Local form Nosy Boraha (St. Marie)

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform St. Marie
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform St. Marie
Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Nosy Boraha (St. Marie)

loading map - please wait...

Nosy Boraha (St. Marie) -16.894420, 49.905941 Sainte Marie, Analanjirofo, Toamasina, Madagascar (Directions)

Distribution of the local form Nosy Boraha:

The island Nosy Boraha, better known under its French name St. Marie, is located on Madagascar’s east coast in the Indian Ocean, in the region of Toamasina. The largest city of this about 50 km long and two to seven kilometers broad island is Ambodifotatra with 16.000 inhabitants. Most people here subsist on tourism and fishery. The Malagasy name Nosy Boraha means as much as island of Abraham, which traces back to a former Arabic population. Today, a small airport offers daily flights to Antananarivo, otherwise, you can reach St. Marie by boat from Soanierana Ivongo (depending on the waves 2-3 hours drive). Mainly the white dreamlike beaches of St. Marie are famous, in many places, you can snorkel and dive.

Appearance of the local form:

On the island, you can also find a local form of panther chameleons with high color fidelity. Despite its isolation from onshore local forms such as Mahavelona and Soanierana Ivongo, it looks quite similar to those. Males here wear white-greyish colors, partially blueish with rust-red stripes.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = females, Männchen = males

Since 2015 we have been measuring the weights of chameleons we have found in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) are participating. So far there are only a few weights, in the long term an average weight in relation to the snout-vent-length It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so they are probably maximum weights in Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females do not mean pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In the case of Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, there have been no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to the weight of the individual local forms.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimum temperature 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximum temperatures 27 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 24 25 26 27
Rain days 18 20 21 13 11 11 15 14 15 16 20 25

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Nosy Boraha island is located at Madagascar's east coast and has a pleasant warm climate all year long. During rainy season temperatures are a little higher with average temperatures in the 20ies and a slight night drop to 20°C. At daytime it usually has more than 30°C. In dry season, temperatures are a little cooler during day and nighttime.

Precipitation on Nosy Boaha is rather moderate all year long. Rainy season of course has more intense rain, but also "dry" season has regular rainfall. The island is a common destination for foreign tourists and Malagasy vacationers which is mainly due to the mild climate and the beautiful beaches.

2016 UVI Nosy Boraha St. Marie
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Nosy Boraha (St. Marie) available yet.

Habitat:

The easiest way to find them is searching the hibiscus hedges along the street from Ambodifotatra to Nosy Nato. Generally, they occur everywhere on the island in bushes, shrubs and trees. They only avoid the beach areas directly at the sea. The ground is a mixture of soil and sand. The small island Nosy Nato has no panther chameleons.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Lokalform Nosy Boraha (St. Marie)

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform St. Marie
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform St. Marie
Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Nosy Boraha (St. Marie)

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Nosy Boraha (St. Marie) -16.894420, 49.905941 Sainte Marie, Analanjirofo, Toamasina, Madagascar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Nosy Boraha:

Die Insel Nosy Boraha, besser bekannt unter ihrem französischen Namen St. Marie, liegt an der Ostküste Madagaskars in der Region Toamasina im indischen Ozean. Die größte Stadt der 50 km langen und zwei bis sieben km breiten Insel ist Ambodifotatra mit rund 16.000 Einwohnern. Die meisten Menschen leben hier von Tourismus und Fischerei. Der madagassische Name Nosy Boraha bedeutet soviel wie Insel des Abraham, was auf eine ehemals arabische Bevölkerungsgruppe zurückzuführen ist.  Ein kleiner Flughafen bietet heute tägliche Flüge nach Antananarivo an, ansonsten ist St. Marie mit dem Boot von Soanierana Ivongo aus gut zu erreichen (abhängig vom Wellengang etwa 2-3 Stunden Fahrt). Vor allem die weißen Traumstrände St. Maries sind berühmt, an vielen Orten kann man tauchen und schnorcheln.

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Auf der Insel findet man auch eine sehr farbtreue Lokalform von Pantherchamäleons, die trotz der Isolation auf einer Insel den Lokalformen von Mahavelona und Soanierana Ivongo ähnelt. Die Männchen hier tragen ein weiß-graues, teils bläuliches Farbkleid mit rost-roter Bänderung.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 23 24 23 23 21 19 19 19 20 21 22 23
Minimale Temperatur 20 20 20 19 18 15 15 15 15 16 18 19
Maximale Temperatur 27 27 27 27 27 25 23 23 24 25 26 27
Regentage 18 20 21 13 11 11 15 14 15 16 20 25

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Die Insel Nosy Boraha liegt an der Ostküste Madagaskars und weist das ganze Jahr über ein angenehm warmes Klima auf. In der Regenzeit ist es etwas wärmer mit durchschnittlichen Temperaturen mittig in den 20ern und einer geringen Nachtabsenkung bis 20°C. Tagsüber wird es regelmäßig über 30°C warm. In der Trockenzeit ist es ein kleines bisschen kühler, sowohl tags als auch nachts.

Der Niederschlag auf Nosy Boraha ist über das ganze Jahr eher moderat. In der Regenzeit regnet es intensiver, aber auch in der Trockenzeit fällt regelmäßig Niederschlag. Die Insel ist ein häufiges Ziel für ausländische Touristen und madagassische Urlauber, was vor allem auf das milde Klima und die schönen Strände zurückzuführen ist.

2016 UVI Nosy Boraha St. Marie

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Ende März) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Nosy Boraha (St. Marie) verfügbar.

Habitat:

Am einfachsten zu finden sind die Tiere in den Hibiskushecken entlang der Straße von Ambodifotatra in Richtung Nosy Nato. Sie kommen aber grundsätzlich überall auf der Insel in Büschen, Sträuchern und Bäumen vor. Lediglich direkt am Meer sind sie eher selten zu finden. Der Boden ist mehrheitlich ein Gemisch aus Sand und Erde. Auf der kleinen, vorgelagerten Insel Nosy Nato gibt es keine Pantherchamäleons.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove