Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Calumma amber

Calumma amber
Calumma amber
Calumma amber
Calumma amber
Calumma amber, Weibchen, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma amber, Weibchen, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma amber, Weibchen, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma amber, Weibchen, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma amber, Männchen, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma amber
Calumma amber, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Calumma amber, female, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
Calumma amber, male, Montagne d'Ambre, 2019
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma amber

loading map - please wait...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.609516, 49.163132

Distribution:

Calumma amber is, as the name already suggests, an inhabitant of the evergreen mountain rainforests of Amber Mountain. You can only find them on elevations of 1000-1300 meters above sea leavel. Along the circuits of the national park, we could often find them at head height. In the evening, they are easy to find with a torch at the end of branches around the campground.

Appearance and size:

This chameleons species belongs to the larger chameleons with a total length of about 35 cm. Colouration is a lush green or white with a slightly distinct moss green banding which intensifies in stress situations. Young chameleons of this species are mostly bright green with white marks. Calumma amber has large occipital lobes, that they can brace like elephant ears to look more impressive. In males, nose appendages are well developped and flat, females have only very small noses. Some adult males show yellow areas on their heads as seen in Calumma brevicorne. The following pictures show some young specimen.

Good to know:

Until 2006, Calumma amber was counted among Calumma brevicorne due to high similarity, but was then described as own species.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimum temperature 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximum temperature 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Rain days 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Amber Mountain is an evergreen rainforest which extends over a mountain massif of volcanic origin at elevations between 850 and 1450 m. Due to the height, nights can become rather cold with temperature drops to 10°C.

During rainy season, day temperatures rise to 28°C, in sunny places even warmer. But the average temperature is a little lower. During rainy season, it rains every day for several hours. Simply the way it is in a rainforest. 😉 But also dry season has regular precipitation, just a little shorter. Climate in Amber Mountain is very humid all year long. During dry season, temperatures are somewhat lower with day temperatures up to 25°C.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Amber Mountain available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Calumma amber in Amber Mountain. Some are even from finding places of this species. Amber Mountain is an impressing rainforest full of giant trees with huge, metres broad nest ferns. Everything is full of lianas, moss and lichens. Calumma amber usually climbs on slender branches and prefers shrubs and bushes instead of giant trees.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Amber Mountain that we took in 2017. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Calumma amber

Calumma amber
Calumma amber
Calumma amber
Calumma amber
Calumma amber, Weibchen, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma amber, Weibchen, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma amber, Weibchen, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma amber, Weibchen, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma amber, Männchen, Montagne d'Ambre 2017
Calumma amber
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 2006

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma amber

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.609516, 49.163132

Verbreitung:

Calumma amber ist, wie der Name schon vermuten, lässt in den immergrünen Bergnebelwäldern des Montagne d’Ambre zu finden. Diese Tiere sind überwiegend in Höhen von ca. 1000-1300 Meter über NN unterwegs. Entlang der Waldwege sind sie oft in Kopfhöhe zu entdecken. Abends sind diese Chamäleons mit einer Taschenlampe an den Enden der Äste um den Campground gut aufzufinden.

Aussehen und Größe:

Diese Chamäleonart gehört mit rund 35 cm zu den größeren Chamäleons. Die Färbung ist ein sattes Grün oder Weiß mit einer leicht angedeuteten moosgrünen Bänderung, die bei Stress stärker wird. Jungtiere sind meist hellgrün mit weißen Abzeichen. Auch diese Chamäleons verfügen über große Occipitallappen, die bei Erregung wie Elefantenohren abgespreizt werden, um größer und beeindruckender auszusehen. Bei den Männchen sind ist der Nasenfortsatz stark ausgeprägt und abgeflacht, bei den Weibchen nur angedeutet.  Ausgewachsene Männchen zeigen teilweise ähnlich C. brevicornis gelbe Flächen am Kopf. Im Folgenden findest du einige Fotos von Jungtieren der Art.

Besonderheiten:

Bis zum Jahr 2006 wurde Calumma amber wegen seiner starken Ähnlichkeit zur Art Calumma brevicorne gezählt. Inzwischen sind diese Chamäleons als eigenständige Art anerkannt.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimale Temperatur 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Regentage 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Montagne d'Ambre ist ein immergrüner Regenwald, der sich über ein Bergmassiv vulkanischen Ursprungs in Höhen zwischen 850 und 1450 m ausbreitet. Durch die Höhe wird es hier nachts empfindlich kalt mit Temperaturstürzen bis auf 10°C.

Während der Regenzeit wird es tagsüber bis zu 28°C warm, an Sonnenflecken auch etwas wärmer. Die Durschnittstemperatur liegt allerdings etwas niedriger. Während der Regenzeit schüttet es mehrfach täglich, und auch mal ganze Tage durch. Typisch Regenwald eben 😉 . Aber auch in der Trockenzeit regnet es regelmäßig, wenn auch kürzer und eher in kleinen Schauern. Das Klima im Montagne d'Ambre ist daher das ganze Jahr über feucht. Während der Trockenzeit bleiben die Temperaturen vor allem tagsüber etwas niedriger mit bis zu 25°C.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für den Montagne d'Ambre verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma amber im Montagne d’Ambre. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Der Montagne d’Ambre ist ein beeindruckender Regenwald voller Urwaldriesen, in denen riesige, meterbreite Nestfarne thronen. Alles ist voller Lianen, Moose und Flechten. Calumma amber ist meist auf schlanken Ästen unterwegs, und bevorzugt statt riesigen Bäumen eher große Sträucher und kleine Bäumchen.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus dem Montagne d’Ambre. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove