Calumma globifer

Calumma globifer
Calumma globifer in Mandraka 2018
Calumma globifer in Mandraka 2018
Calumma globifer in Mandraka 2018
CITES quotas
no legal export possible

First description:

(Günther, 1879)

Origin of the species name:

The German zoologist Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, then director of the Zoological Department of the Natural History Museum of London (Great Britain), borrowed the name of this chameleon species from Latin. Globus means translated as “sphere”. Günther was alluding to the strongly rounded nasal processes of the males, which appeared to him to be very spherically rounded.

Export as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Calumma globifer

loading map - please wait...

Anjozorobe: -18.443136, 47.988281
Mandraka: -18.911900, 47.920000
Betatao: -18.135412, 47.817993
Ambohitantely: -18.195434, 47.290306

Distribution:

Calumma globifer has its distribution area in the residual rainforests of the central highlands. You can find this chameleon species east of Antananarivo in the area around Mandraka and north of Antananarivo in the forests of Anjozorobe. Both habitats are threatened by slash-and-burn agriculture, and both are hardly protected and thus disappearing every year more.

Appearance & size:

With a total length of 31 to 40 cm, these chameleons belong to the large chameleons. Males have two nose appendages and small, hardly visible occipital loves (only one millimeter). Neither belly nor back or throat has spines, but the whole scalation is heterogeneous. Coloration is varying and has different shades of green with dark stripes or a dark lateral stripe. Male Calumma globifer have a whitish-yellow pattern on their throats.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperature 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

The region around Andasibe with the belonging forests Mantadia and Analamazaotra is located in Madagascar's eastern highlands at elevations between 900 and 1250 m above sea level. Thus temperatures sometimes reach temperatures above 25°C, but thermometers rarely climbs above 30°C or only in sunny places. At night, temperatures always drop to 10° to 15°C.

Humidity in Andasibe's rainforest is high all year long. During rainy season, it rains intensively every day, sometimes rain even lasts for days. But also dry season does not differ much besides the fact of cooler temperatures. It still rains at least every other day, in most years more often. Rain, humidity and temperature drop at night are the key features of the region around Andasibe.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (March, April) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for the region of Andasibe available yet.

Habitat:

The following pictures show the habitat of Calumma globifer in Anjozorobe and close to Mandraka. This species prefers the residues of intact rainforest in both regions and loves areas with old, big trees and big branches. In secondary vegetation, you can only find them close to Mandraka, and there may be only due to the ongoing slash-and-burn agriculture of the surrounding former forests. They like mossy branches, twined lianas and mostly climbs in the crowns or at least above your head.

Here are some 360° pictures from Anjozorobe-Angavo. With the mouse, you can rotate in all directions. If you click on the Theta logo, the pictures open in an enlarged view in a separate window. There is also the possibility to execute the images in full-screen mode. Have fun watching it!

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Calumma globifer

Calumma globifer
Calumma globifer in Mandraka 2018
Calumma globifer in Mandraka 2018
Calumma globifer in Mandraka 2018
CITES-Quoten
kein legaler Export möglich

Erstbeschreibung:

(Günther, 1879)

Herkunft des Artnamens:

Der deutsche Zoologe Albert Carl Ludwig Gotthilf Günther, damals Direktor der Zoologischen Abteilung des Naturhistorischen Museums von London (Großbritannien), entlehnte den Namen dieser Chamäleonart dem Lateinischen. Globus bedeutet übersetzt so viel wie „Kugel“. Günther spielte damit auf die stark abgerundeten Nasenfortsätze der Männchen an, die ihm sehr kugelig abgerundet erschienen.

Als KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Calumma globifer

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Anjozorobe: -18.443136, 47.988281
Mandraka: -18.911900, 47.920000
Betatao: -18.135412, 47.817993

Verbreitung:

Calumma globifer hat sein Verbreitungsgebiet in den übrig gebliebenen Regenwäldern des zentralen Hochlandes. Man findet diese Chamäleonart östlich von Antananarivo in den Gegenden um Mandraka (nahe Andasibe) und nördlich von Antananarivo in den Wäldern von Anjozorobe. Durch Brandrodung und Abholzung sind die Lebensräume stark bedroht, zumal ein Großteil des Vorkommens nicht geschützt ist und jährlich immer weiter schwindet.

Größe & Aussehen:

Mit einer Gesamtlänge von 31 bis 40 cm gehören diese Chamäleons zu den großen Arten unter ihresgleichen. Die Männchen haben zwei schaufelförmige Nasenfortsätze und sehr schmale, kaum sichtbare Occipitallappen (kaum mehr als ein mm breit). Weder an Bauch noch an Rücken oder Kehlsack sind Kegelschuppen zu finden, dafür ist die gesamte Beschuppung sehr ungleichmäßig. Die Färbung ist sehr variabel, und zeigt verschiedene Grüntöne mit teils dunkler Bänderung oder einem dunklen Lateralstreifen. Männliche Calumma globifer zeigen eine weißlich-gelbe Streifung am Kehlsack.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 22 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 27 24 19 17 18 21 20 15 16 20 25 26

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Region um Andasibe mit den dazugehörigen Wäldern Mantadia und Analamazaotra liegen im östlichen Hochland Madagaskars auf Höhen zwiscen 900 und 1250 m über Meeresniveau. Es wird deshalb tagsüber zwar mal über 25°C warm, über die 30°-Grenze klettert das Thermometer aber eher selten oder nur in Sonnenflecken. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen immer tief in den Keller. 10° bis 15° Grad sind die Regel.

Die Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Regenwäldern um Andasibe ist das ganze Jahr über hoch. Während der Regenzeit regnet es täglich ausgiebig, manchmal hält der Regen über Tage an. Aber auch die Trockenzeit unterscheidet sich nicht massiv, außer dass sie etwas kühlere Temperaturen aufweist. Es regnet trotzdem mindestens jeden zweiten Tag, eher öfter. Regen, hohe Luftfeuchtigkeit und nächtlicher Temperatursturz sind daher die zentralen Punkte im Klima Andasibes.

2014 UVI Andasibe 2016 UVI Andasibe

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (März, April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für die Region Andasibe verfügbar.

Habitat:

 

Die folgenden Fotos zeigen weitere Ausschnitte aus dem Habitat von Calumma globifer in Anjozorobe und nahe Mandraka. Die Art bevorzugt die Reste intakten Regenwaldes beider Regionen und dabei vor allem Gebiete mit enorm großen, aber dennoch schlanken Bäumen. In Sekundärvegetation sind sie eigentlich nur nahe Mandraka zu finden, und dort wahrscheinlich auch nur auf Grund der anhaltenden Abholzung der umliegenden Wälder. Sie mögen bemooste Äste, gewundene Lianen und halten sich fast immer in den Baumkronen oder zumindest über Kopfhöhe auf.

Im Folgenden findest du einige 360°-Bilder aus Anjozorobe-Angavo. Mit der Maus kann man sich darin in alle Richtungen drehen. Wenn man auf das Theta-Logo klickt, öffnen sich die Bilder in vergrößerter Ansicht in einem eigenen Fenster. Dort besteht auch die Möglichkeit, die Bilder im Vollbildmodus auszuführen. Viel Spaß beim Anschauen!

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Regenwald im Schutzgebiet Anjozorobe-Angavo, Region Analamanga, zentrales Hochland, Madagaskar, April 2018 – Spherical Image – RICOH THETA

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove