Local form Fenoarivo

Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Fenoarivo

loading map - please wait...

Fenoarivo -17.102322, 49.122141 Fénérive Est, Toamasina, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution of the local form Fenoarivo:

Fenoarivo (former French Fénérive) is a hut village in eastern Madagascar in Analanjirofo region. It is located along RN5, the road between Toamasina (Tamatave) leading to Nosy Boraha (St. Marie), approximately 130 km north of the first-mentioned. The village is surrounded by secondary vegetation, rice fields, coffee, cloves, and cocoa plantations and not really worth a visit. From the huts, it is only a few hundred meters to walk until the Indian Ocean.

Appearance of the local form:

Panther chameleons in and around Fenoarivo are relatively unknown but partially have a spectacular coloring. The males are blueish-dirty-white, and when stressed they become almost completely white with only a little red pattern (sometimes only some red dots, sometimes red stripes). Here and there, this unique coloration gave the name “snowball” to panther chameleons of this local form, although the local forms of Soanierana Ivongo, Mahavelona and Nosy Boraha (St. Marie) may also have some almost white specimen.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = females, Männchen = males

Since 2015, we have been measuring the weights of chameleons found by us in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) participate. In the long term, we aim to obtain an average weight in relation to snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) for each species from as many measurements as possible. It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so these should be maximum weights on Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, it has so far turned out that there are no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to weight between the individual local forms.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 26 26 26 24 22 20 20 20 21 23 24 26
Minimum temperature 22 22 21 19 16 14 14 15 15 18 19 21
Maximum temperature 31 31 31 29 27 25 25 26 27 8 29 30
Rain days 14 13 9 7 6 5 6 5 4 5 9 13

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate in Fenoarivo and Soanierana Ivongo is warm all year long due to the coastal location. During rainy season from October to April, temperatures raise regularly above 30°C in sunny places, nights do not drop below 21°C. Humidity is high and it rains every other day.

Dry season has little lower temperatures with night drops to 15°C at lowest. It rains much less, you have to expect rain showers only every couple of days.

Unfortunately, we have no UVB indices for Fenoarivo and Soanierana Ivongo available yet.
Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Fenoarivo and Soanierana Ivongo available yet.

Habitat:

Panther chameleons here inhabit open landscapes with trees, palms and lots of bushes. They usually avoid the savanna-like areas directly at the sea.

 

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Lokalform Fenoarivo

Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Fenoarivo

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Fenoarivo -17.102322, 49.122141 Fénérive Est, Toamasina, Madagaskar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Fenoarivo:

Fenoarivo (früher französisch Fénérive) ist ein kleines Hüttendorf im Osten Madagaskars in der Region Analanjirofo. Es liegt an der RN5 direkt auf dem Weg von Toamasina (Tamatave) nach Nosy Boraha (St. Marie), etwa 130 km nördlich von ersterem. Das Dorf ist umgeben von Sekundärvegetation, Reisfeldern, Kaffee-, Nelken- und Kakaoplantagen und nicht wirklich einen Besuch wert. Von den Hütten ist es nur wenige hundert Meter bis zum Indischen Ozean.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Die Pantherchamäleons in und um Fenoarivo sind zwar relativ unbekannt, haben aber teils eine recht spektakuläre Färbung. Die männlichen Tiere sind bläulich-schmutzig-weiß, und werden bei Erregung fast vollständig weiß mit nur wenig roter Zeichnung (teils nur ein paar Punkte bis hin zu einer roten Bänderung). Hier und da hat diese einzigartige Farbgebung zur Bezeichnung „snowball“ für Pantherchamäleons dieser Lokalform geführt, obwohl die Lokalformen Soanierana Ivongo, Mahavelona und Nosy Boraha (St. Marie) ebenfalls fast weiße Tiere hervorbringen können.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 26 26 26 24 22 20 20 20 21 23 24 26
Minimale Temperatur 22 22 21 19 16 14 14 15 15 18 19 21
Maximale Temperatur 31 31 31 29 27 25 25 26 27 8 29 30
Regentage 14 13 9 7 6 5 6 5 4 5 9 13

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima in Fenoarivo und dem nahen Soanierana Ivongo ist durch die Küstenlage ganzjährig warm. Während der Regenzeit von Oktober bis April steigen die Temperaturen regelmäßig über 30°C in der Sonne, nachts gehen sie nicht unter 21°C. Die Luftfeuchtigkeit ist hoch und es regnet jeden zweiten Tag.

Während der Trockenzeit ist es von den Temperaturen her geringgradig kühler mit nächtlichen Abfällen bis maximal 15°C. Es regnet deutlich seltener, nur alle paar Tage geht mal ein Schauer nieder.

Leider sind noch keine UVB-Indizes für Fenoarivo und Soanierana Ivongo verfügbar.
Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Fenoarivo und Soanierana Ivongo verfügbar.

Habitat:

Pantherchamäleons besiedeln hier offene Landschaften mit Bäumen, Palmen und viel Gebüsch. In die savannenartigen Gebiete direkt am Meer wagen sie sich meist eher nicht vor.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove