Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Calumma brevicorne

Calumma brevicorne in VOIMMA 2017
Calumma brevicorne in Andasibe
Calumma brevicorne in Andasibe
Calumma brevicorne aus Analamazaotra 2013
Calumma brevicorne
Calumma brevicorne
Calumma brevicorne aus Andasibe
Calumma brevicorne
Calumma brevicorne in Analamazaotra 2018
CITES quotas
2011-13 no specimen, 2014-19 each 500 specimen for legal export

First description:

Günther, 1879

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma brevicorne

loading map - please wait...

Andasibe: -18.938601, 48.428936
Analamazaotra: -18.938763, 48.407822
Analamazaotra - Mitsinjo: -19.011489, 48.485413
Andohahela: -24.676346, 46.750946
Moramanga: -18.947100, 48.230400

Distribution:

Calumma brevicorne with high probability in Analamazaotra, part of Andasibe-Mantadia national park. These chameleons are quite common there, and you can find them without any problems during nightwalks along the streets sleeping on branches. And even during the day you will find some at the edge of the road. Young individuals are easy to find in spring directly in front of the Analamazaotra park office in shrubs and low bushes. The habitat of Calumma brevicorne mainly consists of primary rainforest with very high trees and much undergrowth. They are much less common in open terrain or close to villages.

Appearance and size:

Calumma brevicorne belongs to the larger chameleon species. With a total length of 40 cm, males are larger than females with only 28 cm. This chameleon species has occipital lobes that they can use to threat another individual – they look like elephant ears then. This display behaviour including an inflated gular sac is especially used before matings and in fights between chameleons, but is also used to impress intrusive humans. Males of this species are mainly grey-brown coloured, partially with pinkish accents on the nose appendage, while females have a shorter nose appendages and yellow accents around the eyes, on the casque and on the occipital loves. Yellow colouration is sometimes also seen in males, and males may also have brown areas on the occipital loves. Young animals are variously coloured, from bright yellow to dark brown there is everything inbetween. The dorsal ridge has variously sized spines, that are especially distinct in babies. The following pictures show very young offspring in Amber Mountain.

 

 

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Calumma brevicorne 2018

 

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm

Since 2015, we measure the weights of most chameleons that we find in Madagascar, of course only if practicable with calm animals (and working scales). Up to date, we have only few weights. Over the long term, we want to get an average weight in proportion to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) from a large amount of measurements for each Madagascan chameleon species. It is important to know that weights were all measured at the end of the rainy season, when the chameleons have been having the highest food supply of the year. So our table may show maximum weights of chameleons in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, spherical symbols mean pregnant.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The region around Andasibe with the belonging forests Mantadia and Analamazaotra is located in Madagascar's eastern highlands at elevations between 900 and 1250 m above sea level. Thus temperatures sometimes reach temperatures above 25°C, but thermometers rarely climbs above 30°C or only in sunny places. At night, temperatures always drop to 10° to 15°C.

Humidity in Andasibe's rainforest is high all year long. During rainy season, it rains intensively every day, sometimes rain even lasts for days. But also dry season does not differ much besides the fact of cooler temperatures. It still rains at least every other day, in most years more often. Rain, humidity and temperature drop at night are the key features of the region around Andasibe.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for the region of Andasibe available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Calumma brevicorne in the region around Andasibe. Some are even from finding places of this species. The rainforests of this area mainly consists of younger, slender trees. Calumma brevicorne does not only inhabit rainforest, but also secondary vegetation such as low tamarind trees with protruding crowns, small tree at the edge of the road or feral shrubs.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from the region of Andasibe. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia (Analamazaotra), Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Calumma brevicorne

Calumma brevicorne in VOIMMA 2017
Calumma brevicorne in Andasibe
Calumma brevicorne in Andasibe
Calumma brevicorne aus Analamazaotra 2013
Calumma brevicorne
Calumma brevicorne
Calumma brevicorne aus Andasibe
Calumma brevicorne
Calumma brevicorne in Analamazaotra 2018
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-18 je 500 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Günther, 1879

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma brevicorne

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Andasibe: -18.938601, 48.428936
Analamazaotra: -18.938763, 48.407822
Analamazaotra - Mitsinjo: -19.011489, 48.485413
Andohahela: -24.676346, 46.750946
Moramanga: -18.947100, 48.230400

Verbreitung und Habitat:

Calumma brevicorne findet man mit großer Wahrscheinlichkeit im Analamazaotra, Teil des Nationalparks Andasibe-Mantadia. Diese Chamäleons sind dort recht häufig, und man kann sie ohne Probleme bei Nachtwanderungen schlafend im Geäst und sogar tagsüber am Wegesrand finden. Jungtiere lassen sich vor allem im Frühjahr in Sträuchern und niedrigen Bäumen direkt vor der Park Office von Analamazaotra und in Andasibe finden. Das Habitat von Calumma brevicorne besteht größtenteils aus primärem Regenwald, mit sehr hohen Bäumen und viel Unterholz. In offenen Gebieten oder nahe Dörfern sind sie weniger häufig zu finden.

Aussehen und Größe:

Calumma brevicorne gehört zu den größeren Chamäleonarten. Mit einer Gesamtlänge von etwa 40 cm gegenüber nur 28 cm sind die Männchen die größeren Tiere im Geschlechtervergleich. Diese Chamäleonart verfügt über große Occipitallappen, die bei Erregung zusätzlich zum Aufplustern und Blähen des Kehlsacks weit abgespreizt werden können. Dieses Imponiergehabe kommt besonders vor der Paarung und bei Kommentkämpfen zum Einsatz, wird aber auch gegen aufdringliche Zweibeiner verwendet. Die Männchen haben neben Ihrer überwiegend grau-braunen Färbung teils rosafarbene Akzente auf ihrem nicht abgeflachten Nasenfortsatz, während Weibchen mit kürzerem Nasentfortsatz gelbe Akzente im Bereich der Augen, des Helms und der Occipitallappen zeigen. Die gelbe Färbung tritt auch bei einzelnen Männchen auf, die Männchen zeigen auch braune Bereiche an den Occipitallappen. Jungtiere sind sehr variabel gefärbt, von hellem Gelb bis Dunkelbraun ist hier alles vertreten. Der Rückenkamm ist mit unterschiedlich großen Kegelschuppen versehen, die vor allem bei Babys auffallen. Im Folgenden findest du einige Fotos von Jungtieren der Art zum Vergleich.

 

 

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Calumma brevicorne 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Das heißt, aus den aktuellen Tabellen lässt sich leider noch nicht allzuviel herauslesen, sie können jedoch ein erster Anhaltspunkt sein. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Region um Andasibe mit den dazugehörigen Wäldern Mantadia und Analamazaotra liegen im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen zwiscen 900 und 1250 m über Meeresniveau. Es wird deshalb tagsüber zwar mal über 25°C warm, über die 30°-Grenze klettert das Thermometer aber eher selten oder nur in Sonnenflecken. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen immer tief in den Keller. 10° bis 15° Grad sind die Regel.

Die Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Regenwäldern um Andasibe ist das ganze Jahr über hoch. Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig, manchmal hält der Regen über Tage an. Aber auch die Trockenzeit unterscheidet sich nicht massiv, außer dass sie etwas kühlere Temperaturen aufweist. Es regnet trotzdem mindestens jeden zweiten Tag, eher öfter. Regen, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und nächtlicher Temperatursturz sind daher die zentralen Punkte im Klima Andasibes.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März, April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Region Andasibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma brevicorne in der Region rund um Andasibe. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Die Regenwälder dieser Gegend bestehen vor allem aus jungen, schmaleren Bäumen und das Unterholz ist teils recht licht. Calumma brevicorne lebt hier nicht nur im Regenwald selbst, sondern auch in ausladenden, niedrigen Tamarinden, in dünnen Bäumchen am Straßenrand oder in verwilderter Sekundärvegetation.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus der Region Andasibe. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Nationalpark Andasibe-Mantadia (Analamazaotra), Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove