Calumma boettgeri

CITES quotas
2011-20 each 500 animals for legal export

First description:

(Boulenger, 1888)

Origin of the species name:

The Belgian zoologist George Alber Boulenger, at that time working at the Natural History Museum in London (Great Britain), named this chameleon species in honor of the German paleontologist Oskar Böttger. Böttger worked mainly at the Senckenberg Museum in Francfort (Germany) and contributed significantly to the expansion of the museum’s herpetological research institute.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma boettgeri

loading map - please wait...

Nosy Komba: -13.470900, 48.347700
Nosy Be: -13.324600, 48.265500
Manongarivo: -13.988709, 48.376923

Distribution:

Calumma boettgeri can be found on some islands in the northwest of Madagascar as well as the offshore mainland. It is found in the remaining rainforests of Manongarivo and in the Lokobe National Park on the island of Nosy Be. On the island of Nosy Ambariovato, better known under its nickname Nosy Komba (“Island of the Lemurs”), Calumma boettgeri also lives in very dense secondary vegetation on the edge of original rainforest remains. It can be assumed that Calumma boettgeri could also be found on other islands in the area as well as in the few forest remnants along the river Sambirano or even further south in Sahamalaza. Outside closed forests, we have not yet been able to find this species.

Look and size:

This chameleon species belongs to the small chameleons with a total length of about 8 to 10 cm. Typical for Calumma boettgeri are the occipital lobes, which are divided into two sides only by a slight indentation when viewed from above. In addition, both sexes have a roundish-oval, soft rostral appendage. The casque is flat or only weakly pronounced. Both sexes carry neither a parietal nor gular or ventral crest. In terms of color, these small chameleons are rather unimpressive. The males are yellow or green-brown, the females are beige to slightly orange with green or light blue scales on the arms and legs. In the head and belly area, the animals can appear almost white. On the head, Calumma boettgeri shows under stress a bright pattern similar to the one in Calumma juliae. Many animals wear a dark line that extends from the nose to the eyelids and the occipital lobes.

Good to know:

For many years, several independent species were classified as Calumma boettgeri until their description, for example, Calumma linotum from the Amber Mountain. This so-called boettgeri clade includes small chameleons on Madagascar, which all show occipital lobes. Due to the unclear situation over decades, there are still countless photos on the net, on which animals are listed as Calumma boettgeri, which do not belong to this species at all according to the current state of knowledge.

 

Jan Feb Mar Avr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 26 25 24 22 20 20 20 21 23 24 26
Minimum temperature 22 22 21 19 16 16 15 15 16 18 20 21
Maximum temperature 31 31 30 30 28 26 25 25 27 28 29 30
Rain days 24 22 20 13 9 7 7 8 9 11 15 20

The given data were measured and compiled by us within several years with thermo- and hygrometers directly at the finding places of the animals. "Average temperature" means that the values of an entire month were calculated to an average value, e.g. all measured minimum values of a month were calculated to an average minimum value for February. This means in plain language that individual peak values of a day can be significantly higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum values. It is therefore possible that although the average maximum is 29 degrees, it was 33°C or even 35°C warm on some days of the month.

The climate on the islands off Madagascar's northwest coast is very warm all year round. Temperatures above 30°C occur regularly. At night the temperatures in the rainy season fall only slightly below 25°C, during the dry season they drop considerably lower down to 15°C, and even lower on a daily basis.

During the rainy season it rains very abundantly and a lot. From April to October it stays mostly dry and sunny on the islands, but still rains from time to time. Therefore it never gets completely dry on the islands and the vegetation remains green all year round.

2020 UVI Nosy Komba

The UVB data were measured with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March) at the highest activity time of the chameleons. The maximum values to be achieved by the chameleon in the habitat were measured.

Unfortunately there are no soil temperatures available for Nosy Komba yet.

Habitat:

The following photos show parts of the habitat of Calumma boettgeri on Nosy Komba and Nosy Be. Some of them are directly from finding places of the species. On Nosy Be, the animals live in the last remaining rainforest, Lokobe. This consists of countless jungle giants with dense undergrowth and many rocks and rock formations in between. On Nosy Komba the species also occurs in secondary vegetation. It prefers small-leafed, extremely dense and knotty habitats. The soil on both islands is not pure sand, but rather a mixture of earth and sand.

Below you will find some 360° pictures of Nosy Komba. With the mouse, you can turn in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the pictures will open in a separate window in an enlarged view. There you also have the possibility to view the pictures in full-screen mode. Have fun while watching it!

Sekundärvegetation auf Nosy Komba, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, März 2020 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf Nosy Komba, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, März 2020 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf Nosy Komba, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, März 2020 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf Nosy Komba, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, März 2020 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma boettgeri

CITES-Quoten
2011-19 je 500 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

(Boulenger, 1888)

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Der belgische Zoologe George Alber Boulenger, zu dieser Zeit tätig am Naturhistorischen Museum in London (Großbritannien), benannte diese Chamäleonart zu Ehren des deutschen Paläontologen Oskar Böttger.  Böttger arbeitete vor allem im Senckenberg-Museum in Frankfurt am Main und trug maßgeblich dazu bei, den herpetologischen Forschungsbereich des Museums auszubauen.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma boettgeri

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Nosy Komba: -13.470900, 48.347700
Nosy Be: -13.324600, 48.265500
Manongarivo: -13.988709, 48.376923

Verbreitung:

Calumma boettgeri ist auf einigen Inseln im Nordwesten Madagaskars sowie dem vorgelagerten Festland zu finden. Man findet es in den verbliebenen Regenwäldern von Manongarivo sowie im Nationalpark Lokobe auf der Insel Nosy Be. Auf der Insel Nosy Ambariovato, besser bekannt unter ihrem Spitznamen Nosy Komba („Insel der Lemuren“), lebt Calumma boettgeri auch in sehr dichter Sekundärvegetation am Rande ursprünglicher Regenwaldreste. Es ist zu vermuten, dass Calumma boettgeri auch auf weiteren Inseln der Gegend sowie in den wenigen Waldresten entlang des Flusses Sambirano oder sogar weiter südlich in Sahamalaza noch vorkommen könnte. Außerhalb geschlossener Wälder haben wir diese Art noch nicht finden können.

Aussehen und Größe:

Diese Chamäleonart gehört mit rund 8 bis 10 cm Gesamtlänge zu den kleinen Chamäleons. Typisch für Calumma boettgeri sind die Occipitallappen, die von oben gesehen nur durch eine leichte Einkerbung in zwei Seiten geteilt werden. Außerdem tragen beide Geschlechter einen rundlich-ovalen, weichen Nasenfortsatz. Der Helm ist flach bzw. nur schwach ausgeprägt. Beide Geschlechter tragen weder einen Parietal-, noch Kehl- oder Bauchkamm. Farblich sind diese kleinen Chamäleons eher unscheinbar. Die Männchen sind gelb- oder grünbraun, die Weibchen beige bis leicht orange gefärbt mit grünen oder hellblauen Schuppen an den Armen und Beinen. Im Kopf- und Bauchbereich können die Tiere fast weiß erscheinen. Auf dem Kopf tragen Calumma boettgeri bei Stress ein helles Muster ähnlich dem in Calumma juliae. Viele Tiere tragen einen dunklen Strich, der von der Nase über die Augenlider bis zu den Occipitallappen reicht.

Besonderheiten:

Über viele Jahre hinweg zählten etliche eigenständige Arten bis zu ihrer Beschreibung zu Calumma boettgeri, so zum Beispiel Calumma linotum aus dem Montagne d’Ambre. Zu dieser sogenannten boettgeri-Gruppe zählen kleine Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, die alle Occipitallappen tragen. Durch die über Jahrzehnte unklare Situation gibt es auch heute noch unzählige Fotos im Netz, auf denen Tiere als Calumma boettgeri angegeben werden, die nach aktuellem Wissensstand gar nicht zu dieser Art gehören.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 26 26 25 24 22 20 20 20 21 23 24 26
Minimale Temperatur 22 22 21 19 16 16 15 15 16 18 20 21
Maximale Temperatur 31 31 30 30 28 26 25 25 27 28 29 30
Regentage 24 22 20 13 9 7 7 8 9 11 15 20

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima auf den Inseln vor Madagaskars Nordwestküste ist ganzjährig sehr warm. Temperaturen über 30°C kommen regelmäßig vor. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen in der Regenzeit nur knapp unter 25°C, während der Trockenzeit deutlich tiefer bis runter auf 15°C, tagesweise sogar noch tiefer.

Während der Regenzeit regnet es sehr ergiebig und viel. Von April bis Oktober bleibt es weitestgehend trocken und sonnig auf den Inseln, regnet aber ab und zu trotzdem noch. Dadurch wird es nie völlig trocken auf den Inseln und die Vegetation bleibt ganzjährig grün.

2020 UVI Nosy Komba

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Nosy Komba verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma boettgeri auf Nosy Komba und Nosy Be. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Auf Nosy Be leben die Tiere im letzten verbliebenem Regenwald, Lokobe. Dieser besteht aus unzähligen Urwaldriesen mit dichtem Unterholz und vielen Felsen und Gesteinsformationen dazwischen. Auf Nosy Komba kommt die Art auch in Sekundärvegetation vor. Calumma boettgeri bevorzugt kleinblättrige, extrem dichte und astreiche Lebensräume. Der Boden ist auf beiden Inseln kein reiner Sand, sondern eher ein Erde-Sand-Gemisch.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder von Nosy Komba. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Sekundärvegetation auf Nosy Komba, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, März 2020 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf Nosy Komba, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, März 2020 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf Nosy Komba, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, März 2020 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Sekundärvegetation auf Nosy Komba, Region Diana, Nord-Madagaskar, März 2020 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove