Local form Vohimana

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Vohimana
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Vohimana
Furcifer pardalis aus Vohimana 2018
Furcifer pardalis aus Vohimana 2018
Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Vohimana

loading map - please wait...

Vohimana -18.917411, 48.468847 Pont de Vohimana, Moramanga, Toamasina, Madagascar (Directions)

Distribution of the local form Vohimana:

Vohimana reserve is close to Andasibe-Mantadia national park in eastern Madagascar, only 150 km and thus a few hours by car via RN2 from the capital Antananarivo. Andasibe-Mantadia, formerly called Périnet, is the most visited national park in Madagascar with a good infrastructure. But Vohimana belongs to the less-visited parts of the area with less infrastructure and some shack villages. It is situated at an elevation of 900 m which is rather unusual for panther chameleons. People here live partially on ecotourism yet, but most still grow maize, rice or bananas or keep cattle.

Appearance of the local form:

The basic color of the males from this local form is red with green color in the posterior part of the body. When stressed they become orange, whereby some individuals become almost completely deep red with white stripes and turquoise dots. We assume that the red color intensifies with growing age.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm

Since 2015, we have been measuring the weights of most chameleons that we found in Madagascar, of course only if practicable with calm animals (and working scales). Up to date, we have only a few weights. Over the long term, we want to get an average weight in proportion to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) from a large number of measurements for each Madagascan chameleon species. It is important to know that weights were all measured at the end of the rainy season when the chameleons have been having the highest food supply of the year. So our table may show the maximum weights of chameleons in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, spherical symbols mean pregnant. Despite our earlier assumptions, it has turned out that in Furcifer pardalis, there seem to be no significant differences in SVL-weight-ratio between the different local forms.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 24 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Vohimana is comparable to region Andasibe-Mantadia. It is also located in eastern highlands on eleveations about 1000 m above sea level. Accordingly, nights can become rather cool with temperatures around 15°C.

During rainy season, it rains daily and intensively. Temperatures reach 25 to 28°C during daytime, in sunny places a little more. In dry season, temperatures are lower and it does not rain daily but still regularly.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Vohimana available yet.

Habitat:

Panther chameleons in Vohimana can be found in banana plantations, open landscape, and highland rainforest. Concerning banana plantations, you shouldn’t think of accurately rowed banana plants on short cut grass. In Madagascar, it’s fully grown areas with old, big trees in between, and there are banana plants all around. The ground is covered by dense undergrowth.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Lokalform Vohimana

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Vohimana
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Vohimana
Furcifer pardalis aus Vohimana 2018
Furcifer pardalis aus Vohimana 2018
Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Vohimana

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Vohimana -18.917411, 48.468847 Pont de Vohimana, Moramanga, Toamasina, Madagascar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Vohimana:

Das Reservat Vohimana liegt nahe des Nationalparks Andasibe-Mantadia im Osten Madagaskars, nur rund 150 km über die RN2 von der Hauptstadt Antananarivo entfernt. Andasibe-Mantadia, früher Périnet genannt, ist der meistbesuchte Nationalpark Madagaskars und entsprechend gut strukturiert. Vohimana gehört jedoch zum weniger besuchten Reservat der Gegend mit weniger Infrastruktur und ein paar Hüttendorfern. Es liegt auf rund 900 m, eine für Pantherchamäleons eher ungewöhnliche Höhe. Ihre Verbeitung zieht sich bis nach Beforona. Die Menschen hier leben zwar bereits teils vom Ökotourismus, die meisten bauen aber nach wie vor Mais, Reis oder Bananen oder halten Zebus.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Die Grundfarbe der Männchen dieser Lokalform ist rot mit grüner Färbung im hinteren Bereich des Körpers. Erregt werden sie orange, wobei einige wenige Individuen sogar fast vollständig tiefrot mit weißer Bänderung und türkisen Tupfen darin sein können. Wir vermuten, dass die Intensität der roten Färbung mit dem Alter der Tiere zunimmt.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 24 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 26 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Vohimana ist vergleichbar mit dem der Region Andasibe-Mantadia. Es liegt ebenfalls im östlichen Hochland auf rund 1000 m über Meeresniveau und entsprechend werden die Nächte oft kühl mit Temperaturen um die 15°C.

Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig und die Temperaturen erreichen tagsüber 25 bis 28°C, an sonnigen Plätzen auch etwas mehr. Während der Trockenzeit liegen die Temperaturen etwas niedriger und es regnet nicht täglich, aber immernoch sehr regemäßig.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Vohimana verfügbar.

Habitat:

Pantherchamäleons findet man hier sowohl in Bananenplantagen, in offenem Gelände als auch im Hochlandregenwald. Bei Bananenplantagen sollte man allerdings nicht an akkurat aufgereihte Bananenpalmen auf kurz geschnittenem Rasen denken: Es handelt sich auf Madagaskar eher um zugewucherte Bereiche mit großen, alten Bäumen dazwischen, in denen auch Bananenpflanzen wachsen. Der Boden ist von relativ viel Unterholz bedeckt.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove