Locale Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Antsiranana
Furcifer pardalis Diego Suarez, male, 2019
Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Diego Suarez

loading map - please wait...

Diego Suarez -12.323135, 49.294283 Diègo Suarez, Antsiranana, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution of the locale Antsiranana:

Antsiranana (former French Diego Suarez) is located in north Madagascar on a large bay and is the capital of the eponymic region. With about 80.000 inhabitants and the second largest harbour of Madagascar, Antsiranana is a big city and still strongly influenced by French colonial style. National road RN 6 leads directly to Antsiranana, but the city also has a working small airport. In Antsiranana itself, you cannot find panther chameleons, but you can make a find in the outer areas with secondary vegetation, dry forests, savannah like areas and simple wooden huts. The distribution area of this locale lacks a lot of natural barriers, so it extends until nearby Ambohitra (Joffreville) where the entry of Amber Mountain national park ist.

Appearance of the locale:

This locale has no high colour fidelity and thus shows various colourations. The ground colour is mostly yellow with greenish accents and wine red cross bands. Older specimen often have red to orange accents on throat and head.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Since 2015, we measure the weights of most chameleons that we find in Madagascar, of course only if practicable with calm animals (and working scales). Up to date, we have only few weights. Over the long term, we want to get an average weight in proportion to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) from a large amount of measurements for each Madagascan chameleon species. It is important to know that weights were all measured at the end of the rainy season, when the chameleons have been having the highest food supply of the year. So our table may show maximum weights of chameleons in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, spherical symbols mean pregnant. Despite our earlier assumptions, it has turned out that in Furcifer pardalis, there seem to be no significant differences in SVL-weight-ratio between the different locales.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 27 27 27 27 26 25 24 24 25 26 27 27
Minimum temperature 23 23 23 23 22 21 20 19 20 21 22 23
Maximum temperature 30 30 30 31 30 29 29 29 30 30 31 31
Rain days 24 23 18 9 6 5 7 7 4 6 9 16

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

In Antsiranana, climate differs considerably between dry and rainy season. Generally, it is very warm throughout the year in Madagascar's northernmost region, with day temperatures around 25°C and higher. In sunny places, it is almost always warmer than 30°C.

During rainy season, humidity raises due to almost daily intensive rain. December to February is cyclone season which may bring heavy storms and rainfalls into the region. From April to October, it is dry season in Antsiranana. There is only few precipitation, and the savanna like areas around the city dry up partially. But the region does not stay completely without rain even during dry season, so most trees remain green and in leaf. Sometimes, temperatures in the night in dry season may drop down to 20°C.

2014 UVI Ambanja
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Antsiranana available yet.

Habitat:

The habitat around the region of Diego Suarez is very diverse. You cannot find panther chameleons in the savannas, but everywhere in open landscapes with bushes, some trees and palms. Even inside hotel ground along the coast we’ve seen Furcifer pardalis. In direction of Amber Mountain, the habitat changes and climate becomes cooler. Vegetation is lusher and greener. The ground close to the coast is sandy, in directin of Amber Mountain it’s more earth.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Lokalform Antsiranana (Diego Suarez)

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Antsiranana
Furcifer pardalis Diego Suarez, male, 2019
Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Diego Suarez

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Diego Suarez -12.323135, 49.294283 Diègo Suarez, Antsiranana, Madagaskar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Antsiranana:

Antsiranana (früher französisch Diego Suarez) liegt im Norden Madagaskars an einer großen Bucht und ist Hauptstadt der gleichnamigen Region. Mit rund 80.000 Einwohnern und dem zweitgrößten Hafen Madagaskars ist Antsiranana eine Großstadt, die immernoch stark vom französischen Kolonialstil geprägt ist. Die RN 6 führt direkt nach Antsiranana, die Stadt berherbergt aber auch einen funktionierenden kleinen Flughafen. In Antsiranana selbst findet man keine Pantherchamäleons, aber in den Außengebieten mit Sekundärvegetation, Trockenwald, savannenartigen Gebieten und einfachen Holzhütten sowie rund um die Stadt wird man fündig. Das Verbreitungsgebiet dieser Lokalform erstreckt sich mangels natürlicher Barrieren bis kurz vor Ambohitra (Joffreville), wo der Eingang zum Nationalpark Montagne d’Ambre liegt.

Die Pantherchamäleons dieser Lokalform sind in der Terraristik sehr bekannt und verbreitet, da die Gegend leicht erreichbar und der Export von Chamäleons von dort simpel zu bewerkstelligen ist.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Diese Lokalform ist relativ variabel in ihrer Farbausprägung. Die Grundfarbe ist meist Gelb mit grünen Einschlägen und bordeauxroter Bänderung. Bei jüngeren oder sehr entspannten Tieren ist die Grundfarbe Grün. Bei älteren Tieren zeigen Kehle und Kopf oft rote bis orangefarbene Einschläge.7

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 27 27 27 27 26 25 24 24 25 26 27 27
Minimale Temperatur 23 23 23 23 22 21 20 19 20 21 22 23
Maximale Temperatur 30 30 30 31 30 29 29 29 30 30 31 31
Regentage 24 23 18 9 6 5 7 7 4 6 9 16

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

In Antsiranana unterscheidet sich das Klima in Regen- und Trockenzeit erheblich voneinander. Grundsätzlich ist es ganzjährig sehr warm in der nördlichsten Region Madagaskars mit Tagestemperaturen um die 25°C und höher. In der Sonne ist es fast immer über 30°C warm.

Während der Regenzeit steigt die Luftfeuchtigkeit an, da es so gut wie täglich intensiv regnet. Von Dezember bis Februar können außerdem Zyklone die Gegend heimsuchen. Es ist tagsüber brütend warm. Von April bis Oktober herrscht die Trockenzeit in Antsiranana. Es gibt nur noch wenig Niederschlag, und die savannenartigen Gebiete um die Stadt trocknen teils aus. Ganz ohne Regen bleibt die Region jedoch auch in der Trockenzeit nicht, so dass die Bäume belaubt bleiben. Nachts können die Temperaturen in der Trockenzeit selten mal auf 20°C fallen.

2014 UVI Ambanja

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Antsiranana verfügbar.

Habitat:

Das Habitat in der Region rund um Diego Suarez ist sehr vielgestaltig. In den Savannen sind keine Pantherchamäleons zu finden, wohl aber überall in offenen Landschaften mit Büschen, ein paar Bäumen und Palmen. Sogar innerhalb von Hotelanlagen an der Küste haben wir schon Furcifer pardalis entdeckt. In Richtung des Montagne d’Ambre verändert sich mit zunehmender Höhe das Klima und es wird kühler. Dafür ist die Vegetation grüner und üppiger. Der Boden nahe der Küste ist eher sandig, weiter ab Richtung Gebirge wird er wieder zu Erde.

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove