Local form Ampitabe

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Lac Ampitabe
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Lac Ampitabe
Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Ampitabe

loading map - please wait...

Ampitabe -18.595030, 49.216733 Palmarium Hotel Ankanin/\'Nofy, Vohibinany, Toamasina, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution of the local form Ampitabe:

Lake Ampitabe is located about 90 km south of Toamasina (Tamatave), only about 200 m away from the Indian Ocean on the eastcoast of Madagascar. At the edge of the lake are some hotels (e.g. Akanin’ny Nofy), the surrounding area is almost completely privately owned. You can only reach it by boat via Canal des Pangalanes, there is no overland route leading to the lake. The secondary vegetation around the lake has neither plantations nor rice fields, so the habitat for panther chameleons has been remaining widely untouched for years. Usually panther chameleons avoid to move very close to the lake, but prefer living at least several meters deep in the forest.

Appearance of the local form:

The male panther chameleons from lake Ampitabe are orange-red colored, some specimen are deeply red with white stripes. We assume that the red color may intensify with advancing age. It is unclear whether this local form originally had exactly these colors around lake Ampitabe. There are rumors that the former owner of some of the hotels collected animals from other areas and brought them here just for tourists.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Since 2015, we have been measuring the weights of most chameleons that we found in Madagascar, of course only if practicable with calm animals (and working scales). Up to date, we have only a few weights. Over the long term, we want to get an average weight in proportion to the snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) from a large number of measurements for each Madagascan chameleon species. It is important to know that weights were all measured at the end of the rainy season when the chameleons have been having the highest food supply of the year. So our table may show maximum weights of chameleons in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, spherical symbols mean pregnant. Despite our earlier assumptions, it has turned out that in Furcifer pardalis, there seem to be no significant differences in SVL-weight-ratio between the different local forms.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 26 26 25 24 22 21 21 22 23 25 26
Minimum temperature 22 23 21 19 17 17 17 17 18 19 21 22
Maximum temperature 30 30 30 29 28 26 25 27 26 27 29 30
Rain days 20 19 20 15 14 13 16 15 13 13 15 19

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Das Klima am See Ampitabe und in Manambato ist ganzjährig warm, und der nahe Indische Ozean bringt meist eine leichte Brise mit sich. Deshalb ist dies ein beliebter Entspannungsort für Reisende - kalt wird es hier nie. Tagsüber können die Temperaturen gut die 30°C übersteigen, in der Trockenzeit von April bis Oktober liegen sie geringfügig niedriger.

Nachts kühlen die Temperaturen etwas ab. Weit unter 20°C geht die Nachttemperatur jedoch nie. Das ganze Jahr über fällt moderat viel Niederschlag, so dass der Regenwald stetig grün bleibt.

2015 UVI Lac Ampitabe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (beginning of April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for lake Ampitabe available yet.

Habitat:

The habitat close to lake Ampitabe consists of lowland rainforest with slender, young trees and a soft, elastic foliage layer on the ground. Some fruit trees such as mangos or lychees can be found at the edge of the forest. Panther chameleons mainly settle the areas inside the rainforest but can deal with a Ravenala to climb at sometimes, too. We’ve not found panther chameleons close to the shore here.

Here are some 360° pictures from lake Ampitabe. With the mouse, you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the pictures open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to execute the images in full-screen mode. Have fun watching!

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat Akanin’ny Nofy, Region Atsinanana, Ostküste, Madagaskar, März 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Lokalform Ampitabe

Der See Ampitabe liegt rund 90 km südlich von Toamasina (Tamatave), nur rund 200 m entfernt vom indischen Ozean an der Ostküste Madagaskars. Am Rande des Sees liegen einige wenige Hotels (z.B. Akanin’ny Nofy), das umgebende Gelände ist nahezu vollständig in Privatbesitz. Er ist ausschließlich per Boot über den Canal des Pangalanes zu erreichen, einen Landweg zum See gibt es nicht. In der Sekundärvegetation rund um den See gibt es weder Plantagen noch Reisfelder, so dass der Lebensraum für Pantherchamäleons weitgehend unberührt bleibt. Die Tiere bewegen sich entsprechnd wenig in der direkten Umgebung des Sees, sondern bevorzugen den Aufenthalt etliche Meter davon entfernt im Wald.

Die männlichen Pantherchamäleons vom See Ampitabe sind orange-rot, einige Tiere sind tiefrot mit weißer Bänderung. Wir vermuten, dass die rote Färbung sich mit zunehmendem Alter intensiviert. Bei dieser Lokalform ist etwas unklar, ob die Pantherchamäleons ursprünglich tatsächlich in dieser Farbvariante am See Ampitabe vorkamen. Es gibt Vermutungen, dass der ehemalige Besitzer einiger Hotels Tiere aus anderen Gegenden hier ansiedelte, um den Touristen „mehr“ zu bieten.

Gewichtstabelle

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2016

Klimatabelle für Furcifer pardalis vom See Ampitabe

Monat Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durch. 26 26 26 25 24 22 21 21 22 23 25 26
Min. 22 23 21 19 17 17 17 17 18 19 21 22
Max. 30 30 30 29 28 26 25 27 26 27 29 30
Rt. 20 19 20 15 14 13 16 15 13 13 15 19
Durch. = Durchschnittstemperatur, Min.= Minimaltemperatur, Max.=Maximaltemperatur, Rt.= Regentage

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. „Durchschnittliche Temperatur“ bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätstzeit der Chamäleons am See Ampitabe gemessen. Dabei sind die verschiedenen angegebenen Wetterlagen zu beachten, die starke Auswirkung auf die Messdaten haben. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

UV-Index Akanin'ny Nofy

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen typische Ausschnitte des Habitats von Furcifer pardalis um den See Ampitabe.

Habitat Lac Ampitabe

Dichter Wald mit relativ jungen Bäumen

Habitat Lac Ampitabe

Blick auf den Ampitabe von einem Aussichtspunkt über dem Wald

Habitat Lac Ampitabe

Wald nahe des See Ampitabe

Habitat Ampitabe 1

Typisches Habitat im Wald um den See Ampitabe

Habitat Ampitabe 2

Der Wald reicht relativ nahe an den Strand

icon-car.pngKML-LogoFullscreen-LogoQR-code-logoGeoJSON-LogoGeoRSS-LogoWikitude-Logo
Ampitabe

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Ampitabe -18.595030, 49.216733

Kommentare sind geschlossen.

Nach oben scrollen