebirge. Alle drei Orte sind nur schlecht zugänglich und werden kaum von Reisenden besucht. Calumma guillaumeti ist erst ab einer mittleren Höhe von rund 1300 m zu finden, in Marojejy haben wir sie bereits etwas darunter auf rund 1000 m über NN zwischen Camp Marojejya und Camp Simpona entdeckt. Ein einzelnes Jungtier haben wir noch niedriger, nämlich in Camp Marojejya auf etwa 775 m, gefunden. Aber auch der Aufstieg „nur“ dorthin ist unglaublich anstrengend, entsprechend wenige Fotos der Art existieren. Stellenweise kommt die Art in Marojejy sympatrisch mit Calumma marojezense vor.

Aussehen und Größe:

Bauchzeichnung bei Calumma guillaumeti

Calumma guillaumeti gehört zu den kleinen Chamäleonarten. Beide Geschlechter erreichen von Nasen- bis Schwanzspitze bis zu 12 Zentimeter, die meisten Weibchen bleiben mit 10 cm etwas kleiner. Sie tragen weder Kehl- noch Bauchkamm. Dafür ist ein kleiner Rückenkamm im vorderen Rückenbereich vorhanden, der die Art von Calumma marojezense und Calumma vencesi unterscheidet. Durch den Rückenkamm kann man sogar schon Jungtiere von Calumma guillaumeti und Calumma marojezense unterscheiden. Beide Geschlechter sind grün gefärbt. Die Männchen tragen einen gelben Lateralstreifen, über und unter dem mehrere weiße Punkte sichtbar sind. Sie haben außerdem blau umrandete Augenlider und eine ebenfalls blaue Linie reicht von der Nasenspitze auf beiden Seiten des Kopfes bis zum Helm. Bei den Weibchen ist dieser Streifen einfach dunkel gefärbt. Außerde fehlt den Weibchen der Lateralstreifen entweder ganz oder er ist nur ganz zart angedeutet. Die Zahl der weißen Punkte auf den Seiten ist variabel. Calumma guillaumeti trägt einen breiten roten Bauchstreifen, der auf beiden Seiten von einer schmalen weißen Linie flankiert ist.

Das folgende Foto zeigt das Jungtier von Calumma guillaumeti aus Camp Marojejya.

Besonderheiten:

Wegen der großen Ähnlichkeit hielt man die Art zunächst für eine Unterart von Calumma gastrotaenia. Erst 1997 erhob der deutsche Herpetologe Wolfgang Böhme, damals stellvertretender Direktor des Museums Alexander König in Bonn, Calumma guillaumeti in den Artstatus.

Gewichtstabelle

Seit 2022 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Calumma guillaumeti auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für die Art ablesen lassen. Das heißt, aus den aktuellen Tabellen lässt sich leider noch nicht allzuviel herauslesen, sie können jedoch ein erster Anhaltspunkt sein. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 26 26 26 25 25 23 23 22 23 24 25 26
Minimale Temperatur 24 24 23 23 22 21 20 19 20 21 22 24
Maximale Temperatur 30 29 29 29 28 27 25 25 25 27 28 30
Regentage 28 23 27 22 24 21 20 18 23 22 16 25

Marojejy besteht vorwiegend aus einem Regenwald, der sich über das gleichnamige heilige Gebirge auf Höhen von 200 bis maximal 2100 m über Meeresniveau erstreckt. In den höchsten Gebieten ist das Klima kühl und die Vegetation karg, die meisten Chamäleons leben jedoch im wärmeren Regenwald darunter. Marojejy verfügt über verschiedene Höhenstufen, auf der jeweils eigene Arten in einem eigenen Klima leben. In der niedrigsten Höhenstufe ist es sehr warm und feucht, in den mittleren und höhen Lagen wird es etwas kühler, aber nicht weniger feucht.

In Marojejy gibt es nur wenig Unterschied zwischen Regen- und Trockenzeit. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit ist stetig sehr, sehr hoch. In der Regenzeit sind die Niederschläge ergiebiger, halten oft Tage an und gehen ab und zu mit schweren Stürmen einher. In der Trockenzeit liegen die Temperaturen etwas niedriger, richtig kalt wird es jedoch nie und es regnet immernoch fast täglich. Und trocken wird es in der Trockenzeit in Marojejy auch nicht. 2022 haben wir die relative Luftfeuchtigkeit an verschiedenen Tagen in der Regenzeit gemessen, die Daten finden sich im Folgenden.

2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy 2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 in der Regenzeit, Ende März und Mitte April, zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

2022 UVI Marojejy2022 UVI Marojejy 2015 UVI Marojejy
Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Marojejy verfügbar.

Seit 2022 messen wir zusätzlich zu anderen Klimadaten auch den Luftdruck an den von uns besuchten Orten auf Madagaskar. Die folgenden Daten stammen von verschiedenen Tagen während der Regenzeit. Auf der X-Achse befindet sich die Tages- oder Nachtzeit. Auf Madagaskar beginnt der Tag gegen 6 Uhr, die Nacht bricht bereits um 18 Uhr an. Die Y-Achse zeigt den atmosphärischen Luftdruck in hPa an.

2022 Luftdruck Marojejy 2022 Luftdruck Marojejy

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma guillaumeti zur Regenzeit in Marojejy. Der Regenwald von Marojejy liegt in einem Gebirge, das fast nur aus Schluchten und steilen Hängen besteht. Auf der Höhe, auf der Calumma guillaumeti vorkommt, ist der Wald von vielen kleinen Bächen durchzogen. Viele uralte Baumriesen sind von unendlich viel Moos überzogen. Das Unterholz ist sehr dicht. Der Boden ist erdig und von unzähligen Felsen durchzogen.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Marojejy. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove