Brookesia antakarana

Brookesia antakarana
Brookesia antakarana
Brookesia antakarana
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia antakarana Montagne d'Ambre 2019
Brookesia antakarana Montagne d'Ambre 2019
Brookesia antakarana Montagne d'Ambre 2019
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia antakarana

loading map - please wait...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.679196, 49.152145
Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.584052, 49.162445
Lokobe, Nosy Be: -13.327929, 48.314095

Distribution:

As the name already suggests, these chameleons exist only in northwest Madagascar, where the Antankarana tribe lives, to be more precise in Amber mountain national park. In this mountain rainforest, they climb on branches until heights of one and a half meters, especially to sleep in the night (and it’s not easy to wake them up). During the day, they can be mostly found on the ground between moss and foliage. Along the national park’s circuits, there are some places where you can find many, many individuals of this species on few meters.

Appearance & size:

Brookesia antakarana grow up to maximally 7 to 10 cm from the nose to the tip of the tail. They have no dorsal ridge. Brookesia antakarana has an extraordinary almost square-shaped pelvic shield, only few specimen have a smaller, few developed pelvic shield. Along the back, they have a row of 11 to 13 latero-vertrebral spines on each side that may or may not continue on tail. Colour varies from beige to dark brown.

Good to know:

Until 2018, due to the external differences, it was thought that animals should be classified as Brookesia ambreensis or Brookesia antakarana depending on the appearance of the pelvic shield. However, in 2018 German scientists proved that it is one and the same species.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimum temperature 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximum temperature 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Rain days 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Amber Mountain is an evergreen rainforest which extends over a mountain massif of volcanic origin at elevations between 850 and 1450 m. Due to the height, nights can become rather cold with temperature drops to 10°C.

During rainy season, day temperatures rise to 28°C, in sunny places even warmer. But the average temperature is a little lower. During rainy season, it rains every day for several hours. Simply the way it is in a rainforest. 😉 But also dry season has regular precipitation, just a little shorter. Climate in Amber Mountain is very humid all year long. During dry season, temperatures are somewhat lower with day temperatures up to 25°C.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Amber Mountain available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Brookesia antakarana in Amber Mountain. Some are even from finding places of this species. Amber Mountain’s rainforest mainly consists of big, old trees with relatively dense undergrowth. Some places have mossy, rocky underground. During daytime, you can find leaf chameleons walking around on the soil between foliage and shrubs or on fallen tree trunks. In the night they sleep on thin long twigs at knee to breast height.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Amber Mountain that we took in 2017. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia antakarana

Brookesia antakarana
Brookesia antakarana
Brookesia antakarana
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia Montagne d'Ambre 2016
Brookesia antakarana Montagne d'Ambre 2019
Brookesia antakarana Montagne d'Ambre 2019
Brookesia antakarana Montagne d'Ambre 2019
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Raxworthy & Nussbaum, 1995

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia antakarana

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.679196, 49.152145
Montagne d\'Ambre: -12.584052, 49.162445
Lokobe, Nosy Be: -13.327929, 48.314095

Verbreitung:

Wie der Name es schon vermuten lässt, gibt es diese Chamäleons ausschließlich im Nordwesten Madagaskars, etwas weiter als das Volk der Antankarana beheimatet ist, im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre. Im Hochlandregenwald klettern diese Chamäleons auf Äste und Zweige in bis zu anderthalb Metern Höhe, am Tag sind sie jedoch meist auf dem Boden zwischen Laub, Moos und Gestrüpp unterwegs. Nachts findet man sie dann recht einfach schlafen auf dünnen Ästchen, und sie lassen sich auch nicht besonders leicht wecken. Entlang der Rundwege im Nationalpark gibt es einige Stellen, wo besonders viele Individuen gefunden werden können.

Aussehen & Größe:

Brookesia antakarana werden maximal 7 bis 10 cm lang von der Nase bis zur Schwanzspitze.  Sie haben keinen Rückenkamm. Brookesia antakarana verfügt über einen außergewöhnliches, zum Schwanz hin gebogenes, diamantförmiges Hüftschild. Manche Tiere haben aber auch ein etwas kleineres, leicht nach hinten gebogenes Hüftschild.  Entlang der Rückenlinie verlaufen beidseitig Reihen von 11 bis 13 dornförmigen Schuppen, die nicht immer bis zur Schwanzspitze reichen. Farblich ist die Art recht variabel mit Varianten von beige bis dunkelbraun.

Besonderheiten:

Bis 2018 dachte man auf Grund der äußerlichen Unterschiede, dass Tiere je nach Aussehen des Hüftschilds zur Art Brookesia ambreensis oder zu Brookesia antakarana gezählt werden müssten. 2018 wurde jedoch – schon lange vorher war es vermutet worden  – von deutschen Wissenschaftlern nachgewiesen, dass es sich um ein und dieselbe Art handelt.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 23 24 23 22 21 20 20 21 22 23 23
Minimale Temperatur 19 19 19 19 18 16 15 15 16 17 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 28 28 28 28 27 26 25 25 26 27 28 28
Regentage 20 20 17 9 6 6 7 6 5 6 7 14

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Der Montagne d'Ambre ist ein immergrüner Regenwald, der sich über ein Bergmassiv vulkanischen Ursprungs in Höhen zwischen 850 und 1450 m ausbreitet. Durch die Höhe wird es hier nachts empfindlich kalt mit Temperaturstürzen bis auf 10°C.

Während der Regenzeit wird es tagsüber bis zu 28°C warm, an Sonnenflecken auch etwas wärmer. Die Durschnittstemperatur liegt allerdings etwas niedriger. Während der Regenzeit schüttet es mehrfach täglich, und auch mal ganze Tage durch. Typisch Regenwald eben 😉 . Aber auch in der Trockenzeit regnet es regelmäßig, wenn auch kürzer und eher in kleinen Schauern. Das Klima im Montagne d'Ambre ist daher das ganze Jahr über feucht. Während der Trockenzeit bleiben die Temperaturen vor allem tagsüber etwas niedriger mit bis zu 25°C.

2016 UVI Montagne d'Ambre

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für den Montagne d'Ambre verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen weitere Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia antakarana zur Regenzeit im Montagne d’Ambre. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art.Der Regenwald des Montagne d’Ambre besteht vor allem aus großen, alten Bäumen mit relativ dichtem Unterholz. An einigen Stellen gibt es bemoosten, steinigen Untergrund. Die Erdchamäleons findet man tagsüber meist auf dem Erdboden zwischen Laub und Gebüsch oder auf umgestürzten Baumstämmen. Nachts schlafen sie auf Knie- bis Brusthöhe auf schmalen, dünnen Ästchen.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus dem Montagne d’Ambre. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove