Brookesia perarmata

CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

Angel, 1933

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Brookesia perarmata

loading map - please wait...

Tsingy de Bemaraha: -18.495238, 44.708862

Distribution:

This unique chameleon only occurs in a very special habitat, the Tsingy de Bemaraha national park in southwest Madagascar. Between metres high needlestones, deep down on the ground, there are small, humid oases – and near the Tsingys, there are dry forests which the animals conquered to live there. They are comfortable in foliage, low shrubs or shrubby greens. You can visit Tsingy de Bemaraha only during the dry season, because the roads leads through endless kilometers of offroad tracks. Sadly, the dry season is the worst time to find chameleons. Indeed it is extremely difficult to discover Brookesia perarmata at all.

Appearance & size:

This species has a very special appearance with numerous spines on head and body. Along the back and the belly, there are rows of pyramid-shapes tubercles that continue on tail. The eyelids and parts of the large helmet are usually somewhat darker. Brookesia perarmata reaches a total length of 11 cm. Adult individuals have a yellow head and a brown body, which sometimes fades into orange. Young ones are less conspicious with less spines and relatively uniformly beige coloured.

Good to know:

No other leaf chameleon has a similar spectacular appearance. Moreover, Brookesia perarmata is the only one species who made it to Appendix I of CITES. Trade with this species is strictly forbidden.



Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 29 29 28 26 24 23 21 22 24 26 27 29
Minimum temperature 23 23 23 22 17 16 14 15 18 19 22 24
Maximum temperature 32 33 34 34 32 30 29 27 29 31 32 33
Rain days 25 24 26 7 6 6 4 2 7 6 11 17

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Tsingy de Bemaraha is mainly one thing: Hot. Dry season here reaches from April to November, and this time is characterized by droughts that last for months. Usually it does not rain even one single drop for most of the dry season. One rain day per month might be the luckiest moment for people there. Few humidity remains in the small green oases between the Tsingys. During dry season, tempertures drop suddenly at night down to 10°C. But during the day, it might have 20°C and warmer.

The short rainy season serves as recreation for the plants between the Tsingys. Temperature even raise more during the day and may even reach 40°C mark. At night, temperature drop in rainy season is less strong.

Unfortunately, we have no UVB indices for Tsingy de Bemaraha available yet.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Tsingy de Bemaraha available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Brookesia perarmata in the Tsingy de Bemaraha. This species does not live on the Tsingys, the needle stone rocks, but in the leftover isolated pieces of forest inbetween. The dry forest have a thick foliage layer on clay soil and much dead wood. Only during the rainy season, plants are green and blooming. During dry season, the forests are rather sparse.

Below you will find some 360° pictures from the Tsingy de Bemaraha. With the mouse you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the images will open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to execute the pictures in full screen mode. Have fun looking at them!

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Brookesia perarmata

CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

Angel, 1933

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Brookesia perarmata

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Tsingy de Bemaraha: -18.495238, 44.708862

Verbreitung:

Dieses eigentümliche Chamäleon kommt nur im sehr speziellen Lebensraum des Tsingy de Bemaraha Nationalparks im Süd-Westen Madagaskars vor. Zwischen den meterhohen Nadelsteinfelsen tief unten liegen kleine, feuchte Oasen und nahe den Tsingys existieren Trockenwälder, die von den Tieren als Lebensraum erobert wurden. Im Laub und in niedrigen Gebüschen oder strauchigem Grün fühlen sie sich wohl. Die Tsingy de Bemaraha sind nur während der Trockenzeit zu erreichen, da der Weg dorthin über kilometerlange Pisten führt. Leider ist die Trockenzeit aber die schlechteste Zeit, um Chamäleons zu finden. Daher ist es enorm schwierig, Brookesia perarmata überhaupt zu entdecken.

Aussehen & Größe:

Diese Art hat ein sehr spezielles Aussehen mit unzähligen Stacheln an Kopf und Körper: Entlang des Rückens und des Bauches reichen Reihen pyramidenförmiger Fortsätze, die sich auf dem Schwanz fortsetzen. Die Augen und Vertiefungen des großen Helms sind meist etwas dunkler. Brookesia perarmata erreicht eine maximale Gesamtlänge von 11 cm. Ausgewachsene Individuen haben einen gelben Kopf und einen braunen Körper, der teils ins Orange übergeht. Jungtiere sind unauffälliger, mit weniger Stacheln besetzt und relativ einheitlich beige gefärbt.

Besonderheiten:

Das spektakuläre Äußere dieser Art zeigt kein anderes Erdchamäleon. Brookesia perarmata ist zudem die einzige Art, die es bisher im CITES-Abkommen auf Anhang I geschafft hat. Der Handel mit dieser Art ist strikt verboten.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 29 29 28 26 24 23 21 22 24 26 27 29
Minimale Temperatur 23 23 23 22 17 16 14 15 18 19 22 24
Maximale Temperatur 32 33 34 34 32 30 29 27 29 31 32 33
Regentage 25 24 26 7 6 6 4 2 7 6 11 17

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in den Tsingy de Bemaraha ist vor allem eines: Heiß. Die Trockenzeit reicht hier von April bis November, und in dieser Zeit regnet es teils monatelang keinen einzigen Tropfen. Ein Regentag pro Monat ist in vielen Jahren schon das höchste der Gefühle. In den kleinen grünen Oasen zwischen den Tsingys bleibt wenig an Feuchtigkeit übrig. In der Trockenzeit sinken die Temperaturen nachts schlagartig ab und können auf bis zu 10°C heruntergehen. Tagsüber ist es dann problemlos 20°C wärmer.

Die kurze Regenzeit dient zur Erholung der Pflanzen zwischen den Tsingys, den Nadelsteinfelsen. Die Temperaturen steigen jetzt tagsüber noch etwas an, und erreichen auch schonmal die 40°C-Marke. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen in der Regenzeit etwas weniger krass ab.

Leider sind noch keine UV-B-Daten für die Tsingy de Bemaraha verfügbar.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Tsingy de Bemaraha verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Brookesia perarmata in den Tsingy de Bemaraha. Die Art lebt nicht auf den Tsingys, den Nadelsteinfelsen selbst, sondern in den kleinen, verlorenen Waldstückchen dazwischen. Die Trockenwälder haben eine dicke Laubschicht am lehmigen, teils sehr sandigem Boden und viel Totholz. Nur in der Regenzeit sind die Pflanzen alle grün und am Blühen, während der Trockenzeit sind die Wäldchen nur dürr belaubt.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus den Tsingy de Bemaraha. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Trockenwald im Nationalpark Tsingy de Bemaraha, Region Melaky, West-Madagaskar, November 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove