Browsing Tags

Eier

Chameleon predators

The knowledge about predators of Malagasy chameleons comes mainly from anecdotal reports and so far less systematic research. Also, we observe from time to time how chameleons become victims of other animals in the...

Egg-binding

What means egg-binding? Egg-binding describes the fact that a female cannot lay her ready-to-lay eggs. Causes There are many things that can cause a chameleon to be egg bound: The eggs are too much...

Available lizards

We will probably have offspring of Calumma parsonii parsonii in October/November 2022, color variation orange eye. The eggs have mostly hatched and the juveniles are very active. We were very satisfied with the development...
Schlupf Jungtier Kopf draußen

Hatching

Hatching Chameleon keepers still discuss what provokes a clutch to hatch simultaneously. Changes in barometric pressure as it is the case with beginning, on-going precipitation may play a role. Depending on the species, a...
Egg Monitor Buddy Mk2 mit Ei

Using an Egg Monitor

With an egg monitor, the pulse of an embryo still in the egg can be measured during incubation. Originally the Egg Monitor was developed for bird eggs. Most chameleon eggs are significantly smaller than...
Eier Gelege Inkubation

Incubation of eggs

Successful breeding of a chameleon species is the goal of many engaged chameleon keepers. Only those who breeds chameleons can help a species survive and last in captivity. Additionally, captive-bred chameleons decrease the demand...
Skelett Calumma parsonii parsonii Weibchen

Anatomy

Anatomy means as much as the study of the structure of the body. This site is dedicated to the anatomy of Madagascan chameleons, and it is certainly not complete. We expand the article piece...

Parasites

Parasites are a common problem in chameleons, especially in wild-caught chameleons or captive-bred animals from large breeding stocks. Basically, you distinguish between endoparasites, which colonize the inside of a chameleon, and ectoparasites, which are...

Browsing Tags

Eier

Fressfeinde von Chamäleons

Das Wissen um Fressfeinde madagassischer Chamäleons entstammt mehrheitlich anekdotischen Berichten und bisher weniger systematischer Untersuchung. Auch wir beobachten immer mal wieder, wie Chamäleons in der Wildnis Madagaskars Opfer anderer Tiere werden. Jenkins, Rabearivony und...

Legenot

Legenot – was ist das? Legenot beschreibt erst einmal die Tatsache, dass ein Weibchen legereife Eier nicht ablegen kann. Es gibt allerdings viele verschiedene Gründe, wie es dazu kommen kann. Ursachen Die Ursachen können...
Schlupf Jungtier Kopf draußen

Der Schlupf

Der Schlupf Wodurch der Schlupf eines Geleges ausgelöst wird, wird unter Chamäleonhaltern nach wie vor disskutiert. Luftdruckveränderungen wie bei anhaltendem Regen scheinen ein Auslöser zu sein. Je nach Art schlüpfen Gelege nahezu gleichzeitig über...
Egg Monitor Buddy Mk2 mit Ei

Nutzung eines Egg Monitors

Mit einem Egg Monitor kann der Puls eines noch im Ei befindlichen Embryo während der Inkubation gemessen werden. Ursprünglich wurde der Egg Monitor für Vogeleier entwickelt. Die meisten Chamäleoneier sind deutlich kleiner als die...
Eier Gelege Inkubation

Inkubation der Eier

Eigene erfolgreiche Nachzucht einer Chamäleonart ist das Ziel vieler engagierter Chamäleonhalter. Nur wer selbst nachzüchtet, tut etwas für den Fortbestand der Art in der Terraristik und sorgt gleichzeitig dafür, dass die Nachfrage an Hobbytieren...
Skelett Calumma parsonii parsonii Weibchen

Anatomie

Anatomie bedeutet soviel wie die Lehre vom Bau des Körpers. Diese Seite widmet sich der Anatomie madagassischer Chamäleons, und sie ist sicher nicht ganz vollstänig. Wir erweitern den Artikel Stück für Stück, so dass...

Parasiten

Parasiten sind ein häufig vorkommendes Problem bei Chamäleons, insbesondere bei Wildfängen oder Nachzuchten aus großen Beständen. Ganz grundsätzlich unterscheidet man zwischen Endoparasiten, die das Innere eines Chamäleons besiedeln, und Ektoparasiten, die sich nur auf...