Brookesia betschi

CITES quotas
2014 to 2022 300 animals each released for legal export

First description:

Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970

Origin of the species name:

Édouard-Raoul Brygoo, Charles Pierre Blanc and Charles Antoine Domergue of the then Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagascar dedicated the species to Jean-Marie Betsch. Betsch had been working in a department of the Natural History Museum of Paris (France) in Brunoy since 1963, where he later became a professor. The French natural scientist traveled to Madagascar several times between 1965 and 1973. There he was mainly concerned with the ecology of the soil in tropical rainforests. Springtails were his special interest.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia betschi

loading map - please wait...

Marojejy: -14.414137, 49.705582
Anjanaharibe-Sud: -14.720720, 49.479675
Ambolokopatrika: -14.523912, 49.427490
Tsaratanana: -13.943686, 48.836975
Manongarivo: -14.008174, 48.381042

Distribution:

Brookesia betschi lives in the undergrowth and foliage of high altitude rainforests in northeastern Madagascar. Populations of the species are known from the national parks Marojejy and Anjanaharibe-Sud as well as Ambolokopatrika between the two, from Manongarivo as well as the Tsaratanana mountains. The animals are rather difficult to find. This is mainly due to the absolutely remote and very difficult to travel areas where they live. All the forests where they occur require several hours of walking (not to be underestimated in the tropics) to even reach the edge of the forest. Moreover, the distribution areas of Brookesia betschi are at an altitude of about 1300 meters. We have found it so far in Marojejy a bit below that at just under 1000 meters. It is incredibly strenuous in the rainforest to advance to these heights. Accordingly, the habitats of Brookesia betschi are little visited.

Appearance & size:

This species is one of the medium-sized terrestrial chameleons. They reach just under six centimeters from the tip of the nose to the tip of the tail, with males remaining smaller than females. There are 11 laterovertebral tubercles running along each side of the back, which continue on the tail. A pelvic shield is not worn by either sex. Particular to Brookesia betschi are the conspicuous, bony appendages above the eyes. These appendages are much more pronounced in males than in females, making it very easy to distinguish the sexes. Such a conspicuous sexual dimorphism does not exist in any other terrestrial chameleon species in Madagascar. Color-wise, Brookesia betschi show variations from beige to dark brown, with mostly appendages, upper head, back and the upper side of the tail being lighter colored than the chin, throat, belly and underside of the tail. In males, we observed tubercles along the back as well as helmet edges that were yellow or green in color. We have not noticed anything like this in the females.

Special features:

It is rather unclear to us why this species has legal CITES quotas, so theoretically it can be exported. It is found exclusively in protected areas where the taking of animals is prohibited. Practically, this species has not been exported in recent years despite quotas.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 26 26 25 25 23 23 22 23 24 25 26
Minimum temperature 24 24 23 23 22 21 20 19 20 21 22 24
Maximum temperature 30 29 29 29 28 27 25 25 25 27 28 30
Rain days 28 23 27 22 24 21 20 18 23 22 16 25

Marojejy mainly consists of rainforest that extends over the eponymic sacred mountain at elevations of 200 to maximally 2100 m above sea level. In the highest areas, climate is cool and vegetation sparse, but most chameleons live in the warmer dense rainforest below. Marojejy has different altitude levels, each with its own species living in its own climate. In the lowest altitude level it is very warm and humid, in the middle and high altitudes it becomes a little cooler, but not less humid.

In Marojejy, there is few difference between rainy and dry season. Humidity is always very, very high. In the rainy season, precipitation is more intense with rainfalls that may last for days and sometimes are accompagnied by heavy storms. In the dry season, temperatures are a little lower, but it never becomes really cold. And it still rains almost daily. It really cannot become dry in Marojejy during "dry" season. Humidity is the main key factor of this rainforest. In 2022, we measured relative humidity on various days during the rainy season, and the data can be found below.

2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy 2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy
2022 UVI Marojejy2022 UVI Marojejy 2015 UVI Marojejy

Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March until beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Marojejy available yet.

Since 2022, in addition to other climate data, we have been measuring air pressure at the locations we visit in Madagascar. The following data is from different days during the rainy season. On the X-axis is the time of day or night. In Madagascar, the day begins around 6 a.m., and night falls at 6 p.m. The Y-axis shows the atmospheric pressure in hPa.

2022 Luftdruck Marojejy 2022 Luftdruck Marojejy

Habitat:

The following photos show sections of Brookesia betschi habitat between Camp Marojejya and Camp Simpona in Marojejy. The mountains of Marojejy consist of ridges and steep gorges interspersed with small waterfalls and streams. The rainforest here consists of jungle giants, slippery, mossy, round stones and very lush undergrowth. Countless ferns, lianas, huge aerial roots and mosses of all kinds dominate the picture. The soil consists of wet earth on rocks and large stones. Brookesia betschi can be found resting on low branches at night.

Below you can find some 360° images from Marojejy. With the mouse, you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the images will open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to run the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun watching!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Brookesia betschi

CITES-Quoten
2014 bis 2022 je 300 Tiere zum legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Brygoo, Blanc & Domergue, 1970

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Édouard-Raoul Brygoo, Charles Pierre Blanc und Charles Antoine Domergue vom damaligen Institut Pasteur in Antananarivo, Madagaskar widmeten die Art Jean-Marie Betsch. Betsch arbeitete seit 1963 in einem Department des Naturhistorischen Museum Paris (Frankreich) in Brunoy, wo er später als Professor tätig war. Der französische Naturwissenschaftler reiste zwischen 1965 und 1973 mehrfach nach Madagaskar. Er beschäftigte sich dort vorwiegend mit der Ökologie des Bodens in tropischen Regenwäldern. Springschwänze waren sein besonderes Steckenpferd.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia betschi

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Marojejy: -14.414137, 49.705582
Anjanaharibe-Sud: -14.720720, 49.479675
Ambolokopatrika: -14.523912, 49.427490
Tsaratanana: -13.943686, 48.836975
Manongarivo: -14.008174, 48.381042

Verbreitung:

Brookesia betschi lebt im Unterholz und Laub hoch gelegener Regenwälder im Nordosten Madagaskars. Populationen der Art sind aus den Nationalparks Marojejy und Anjanaharibe-Sud sowie Ambolokopatrika zwischen den beiden, aus Manongarivo sowie dem Tsaratanana-Gebirge bekannt. Die Tiere sind eher schwierig zu finden. Das hängt vor allem an den absolut abgelegenen und sehr schwer zu bereisenden Gebieten, in denen sie leben. Alle Wälder, in denen sie vorkommen, benötigen mehrere Stunden Fußmarsches (in den Tropen nicht zu unterschätzen), bis man überhaupt den Waldrand erreicht. Die Verbreitungsgebiete von Brookesia betschi liegen zudem auf rund 1300 Metern Höhe. Wir haben sie bisher in Marojejy etwas darunter auf knapp 1000 m gefunden. Es ist im Regenwald unglaublich anstrengend, bis auf diese Höhen vorzustoßen. Entsprechend wenig besucht sind die Lebensräume von Brookesia betschi.

Aussehen & Größe:

Diese Art zählt zu den mittelgroßen Erdchamäleons. Sie erreichen knapp sechs Zentimeter von der Nasen- bis zur Schwanzspitze, wobei die Männchen kleiner bleiben als die Weibchen. Seitlich entlang des Rückens verlaufen je 11 Tuberkel, die sich auf dem Schwanz fortsetzen. Ein Hüftschild tragen beide Geschlechter nicht. Besonders bei Brookesia betschi sind die auffälligen, knöchernen Fortsätze über den Augen. Bei den Männchen sind diese Fortsätze deutlich ausgeprägter als bei den Männchen, wodurch sich die Geschlechter sehr leicht unterscheiden lassen. Einen so auffälligen Geschlechtsdimorphismus gibt es bei keiner anderen Erdchamäleon-Art auf Madagaskar. Farblich zeigen Brookesia betschi Varianten von beige bis dunkelbraun, wobei meist Fortsätze, Oberkopf, Rücken und die Schwanzoberseite heller gefärbt sind als Kinn, Kehle, Bauch und Schwanzunterseite. Bei den Männchen haben wir Turbekel entlang des Rückens sowie Helmkanten beobachtet, die gelb oder grün gefärbt waren. Bei den Weibchen ist uns so etwas noch nicht aufgefallen.

Besonderheiten:

Es ist uns eher unklar, weshalb diese Art legale CITES-Quoten hat, also theoretisch exportiert werden darf. Sie kommt ausschließlich in geschützten Gebieten vor, in denen die Entnahme von Tieren verboten ist. Praktisch wurde diese Art in den letzten Jahren trotz Quoten nicht exportiert.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 26 26 26 25 25 23 23 22 23 24 25 26
Minimale Temperatur 24 24 23 23 22 21 20 19 20 21 22 24
Maximale Temperatur 30 29 29 29 28 27 25 25 25 27 28 30
Regentage 28 23 27 22 24 21 20 18 23 22 16 25

Marojejy besteht vorwiegend aus einem Regenwald, der sich über das gleichnamige heilige Gebirge auf Höhen von 200 bis maximal 2100 m über Meeresniveau erstreckt. In den höchsten Gebieten ist das Klima kühl und die Vegetation karg, die meisten Chamäleons leben jedoch im wärmeren Regenwald darunter. Marojejy verfügt über verschiedene Höhenstufen, auf der jeweils eigene Arten in einem eigenen Klima leben. In der niedrigsten Höhenstufe ist es sehr warm und feucht, in den mittleren und höhen Lagen wird es etwas kühler, aber nicht weniger feucht.

In Marojejy gibt es nur wenig Unterschied zwischen Regen- und Trockenzeit. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit ist stetig sehr, sehr hoch. In der Regenzeit sind die Niederschläge ergiebiger, halten oft Tage an und gehen ab und zu mit schweren Stürmen einher. In der Trockenzeit liegen die Temperaturen etwas niedriger, richtig kalt wird es jedoch nie und es regnet immernoch fast täglich. Und trocken wird es in der Trockenzeit in Marojejy auch nicht. 2022 haben wir die relative Luftfeuchtigkeit an verschiedenen Tagen in der Regenzeit gemessen, die Daten finden sich im Folgenden.

2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy 2022 Luftfeuchtigkeit Marojejy

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 in der Regenzeit, Ende März und Mitte April, zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

2022 UVI Marojejy2022 UVI Marojejy 2015 UVI Marojejy
Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Marojejy verfügbar.

Seit 2022 messen wir zusätzlich zu anderen Klimadaten auch den Luftdruck an den von uns besuchten Orten auf Madagaskar. Die folgenden Daten stammen von verschiedenen Tagen während der Regenzeit. Auf der X-Achse befindet sich die Tages- oder Nachtzeit. Auf Madagaskar beginnt der Tag gegen 6 Uhr, die Nacht bricht bereits um 18 Uhr an. Die Y-Achse zeigt den atmosphärischen Luftdruck in hPa an.

2022 Luftdruck Marojejy 2022 Luftdruck Marojejy

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia betschi zwischen Camp Marojejya und Camp Simpona in Marojejy. Das Gebirge von Marojejy besteht aus Bergkämmen und steilen Schluchten, die von kleinen Wasserfällen und Bächen durchzogen sind. Der Regenwald hier besteht aus Urwaldriesen, rutschigen, bemoosten, runden Steinen und sehr üppigem Unterholz. Unzählige Farne, Lianen, riesige Luftwurzeln und Moose aller Arten bestimmen das Bild. Der Boden besteht aus nasser Erde auf Felsen und großen Steinen. Brookesia betschi findet man nachts ruhend auf niedrigen Ästen.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Marojejy. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Marojejy, Region Sava, Nordost-Madagaskar, April 2022 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove