Local form Mahavelona

Furcifer pardalis Ostküste Rückweg von Mahambo 2018 (1)
Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Mahavelona

loading map - please wait...

Mahavelona -17.681425, 49.514001 Mahavelona, Toamasina, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution of the local form Mahavelona:

Mahavelona (former French Foulpointe) is located on Madagascar’s east coast in region Toamasina. With approximately 20.000 inhabitants, it is a larger city that is directly at the Indian Ocean and thus serves as a local recreation area for the people of Toamasina (Tamatave). Besides the beach, there is much secondary vegetation, some rice fields, and clove plantations, but the city mainly lives on fishery and native tourism. From Toamasina, you can reach Mahavelona via RN5 within two to four hours (about 50 km). The road has become remarkably worse in the last two years. In the north, this local form is bounded by the river Onibe, which flows into the Indian Ocean. To the south, a smaller river delimits the local form of Toamasina (Tamatave).

Appearance of the local form:

Males here are grey-blueish to almost white with slight, grey-blue stripes. When stressed, these specimen can become almost white with deeply blue stripes.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = females, Männchen = males

Since 2015, we have been measuring the weights of chameleons found by us in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) participate. In the long term, we aim to obtain an average weight in relation to snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) for each species from as many measurements as possible. It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so these should be maximum weights on Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, it has so far turned out that there are no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to weight between the individual local forms.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 27 26 26 24 22 22 22 22 24 25 26
Minimum temperature 23 23 23 22 20 18 18 18 18 19 21 22
Maximum temperature 30 30 30 30 28 27 26 26 27 28 29 30
Rain days 20 20 20 15 15 14 17 16 12 13 15 20

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Mahavelona is warm all year long due to the coastal location. During rainy season from October to April, temperatures raise regularly above 30°C in sunny places, nights do not drop below 21°C. Humidity is high and it rains every other day.

Dry season has little lower temperatures with night drops to 15°C at lowest. It rains much less, you have to expect rain showers only every couple of days. Mahavelona is a holiday region für many Madagascans from the highlands, because climate is warm and the sea is close.

Unfortunately, we have no UVB indices for Mahavelona available yet.
Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Mahavelona available yet.

Habitat:

Panther chameleons of this local form can be found at the edges of the roads and on open terrain around Mahavelona. Their habitat consists of huge bushes and large trees. The ground in between is rather wild and high grass is growing on the ground.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Lokalform Mahavelona

Furcifer pardalis Ostküste Rückweg von Mahambo 2018 (1)
Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Mahavelona

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Mahavelona -17.681425, 49.514001 Mahavelona, Toamasina, Madagaskar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Mahavelona:

Mahavelona (früher französisch Foulpointe) liegt an der Ostküste Madagaskars in der Region Toamasina. Mit rund 20.000 Einwohnern handelt es sich um eine größere Stadt, die als Naherholungsgebiet für die Menschen in Toamasina (Tamatave) dient und direkt am Indischen Ozean liegt. Außer den Strand selbst gibt es viel Sekundärvegetation, einige Reisfelder und Nelkenplantagen, die Stadt lebt aber größtenteils von Fischerei und einheimischem Tourismus. Von Toamasina aus erreicht man Mahavelona über die RN5 innerhalb von etwa vier Stunden (etwa 50 km), die Straße hat sich in den letzten beiden Jahren extrem schnell verschlechtert. Im Norden wird diese Lokalform vom Fluss Onibe begrenzt, der in den Indischen Ozean mündet. Nach Süden hin grenzt ein kleinerer Fluss die Lokalform von Toamasina (Tamatave) ab.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Die Männchen sind hier grau-blau bis nahezu weiß mit schwacher, grau-blauer Bänderung. Bei Erregung können die Tiere fast weiß mit tiefblauer Zeichnung werden.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 26 27 26 26 24 22 22 22 22 24 25 26
Minimale Temperatur 23 23 23 22 20 18 18 18 18 19 21 22
Maximale Temperatur 30 30 30 30 28 27 26 26 27 28 29 30
Regentage 20 20 20 15 15 14 17 16 12 13 15 20

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Mahavelona ist durch die Küstenlage ganzjährig warm. Während der Regenzeit von Oktober bis April steigen die Temperaturen regelmäßig über 30°C in der Sonne, nachts gehen sie nicht unter 21°C. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit ist hoch und es regnet jeden zweiten Tag.

Während der Trockenzeit ist es von den Temperaturen her geringgradig kühler mit nächtlichen Abfällen bis maximal 15°C. Es regnet deutlich seltener, nur alle paar Tage geht mal ein Schauer nieder.

Leider sind noch keine UVB-Indizes für Mahavelona verfügbar.
Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Mahavelona verfügbar.

Habitat:

Pantherchamäleons findet man am Straßenrand und im offenen Gelände rund um Mahavelona. Ihr Lebensraum besteht aus riesigen Büschen und großen Bäumen. Der Boden dazwischen ist eher wild, und sehr hohes Gras wächst auf dem Erdboden.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove