Tongue test behavior

In Madagascar, you can observe it quite often: The so-called tongue test behavior. A chameleon walking at a leisurely pace shifts its tongue forward a little so that two small projections become visible under the tip of the tongue. With these, the animal then licks branches, leaves, or other surfaces with a nodding head movement. The behavior occurs across all genera and species. We could observe it in both leaf chameleons and tree-dwelling chameleons in Madagascar, in males and females, in young and adults. The behavior is particularly common when chameleons explore new environments. Some places are tested several times and especially careful with the tongue. If a chameleon moves quickly or is in the company of an opponent, the tongue test behavior does not occur.

It is assumed that the tongue tests are used for intra-species communication in chameleons. In non-Madagascan chameleons, it could be shown that they showed tongue testing behavior in places where conspecifics had previously rubbed their mouth corners. The mouth angles of many chameleon species carry so-called temporal glands, whose characteristics are not yet completely clarified. It is assumed that rubbing the glandular secretion on branches serves as a kind of marking. Whether this marking delimits “territories” or gives hints to the marking chameleon, for example, sex and mating readiness, is still unclear. Similarly, rubbing the cloaca on branches could serve such markings.

Tip of the tongue Calumma ambreense

Tip of the tongue at Calumma ambreense

The mouth of chameleons contains the so-called Jacobson’s organ. It lies in the palate and has odor-sensitive epithelium. By “palpating” branches and leaves with the tongue, chameleons can present the ingested odor particles to the Jacobson’s organ better than if they just bent their head over them. However, Jacobson’s organ and therefore the sense of smell is rather weakly developed in chameleons in contrast to other reptiles. It could be, however, that the tongue test detects sex hormones (pheromones) – so the tongue test could help in finding a partner. A similar tongue testing behavior can be observed in spiny iguanas (Scleroporus jarrovii). It also occurs with them when exploring foreign places. It has been shown that the tongue testing behavior of spiny iguanas is mainly related to finding well-fed sexual partners. Similar behavior can be observed in chameleons in Madagascar: Males in particular often show tongue testing behavior on branches that have been walked over by an interesting female before.

That the tongue test behavior serves the finding of feeders, as was assumed many decades ago once, seems rather improbable. The eyes and tongue of chameleons are highly specialized in their existence as lurking hunters, but not as actively searching hunters.

At last, it would be possible that the tongue test behavior could serve as a warning against predators like snakes. Snakes move their whole body over branches, so they certainly leave olfactory traces. So far, however, no study has been able to prove a connection between tongue testing behavior in reptiles and the avoidance of potential predators.

In total, research on this topic is still almost completely lacking for chameleons.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Zungentestverhalten

Auf Madagaskar kann man es recht häufig beobachten: Das sogenannte Zungentestverhalten. Dabei verlagert ein gemächlich laufendes Chamäleon seine Zunge ein Stück nach vorne, so dass zwei kleine Fortsätze unter der Zungenspitze sichtbar werden. Mit diesen beleckt das Tier dann mittels einer nickenden Kopfbewegung Äste, Blätter oder andere Untergründe. Das Verhalten tritt quer durch alle Gattungen und Arten auf. Wir konnten es sowohl bei Erdchamäleons wie auch Baum bewohnenden Chamäleons auf Madagaskar beobachten, bei Männchen und Weibchen, bei Jungtieren und adulten. Das Verhalten tritt vor allem dann gehäuft auf, wenn Chamäleons eine neue Umgebung erkunden. Manche Stellen werden gleich mehrfach und besonders sorgfältig mit der Zunge getestet. Bewegt sich ein Chamäleon schnell oder befindet es sich in der Gesellschaft eines Kontrahenten, tritt das Zungentestverhalten nicht auf.

Vermutet wird, dass die Zungentests der innerartlichen Kommunikation bei Chamäleons dienen. Bei nicht-madagassischen Chamäleons konnte gezeigt werden, dass sie das Zungentestverhalten vermehrt an solchen Stellen zeigten, an denen Artgenossen zuvor ihre Maulwinkel gerieben hatten. Die Maulwinkel vieler Chamäleonarten tragen sogenannte Temporaldrüsen, deren Eigenschaften noch nicht vollständig geklärt sind. Es wird angenommen, dass das Reiben des Drüsensekrets an Ästen einer Art Markierung dient. Ob diese Markierung „Reviere“ abgrenzt oder Hinweise zum markierenden Chamäleon, beispielsweise Geschlecht und Paarungsbereitschaft, gibt, ist noch unklar. Ähnlich könnte das Reiben der Kloake an Ästen solchen Markierungen dienen.

Zungenspitze Calumma ambreense

Zweizipfelige Zungenspitze bei Calumma ambreense

Im Maul von Chamäleons befindet sich das sogenannte Jacobson’sche Organ. Es liegt im Gaumen und verfügt über geruchsempfindliches Epithel. Durch das „Abtasten“ von Ästen und Blättern mit der Zunge könnten Chamäleons die aufgenommenen Geruchspartikel dem Jacobson’schen Organ besser präsentieren als wenn sie bloß den Kopf darüber beugen würden. Allerdings ist das Jacobson’sche Organ und damit der Geruchssinn bei Chamäleons im Gegensatz zu anderen Reptilien eher schwach entwickelt. Es könnte aber sein, dass mit dem Zungentest Sexualhormone (Pheromone) erkannt werden– damit könnte das Zungentestverhalten bei der Partnersuche helfen. Bei Stachelleguanen (Scleroporus jarrovii) kann man ein ähnliches Zungentestverhalten beobachten. Es tritt bei ihnen ebenfalls bei der Erkundung fremder Orte auf. Nachgewiesen wurde bei Stachelleguanen, dass das Zungentestverhalten wesentlich mit dem Auffinden gut genährter Sexualpartner zusammen hängt. Ein ähnliches Verhalten beobachten wir auf Madagaskar bei Chamäleons: Vor allem Männchen zeigen das Zungentestverhalten auffällig oft an Ästen, über die zuvor ein interessantes Weibchen gelaufen ist.

Dass das Zungentestverhalten dem Auffinden von Beutetieren dient, wie vor vielen Jahrzehnten mal vermutet wurde, scheint eher unwahrscheinlich. Augen und Zunge sind bei Chamäleons stark spezialisiert auf sein Dasein als Lauerjäger, nicht aber als aktiv umher suchender Jäger.

Möglich wäre zuletzt, dass das Zungentestverhalten der Warnung vor Fressfeinden wie Schlangen dienen könnte. Schlangen bewegen sich mit ganzen Körper über Äste, hinterlassen also sicherlich olfaktorische Spuren. Bisher konnte allerdings keine Studie einen Zusammenhang von Zungentestverhalten bei Reptilien mit dem Vermeiden potenzieller Fressfeinde nachweisen.

Insgesamt steht Forschung zu diesem Thema bei Chamäleons noch fast vollständig aus.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove