Local form Mangaoka

Furcifer pardalis Mangaoka, 2019
Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Mangaoka

loading map - please wait...

Mangaoka -12.311240, 49.123478 Mangaoka, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution of the local form Mangaoka:

The hut village Mangaoka is located in the northwest of Madagascar in the region Diana, actually not far from the big city Antsiranana (French Diego Suarez). However, the way to Mangaoka is very difficult to drive, especially in the rainy season. Sand tracks, mirror-smooth mud hills, and wobbly wooden bridges prevent most people from coming here at all. Mangaoka itself is a small village and unfortunately currently (2019) enormously dirty with lots of garbage and rubbish heaps. Around the village, there is only secondary vegetation: bushes, a few large mango trees, and low scrub. Mangaoka is bordered in the north and west by the Mozambique Channel. Towards Diego Suarez and south there are wide mangrove belts.

Appearance of the local form:

In Mangaoka and surroundings one can find very beautiful, yellow-orange colored male panther chameleons. When not stressed, most animals show green colour in the otherwise yellow-orangeish parts. Some years ago we got some imported animals from a biologist from this region ourselves and successfully bred them.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = females, Männchen = males

Since 2015 we have been measuring the weights of chameleons we have found in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) are participating. So far there are only a few weights, in the long term an average weight in relation to the snout-vent-length It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so they are probably maximum weights in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females do not mean pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In the case of Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, there have been no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to the weight of the individual local forms.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 27 27 27 27 26 25 24 24 25 26 27 27
Minimum temperature 23 23 23 22 21 19 19 19 19 21 22 23
Maximum temperature 31 31 31 31 31 30 30 30 31 31 31 31
Rain days 27 25 20 11 6 6 8 7 5 8 14 23

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Rainy season in Mangaoka from October to April is very, very warm. Temperatures above 30°C are pretty normal. At night, temperatures drop a little but still stay around 25°C. Humidity is enormously high due to constant rainfall.

From April on, climate changes massively. Days still usually have temperatures above 30°C, but at night they drop until 19°C. It rains only few days per month so it gets much drier in this season.

2019 UVI Mangaoka
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Mangaoka available yet.

Habitat:

The panther chameleons here live exclusively in secondary vegetation, between deforested tree remains, bushes and mango trees. You can even find them on fences here – although the “fences” here are simply put together branches in the middle of sprawling greenery, not to compare with the European idea of a “fence”. In the rainy season, everything here is very green, in the dry season, the area becomes yellow, dry and harsh. The pictures show the end of the rainy season.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Lokalform Mangaoka

Furcifer pardalis Mangaoka, 2019
Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Mangaoka

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Mangaoka -12.311240, 49.123478 Mangaoka, Madagaskar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Mangaoka:

Das Hüttendorf Mangaoka liegt im Nordwesten Madagaskars in der Region Diana, eigentlich unweit der Großstadt Antsiranana (französisch Diego Suarez). Allerdings ist der Weg nach Mangaoka rein praktisch vor allem in der Regenzeit sehr schlecht befahrbar. Sandpisten, spiegelglatte Schlammhügel und wackelige Holzbrücken verhindern, dass hier viele Menschen überhaupt hinkommen. Mangaoka selbst ist ein kleines Dorf und leider aktuell (2019) enorm schmutzig mit vielen Müllansammlungen. Um das Dorf existiert nur noch Sekundärvegetation: Büsche, ein paar große Mangobäume und niedriges Gestrüpp. Mangaoka ist im Norden und im Westen vom Kanal von Mosambik begrenzt. In Richtung Diego Suarez und Richtung Süden befinden sich breite Mangrovengürtel.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

In Mangaoka und Umgebung kann man sehr schöne, gelb-orange gefärbte männliche Pantherchamäleons finden. In Ruhefärbung sind die gelb-orangenen Anteile des Körpers häufig grün.Wir hatten vor einigen Jahren selbst einige Importtiere über einen Biologen aus dieser Region bekommen und mit diesen erfolgreich für Nachzuchten gesorgt.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 27 27 27 27 26 25 24 24 25 26 27 27
Minimale Temperatur 23 23 23 22 21 19 19 19 19 21 22 23
Maximale Temperatur 31 31 31 31 31 30 30 30 31 31 31 31
Regentage 27 25 20 11 6 6 8 7 5 8 14 23

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

In Mangaoka ist es während der Regenzeit von Oktober bis April sehr, sehr warm. Temperaturen über 30°C sind ganz normal. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen etwas ab, bleiben aber immer bei um die 25°C. Durch den konstanten Regen ist die Luftfeuchtigkeit enorm hoch.

Ab April ändert sich das Klima massiv. Tagsüber ist es zwar immernoch häufig wärmer als 30°C, aber nachts sinken die Temperaturen jetzt bis auf 19°C ab. Es regnet nur an wenigen Tagen im Monat und wird dadurch deutlich trockener.

2019 UVI Mangaoka

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Mangaoka verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die Pantherchamäleons hier leben ausschließlich in Sekundärvegetation, zwischen abgeholzten Baumresten, Gebüsch und Mangobäumen. Sogar auf Zäunen findet man sie hier mal – wobei die „Zäune“ hier einfach zusammengesteckte Äste mitten im wuchernden Grünen sind, also nicht mit der europäischen Vorstellung eines „Zauns“ zu vergleichen. In der Regenzeit ist alles hier sehr grün, in der Trockenzeit wird die Gegend gelb, trocken und harsch. Die Fotos zeigen das Ende der Regenzeit.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove