Calumma gastrotaenia

Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018
Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018
Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018
CITES quotas
2011-13 no specimen, 2014-16 each 500 specimen, 2017 for the first time 1000, 2018 and 2019 each 500 specimen for legal export

First description:

Boulenger, 1888

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma gastrotaenia

loading map - please wait...

Anjozorobe: -18.448347, 48.015747
Anosibe An\'Ala: -19.438100, 48.206100
Andasibe: -18.938114, 48.430481
Analamazaotra: -18.938763, 48.408508
Analamazaotra - Mitsinjo: -19.024472, 48.473053
Ambavaniasy: -18.945400, 48.513700
Mantadia: -18.799718, 48.479919
Moramanga: -18.947100, 48.230400

Distribution:

Calumma gastrotaenia belongs to the chameleon species that prefer living in the dense rainforests of the eastern highlands. We could find this chameleon species at elevations of 1200 meters above sea level. Lucky people can find these small chameleons in the rainforests of Analamazaotra in high shrubs as well as along the road to Andasibe at night sleeping on small branches. Over the last years, we have been watching a strong decrease in specimen numbers, and up to date, this species can only rarely be found anymore in Andasibe. The best place to see the animals is Anjozorobe in the northern highlands of Madagascar. In spring you can find whole “kindergartens” of this species in the forest at only a few hundred metres.

Appearance and size:

Calumma gastrotaenia belongs to the small or mid-sized chameleon species. Males reach a length of 14 cm, while females grow up to 13 cm. Scalation is homogenous, with a small dorsal crest in males. The males’ colour is bright green with yellow accents and a white lateral stripe from the eye to the tail that may be bright blue above the eye lids. The casque rises in direction to the back, in females it stays low. The ventral crest has two paralell running white lines. During mating time, Calumma gastrotaenia sometimes also show blue accents. The young specimen are bright green and really tiny.

Reproduction:

Young Calumma gastrotaenia hatch from January to March, they are easier to find because they always sleep at the end of leaves.

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The region around Andasibe with the belonging forests Mantadia and Analamazaotra is located in Madagascar's eastern highlands at elevations between 900 and 1250 m above sea level. Thus temperatures sometimes reach temperatures above 25°C, but thermometers rarely climbs above 30°C or only in sunny places. At night, temperatures always drop to 10° to 15°C.

Humidity in Andasibe's rainforest is high all year long. During rainy season, it rains intensively every day, sometimes rain even lasts for days. But also dry season does not differ much besides the fact of cooler temperatures. It still rains at least every other day, in most years more often. Rain, humidity and temperature drop at night are the key features of the region around Andasibe.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for the region of Andasibe available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Calumma gastrotaenia in the rainforests of Andasibe and Anjozorobe. Both rainforests are rather dense with small clearings inbetween. The animals live on slender trees and in high bushes.

Hereinafter you can find some 360° pictures from Andasibe. You can move inside these pictures via mouse click in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, a new window with an enlarged view will open. You will also have the opportunity to look at the pictures in full screen mode. Enjoy!

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Calumma gastrotaenia

Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018
Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018
Calumma gastrotaenia aus Anjozorobe 2018
CITES-Quoten
2011-13 keine Tiere, 2014-16 je 500 Tiere, 2017 erstmals 1000 Tiere, 2018 wieder 500 Tiere für den legalen Export freigegeben

Erstbeschreibung:

Boulenger, 1888

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma gastrotaenia

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Anjozorobe: -18.448347, 48.015747
Anosibe An\'Ala: -19.438100, 48.206100
Andasibe: -18.938114, 48.430481
Analamazaotra: -18.938763, 48.408508
Analamazaotra - Mitsinjo: -19.024472, 48.473053
Ambavaniasy: -18.945400, 48.513700
Mantadia: -18.799718, 48.479919
Moramanga: -18.947100, 48.230400

Verbreitung:

Calumma gastrotaenia gehört zu den Chamäleonarten, die das Leben im dichten Regenwalde des östlichen Hochlandes bevorzugen. Dabei konnten wir diese Chamäleonart bisher bis in Höhenlagen von 1200 Meter über NN finden. In den Regenwäldern von Analamazaotra in hohen Büschen sowie an der Straße nach Andasibe kann man diese kleinen Chamäleons nachts mit einer guten Portion Glück auf Ihren Schlafästen finden und beobachten. In den letzten Jahren haben wir allerdings eine stark abnehmende Tendenz beobachtet, und aktuell ist diese Art nur noch selten in Andasibe zu finden. Der beste Ort, um die Tiere noch zu sehen, ist Anjozorobe im nördlichen Hochland Madagaskars. Hier findet man im Frühjahr ganze „Kindergärten“ der Art im Wald auf nur wenigen Hundert Metern.

Aussehen und Größe:

Calumma gastrotaenia gehört zu den kleinen Chamäleonarten. Die Männchen erreichen eine Größe bis zu 14 cm, wobei das Weibchen rund 13 cm groß wird. Die Beschuppung ist homogen, mit einem kleinen Rückenkamm bei den männlichen Tieren. Die Farbe ist bei den Männchen grün mit gelben Farbakzenten und einem weißen Lateralstreifen von den Augen bis zum Schwanz, wobei der Streifen über den Augenlidern hellblau sein kann. Ihr Helm steigt zum Rücken hin leicht an, bei den Weibchen bleibt er flach. Am Bauchkamm befinden sich bei beiden Geschlechtern zwei parallel verlaufende, weiße Linien. In der Paarungszeit weisen Calumma gastrotaenia auch manchmal blaue Farbanteile auf. Die Jungtiere sind leuchtend neongrün und winzig.

Fortpflanzung:

Die Jungtiere von Calumma gastrotaenia schlüpfen im Zeitraum Januar bis März, sie sind besonders leicht zu entdecken und schlafen an Blattenden.

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Region um Andasibe mit den dazugehörigen Wäldern Mantadia und Analamazaotra liegen im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen zwiscen 900 und 1250 m über Meeresniveau. Es wird deshalb tagsüber zwar mal über 25°C warm, über die 30°-Grenze klettert das Thermometer aber eher selten oder nur in Sonnenflecken. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen immer tief in den Keller. 10° bis 15° Grad sind die Regel.

Die Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Regenwäldern um Andasibe ist das ganze Jahr über hoch. Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig, manchmal hält der Regen über Tage an. Aber auch die Trockenzeit unterscheidet sich nicht massiv, außer dass sie etwas kühlere Temperaturen aufweist. Es regnet trotzdem mindestens jeden zweiten Tag, eher öfter. Regen, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und nächtlicher Temperatursturz sind daher die zentralen Punkte im Klima Andasibes.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März, April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Region Andasibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma gastrotaenia im Regenwald von Andasibe und Anjozorobe. Einige sind direkt von Fundorten der Art. Beide Regenwälder sind sehr dicht mit kleinen Lichtungen dazwischen. Die Tiere leben auf schlanken Bäumen und in hohen Gebüschen.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Andasibe. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Reservat V.O.I.M.M.A., Andasibe, Region Alaotra-Mangoro, östliches Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2017 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA