Brookesia confidens

CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Glaw, Köhler, Townsend, Vences 2012

Origin of the species name:

Frank Glaw of the Zoologic State Collection Munich (Germany), Jörn Köhler of the Hessian State Museum Darmstadt (Germany), Ted Townsend of the University of San Diego (USA) and Miguel Vences of the Zoological Institute of the TU Braunschweig (Germany) described the species Brookesia confidens at the same time as several other similarly small Brookesia species. In contrast to the other species, Brookesia confidens occurs in a protected national park, which offers additional protection by the difficult to access Tsingys. It is therefore rather unlikely that the habitat of the species will be completely destroyed in the next few years. Instead, the biologists hope that the species will survive. Appropriately, the first descriptors chose the Latin word confidens, which translated means confident or trustfully, as the species name.

Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Ankarana

loading map - please wait...

Ankarana -12.989839, 49.110260 Ankarana, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution:

Brookesia confidens is so far only known from the Ankarana National Park. The small chameleons live in the dry forest, partly also near the Tsingys, a kind of needle-shaped karst rock. They are best found in a somewhat more humid part of the dry forest, which remains relatively green even during the dry season. They live in the thick layer of leaves at the foot of large tree roots and sleep at night on blades of grass or very low, thin plants.

Appearance and size:

Like all chameleons of the minima group, Brookesia confidens is a real midget. The snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) is a maximum of 2.3 cm. On the back, Brookesia confidens carry 11 or 12 small, rather indistinctly visible tubercles. Most individuals of the species wear a light stripe on the back, which continues on the tail.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 25 25 24 23 20 19 18 19 20 22 23 24
Minimum temperature 21 20 20 19 16 14 14 14 15 17 19 20
Maximum temperature 30 29 28 27 26 24 23 24 25 27 28 29
Rain days 26 24 21 12 8 7 9 9 7 9 13 20

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Ankarana is a dry forest divided in two halfs by the famous Tsingys, needle stone rocks. Inside the dry forest, it is very warm during daytime all year long. During rainy season from October to April, temperatures above 30°C are rather usual and it often rains.

During dry season from May to September days are a little cooler, but still very warm. At night, temperatures don't really drop in rainy season, but in dry season temperatures drop to 15°C at night. Dry season, by the way, means really dry in Ankarana: The major part of the trees looses its leaves and there is few precipitation only every couple of days. The rivers that have been torrentially in rainy season, dry up completely only leaving the bare stony river beds.

2016 UVI Ankarana 2020 UVI Ankarana
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Ankarana available yet.

Habitat:

The following photos show parts of the habitat of Brookesia confidens during the rainy season in Ankarana. The microhabitat of the species is located in the dry forest on only a small, somewhat more humid area with high foliage, many small shrubs and very large tree roots. Directly at the Tsingys the animals are rarely found.

In the following, you will find some 360° pictures from Ankarana. With the mouse, you can turn in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the pictures will open in a separate window in an enlarged view. There you also have the possibility to view the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun while watching it!

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarana, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarana, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Brookesia confidens

CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Glaw, Köhler, Townsend, Vences 2012

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Frank Glaw von der Zoologischen Staatssammlung München, Jörn Köhler vom Hessischen Landesmuseum Darmstadt, Ted Townsend von der Universität San Diego (USA) und Miguel Vences vom Zoologischen Institut der TU Braunschweig beschrieben die Art Brookesia confidens zeitgleich mit einigen weiteren, ähnlich kleinen Brookesia-Arten. Im Gegensatz zu den anderen Arten kommt Brookesia confidens in einem geschützten Nationalpark vor, der zusätzlichen Schutz durch die schwer zugänglichen Tsingys bietet. Es ist daher eher nicht zu befürchten, dass der Lebensraum der Art in den nächsten Jahren vollkommen zerstört wird. Die Biologen hoffen stattdessen darauf, dass die Art überleben wird. Passend dazu wählten die Erstbeschreiber das lateinische Wort confidens, was übersetzt so viel wie zuversichtlich oder vertrauensvoll bedeutet, als Artnamen.

Verbreitung:

Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Ankarana

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ankarana -12.989839, 49.110260 Ankarana, Madagaskar (Routenplaner)

Brookesia confidens ist bisher ausschließlich aus dem Nationalpark Ankarana bekannt. Die kleinen Chamäleons leben im Trockenwald, zum Teil auch nahe der Tsingys, einer Art nadelförmigen Karstgesteins. Man findet sie am besten in einem etwas feuchteren Teil des Trockenwaldes, der auch während der Trockenzeit relativ grün bleibt. Sie leben in der dicken Laubschicht am Fuße großer Baumwurzeln und schlafen nachts auf Grashalmen oder sehr niedrigen, dünnen Pflänzchen.

Aussehen & Größe:

Wie alle Chamäleons der minima-Gruppe ist Brookesia confidens ein echter Winzling. Die Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) beträgt maximal 2,3 cm. Auf dem Rücken tragen Brookesia confidens 11 oder 12 kleine, eher undeutlich sichtbare Tuberkel. Die meisten Individuen der Art tragen einen hellen Streifen auf dem Rücken, der sich auf dem Schwanz fortsetzt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 25 25 24 23 20 19 18 19 20 22 23 24
Minimale Temperatur 21 20 20 19 16 14 14 14 15 17 19 20
Maximale Temperatur 30 29 28 27 26 24 23 24 25 27 28 29
Regentage 26 24 21 12 8 7 9 9 7 9 13 20

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Ankarana ist ein Trockenwald, der durch die berühmten Tsingys, Nadelsteinfelsen, in zwei Hälften geteilt wird. Im Trockenwald ist es das ganze Jahr über tagsüber sehr warm. In der Regenzeit von Oktober bis April sind Temperaturen über 30°C eher die Regel als die Ausnahme und es regnet relativ häufig.

Während der Trockenzeit von Mai bis September ist es tagsüber etwas kühler, aber immernoch recht warm. Nachts sinken die Temperaturen in der Regenzeit kaum nach unten, in der Trockenzeit können sie nachts gut auf 15°C fallen. Trockenzeit meint in Ankarana auch tatsächlich "trocken": Der Laubwald verliert den größten Teil seiner Blätter und es gibt nur alle paar Tage kleine Regenschauer. Die Flüsse, die in der Regenzeit in Ankarana reißend und riesig sind, trocknen fast alle komplett aus.

2016 UVI Ankarana 2020 UVI Ankarana

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April und Mitte März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Ankarana verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia confidens während der Regenzeit in Ankarana. Das Mikrohabitat der Art liegt im Trockenwald auf nur einem kleinen, etwas feuchterem Gebiet mit hohem Laub, vielen kleinen Sträuchern und sehr großen Baumwurzeln. Direkt an den Tsingys findet man die Tiere nur selten.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Ankarana. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarana, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Ankarana, Region Diana, Nordwest-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA