Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

The colour change

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambilobe
Furcifer minor aus dem Fundort nahe RN7 2018
Furcifer labordi Weibchen

The first thing most people think of when they think of a chameleon is the fact that these animals can change their skin colour. This article explores the question of how this color change works and what it is actually good for.

 

How does the chameleon color change work?

The so-called chromatophores, specialised optical skin cells, are responsible for the colour change. They lie under the outermost skin layer (epidermis) in layers on top of each other in the dermis. Melanophores are responsible for dark blue and black colors, xanthophores for yellow and orange pigments, erythrophores for red pigments and guanophores for silvery shining pigments. In chameleons, however, there are also cells that do not require any pigments to give the skin a different colour. They carry out the colour change by means of reflection.

Guanine crystals in the S-iridophores layer (S-irid. and d) and in the D-iridophores layer (D-irid. and e) under the epidermis (ep), shown left in the tissue section and right under the transmission electron microscope. At d you can see how close the guanine crystals are arranged in two different skin colors. Graphic from the publication “Photonic crytals cause active color change in chameleons” by Teyssier et al. 2014, licensed under Creative Commons BY 4.0.

There is a superifical layer of S-iridophores and a deep layer of D-iridophores. The iridophores contain guanine crystals, which are the key to colour change in chameleons.

In the upper S-iridophores layer, the guanine crystals lie close together and are arranged in a triangular pattern. The guanine crystals can change their distance to each other. They function like a photonic crystal, which can influence the movement of photons (light particles) and thus change the colour reflection of the light falling on the skin. The S-iridophores are responsible for the fact that chameleon skin can change from green to yellow or orange.

In the lower D-iridophores layer of the chameleon skin, the guanine crystals are shaped like small bricks and lie rather disordered next to each other. This layer provides reflection in an area close to the infrared, which leads to a lower absorption of sunlight. It serves as a natural heat protection for the chameleon.

In red chameleons, a large proportion of the iridophores in the skin are replaced by erythrophores. Red chameleon skin cannot change to other colours, but can vary between dark and bright red. Blue chameleon skin, on the other hand, can become not only lighter, but even white.

The upper S-iridophores layer is only fully present in adult chameleons, which explains why young animals do not yet produce all the colouration of their older fellows. They only have the D-iridophores layer in their skin and still have to fully develop the S-iridophores.

The structure of the chameleon skin in iridophores and the function of guanine crystals was not described until 2014. Previously it was thought that the color change was exclusively caused by the different spread of color pigments. In fact, dispersion and aggregation of pigments are responsible for lighter and darker colours. However, this idea could not satisfactorily explain why chameleons can change their colors from green to yellow within a few seconds. The guanine crystals can do this – they produce so-called structural colours that are not caused by pigments – which only a few years ago unravelled another body function in chameleons. How exactly chameleons can control the guanine crystal networks in their skin has not yet been clarified. What we already know: Every color change happens completely unconsciously. So the chameleon cannot arbitrarily create patterns in its skin.

When does a chameleon change colour?

In the past, it was thought that the chameleon’s color change served to better camouflage the animal. Today we know that this is not the case: the chameleon uses its colour change of the skin primarily for communication. For example, females ready to mate usually show a completely different coloration than pregnant chameleons in order to signal to potential partners “With me you have no more chance”. Males who want to impress other males or threaten someone are extremely colourful and bright. A threatened or inferior chameleon usually shows a very dark to black coloration.

The colour is also used very practically: Chameleons also turn darker in order to capture more sunrays and thus more heat at cooler times of the day. In their sleep, on the other hand, they cool down and become very bright. Sick animals are often also pale in colour, but animals in hibernation also usually show less bright colours.

Can chameleons adapt to the colour of their background?

Each chameleon species has only a very specific colour spectrum. Chameleons cannot change colour depending on their background – this is a myth that is still circulated and diligently shared in the social media, but is simply wrong. Chameleons can only vary their colours within the species and gender-specific colour spectrum. Leaf chameleons have only a very small colour spectrum from black to brown to loamy shades, adapted to their habitat just above the ground. Here the color is not only used for communication, but also for camouflage. Other species have very wide colour scales from bright red to blue, green, yellow to white like the panther chameleons that live in trees and bushes.

Fluorescence under UV light

Chameleons have bone processes and combs, especially in the head and spine area, which are almost exclusively covered by thin scales. In these areas, the skin is particularly thin in contrast to the skin on the rest of the body; they form real “windows”. Bones have long been known to fluoresce under UV light. If a UV lamp (“black light”) is held over a chameleon, the fluorescent bones shimmer through in areas of very thin skin. It is assumed that the bizarre patterns, which occur mainly on the head under UV light, serve as colour changes for intraspecific communication. Chameleons can probably see in the ultraviolet range and thus perceive patterns that are invisible to the human eye. This would not only make it possible for chameleons to distinguish between different species over long distances, but females could also recognize at a distance which chameleons are particularly suitable as potential partners.

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Der Farbwechsel

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Ambilobe
Furcifer minor aus dem Fundort nahe RN7 2018
Furcifer labordi Weibchen

Das erste, was den meisten Menschen zu einem Chamäleon einfällt, ist meist die Tatsache, dass diese Tiere ihre Hautfarbe verändern können. Dieser Artikel geht der Frage auf den Grund, wie dieser Farbwechsel funktioniert und wozu er eigentlich gut ist.

 

Wie funktioniert der Farbwechsel beim Chamäleon?

Die sogenannten Chromatophoren, spezialisierte optische Hautzellen, sind für den Farbwechsel verantwortlich. Sie liegen unter der äußersten Hautschicht (Epidermis) in der Lederhaut in Schichten übereinander. Melanophoren sind für dunkelblaue und schwarze Farben zuständig, Xanthophoren für gelbe und orangefarbige Pigmente, Erythrophoren für rote Pigmente und Guanophoren für silbrig glänzende Pigmente. Bei Chamäleons gibt es aber auch Zellen, die gar keine Pigmente benötigen, um die Haut andersfarbig erscheinen zu lassen. Sie erledigen den Farbwechsel mittels Reflexion.

Guaninkristalle in der S-Iridophoren-Schicht (S-irid. und d) und in der D-Iridophorenschicht (D-irid. und e) unter der Epidermis (ep), links dargestellt im Gewebeschnitt und rechts unter dem Transmissionselektronenmikroskop. Bei d erkennt man, wie unterschiedlich nah die Guaninkristalle bei zwei verschiedenen Hautfarben angeordnet sind. Grafik aus der Veröffentlichung „Photonic crytals cause active color change in chameleons“ von Teyssier et al. 2014, lizensiert unter Creative Commons BY 4.0.

Man unterscheidet eine obere (englisch superifical) Schicht von S-Iridophoren und eine darunter liegende (englisch deep) Schicht von D-Iridophoren. In den Iridophoren befinden sich Guaninkristalle, die der Schlüssel zum Farbwechsel bei Chamäleons sind.

In der oberen S-Iridophoren-Schicht liegen die Guaninkristalle dicht nebeneinander und sind zu kleinen Dreiecken angeordnet. Die Guaninkristalle können ihren Abstand zueinander verändern. Sie funktionieren dabei wie ein photonischer Kristall, der die Bewegung von Photonen (Lichtteilchen) beeinflussen und damit die Farbreflexion des auf die Haut fallenden Lichts ändern kann. Die S-Iridophoren sind verantwortlich dafür, dass sich Chamäleonhaut von Grün zu Gelb oder Orange verfärben kann.

In der unteren D-Iridophoren-Schicht der Chamäleonhaut sind die Guaninkristalle wie kleine Backsteine geformt und liegen eher ungeordnet nebeneinander. Diese Schicht sorgt für die Reflexion in einem Bereich nahe dem Infrarot, was zu einer geringeren Absorption von Sonnenlicht führt. Es dient quasi beim Chamäleon als natürlich eingebauter Wärmeschutz.

Bei rot gefärbten Chamäleons ist ein großer Teil der Iridophoren in der Haut von Erythrophoren ersetzt. Rote Chamäleonhaut kann sich nicht zu anderen Farben verändern, wohl aber zwischen dunklem und leuchtend hellem Rot variieren. Blaue Chamäleonhaut dagegen kann nicht nur heller, sondern sogar weiß werden.

Die obere S-Iridophoren-Schicht ist nur bei adulten Chamäleons vollständig vorhanden, was erklärt, weshalb Jungtiere noch nicht die ganze Farbpracht ihrer älteren Artgenossen hervorbringen. Sie haben nur die D-Iridophoren-Schicht in ihrer Haut und müssen die S-Iridophoren erst noch voll entwickeln.

Der Aufbau der Chamäleonhaut in Iridophoren-Schichten und die Funktion der Guaninkristalle wurde erst 2014 beschrieben. Vorher dachte man, dass der Farbwechsel ausschließlich durch die unterschiedliche Ausbreitung von Farbpigmenten geschieht. Tatsächlich ist Dispersion und Aggregation von Pigmenten für hellere und dunklere Ausprägungen von Farben verantwortlich. Diese Vorstellung konnte aber nicht zufrieden stellend erklären, wieso Chamäleons ihre Farben innerhalb weniger Sekunden wechseln können. Die Guaninkristalle können das – sie erzeugen sogenannte strukturelle Farben, die eben nicht Pigmente als Ursache haben -, womit erst vor wenigen Jahren eine weitere Körperfunktion bei Chamäleons enträtselt wurde. Wie genau Chamäleons die Guaninkristallnetze in ihrer Haut steuern können, wurde bislang noch nicht geklärt. Was man schon weiß: Jeder Farbwechsel geschieht gänzlich unbewusst. Das Chamäleon kann also nicht willkürlich Muster in seiner Haut erzeugen.

 

Wann ändert ein Chamäleon seine Färbung?

Früher dachte man, dass der Farbwechsel des Chamäleons der besseren Tarnung des Tiers dient. Heute weiß man, dass das nicht der Fall ist: Das Chamäleon setzt seine Farbwechsel der Haut vor allem zur Kommunikation ein. Paarungsbereite Weibchen zeigen beispielsweise meist eine ganz andere Färbung als trächtige Chamäleons, um potenziellen Partner zu signalisieren „Bei mir hast du keine Chance mehr“. Männchen, die Artgenossen beeindrucken oder jemandem drohen wollen, färben sich extrem farbenprächtig und leuchtend. Ein bedrohtes oder unterlegenes Chamäleon zeigt meist eine sehr dunkle bis schwarze Färbung – es ärgert sich im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes schwarz.

Die Farbe wird aber auch ganz praktisch genutzt: So färben sich Chamäleons auch dunkler, um zu kühleren Tageszeiten mehr Sonnenstrahlen und damit Wärme einfangen zu können. Im Schlaf dagegen kühlen sie aus und werden ganz hell. Kranke Tiere sind oft ebenfalls blass gefärbt, aber auch Tiere, die sich in der Winterruhe befinden, zeigen meist weniger leuchtende Farben.

Können Chamäleons sich farblich ihrem Untergrund anpassen?

Jede Chamäleonart verfügt stets nur über ein ganz bestimmtes Farbspektrum. Chamäleons können sich also nicht beliebig bunt verfärben oder sich gar ihrem Untergrund anpassen – das ist ein Mythos, der zwar immer noch kursiert und in den sozialen Medien fleißig geteilt wird, aber einfach falsch ist. Chamäleons können ihre Farben nur innerhalb des art- und geschlechtsspezifischen Farbspektrums variieren. Erdchamäleons haben nur ein sehr kleines Farbspektrum von schwarz über braun bis zu lehmigen Farbtönen, angepasst an ihren Lebensraum dicht über dem Erdboden. Hier dient die Farbe also nicht nur zur Kommunikation, sondern auch zur Tarnung. Andere Arten haben sehr breite Farbskalen von grell rot über blau, grün, gelb bis weiß wie die Pantherchamäleons, die in Bäumen und Sträuchern leben.

Fluoreszenz unter UV-Licht

Chamäleons haben vor allem im Kopf- und Rückenbereich Knochenfortsätze und -kämme, die fast nur von dünnen Schuppen bedeckt sind. An diesen Stellen ist die Haut besonders dünn im Gegensatz zur Haut am übrigen Körper, sie bilden richtige „Fenster“. Schon lange weiß man, dass Knochen unter UV-Licht fluoreszieren. Hält man eine UV-Lampe („Schwarzlicht“) über ein Chamäüleon, schimmern die fluoreszierenden Knochen an Stellen ganz dünner Haut durch. Man vermutet, dass die skurrilen Muster, die unter UV-Licht vor allem am Kopf zustande kommen, wie der Farbwechsel zur innerartlichen Kommunikation dienen. Chamäleons können wahrscheinlich im Ultraviolett-Bereich sehen und die Muster, die für das menschliche Auge unsichtbar sind, somit wahrnehmen. Damit wären Chamäleons nicht nur fähig, auf weite Strecken zwischen verschiedenen Arten zu unterscheiden, sondern Weibchen könnten zum Beispiel auch bereits auf Entfernung erkennen, welche Chamäleons als potenzielle Partner besonders geeignet sind.