Local form Nosy Be

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Nosy Be
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Nosy Be
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Nosy Be
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Nosy Be Weibchen
Get directionsExport as KML for Google Earth/Google MapsOpen standalone map in fullscreen modeCreate QR code image for standalone map in fullscreen modeExport as GeoJSONExport as GeoRSSExport as ARML for Wikitude Augmented-Reality browser
Nosy Be

loading map - please wait...

Nosy Be -13.336175, 48.271179 Nosy Be, Diana, Antsiranana, Madagaskar (Directions)

Distribution of the local form Nosy Be:

The island Nosy Be (which means simply as much as “big island”) is located in northwestern Madagascar in Diana region. It has a size of approximately 312 km² and with 45.000 inhabitants, it is strongly populated. Most people of the largest city of the island, Andoany (French Hellville), live from fishing and tourism. Nosy Be is probably the most famous holiday location of Madagascar, there are especially a lot of Italians here. Unfortunately, the volcanic island has not only got more visitors but also became an island of sex tourism. That is why we visit it rarely today. Nosy Be has an own national park called Lokobe, many nice beaches and dominating secondary vegetation as well as Ylang-Ylang plantations at the rest of the island. Moreover, the islands Nosy Komba, Nosy Faly and Nosy Tanikely are easy to reach by boat. You can go to Nosy Be by airplane via airport Fascene or by boat from Ankify.

Appearance of the local form:

Due to its complete isolation in the Channel of Mozambique, this island has developed a local form of panther chameleons with high color fidelity. Males are turquoise-greenish or -blueish with blue stripes and red dots. The corner of the mouth is always yellow and the eyelids have red rays. Despite they all look very similar to each other, there are small variations among the panther chameleons here, for example, there are almost completely turquoise blue colored specimens without any stripes.

Weight table

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Gewicht = weight in grams, Kopf-Rumpf-Länge = snout-vent-length in cm, Weibchen = females, Männchen = males

Since 2015, we have been measuring the weights of chameleons found by us in Madagascar, as far as the animals (and our scales) participate. In the long term, we aim to obtain an average weight in relation to snout-vent-length (measured from the tip of the nose to the cloaca) for each species from as many measurements as possible. It is important to know that all weights were measured towards the end of the rainy season (= best food supply), so these should be maximum weights on Madagascar. Triangular symbols in females mean not pregnant, round symbols mean pregnant. In Furcifer pardalis, contrary to our original assumption, it has so far turned out that there are no serious differences in the ratio of SVL to weight between the individual local forms.

 

Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
Average temperature 27 27 27 26 25 24 24 25 25 26 27 27
Minimum temperature 23 23 24 23 22 20 20 19 20 22 23 23
Maximum Ttemperature 31 31 31 31 31 29 29 29 30 31 31 31
Rain days 21 19 17 12 8 8 8 8 7 8 11 17

We have collected the data given above over several years with thermometers and hygrometers at the finding places of the chameleons. "Average temperature" means that values of a whole month have been calculated to one average value per month. For example all measured minimum temperature values of February have been calculated to one average minimum temperature for February. In plain language, this means single peak values of a day may be a little higher or lower than the average minimum and maximum temperatures. It is possible that a location has an average maximum temperature of 29°C, but one day during that month it had 33°C or even 35°C there.

Climate on the islands in front of Madagascar's north west coast is very warm all year long. Temperatures over 30°C are usual. In the night, temperatures hardly drop below 25°C, during rainy season they may drop much lower until 19°C.

Durin rainy season, it rains a lot and very often. From April to October, climate is mainly dry and sunny on the islands, but it still rains shortly on a regular base.

2016 UVI Nosy Be
Tageszeit = day time, Sonne = sun, Halbschatten = half shade, Schatten = shade

We have measured UVB data with a Solarmeter 6.5 in spring (end of March) at the peak of activity of chameleons in Madagascar. We always measured the values that a chameleon could maximally reach in its habitat.

Unfortunately, we have no ground temperatures for Nosy Be available yet.

Habitat:

The panther chameleons of Nosy Be inhabit two different kinds of landscape. One is the last rainforest of the island, Lokobe. It is located on a small mountain that is densely covered by trees. The ground is rocky and there are many little streams. Moss, ferns, and lianas are everywhere. The second habitat of Nosy Be’s panther chameleons is the absolute opposite: Open landscapes in secondary vegetation all around the island. Palms, shrubs and hotel gardens – they settle quasi everything.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove

Oops! It appears that you have disabled your Javascript. In order for you to see this page as it is meant to appear, we ask that you please re-enable your Javascript!

Lokalform Nosy Be

Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Nosy Be
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Nosy Be
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Nosy Be
Furcifer pardalis Lokalform Nosy Be Weibchen
Wegbeschreibung berechnenAls KML-Datei für Google Earth/Goolge Maps exportierenStandalone-Karte im Vollbild-Modus öffnenQR Code-Bild für Standalone-Vollbild-Kartenlink erstellenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls GeoJSON exportierenAls ARML für Wikitude Augmented-Reality Browser exportieren
Nosy Be

Karte wird geladen - bitte warten...

Nosy Be -13.336175, 48.271179 Nosy Be, Diana, Antsiranana, Madagaskar (Routenplaner)

Verbreitung der Lokalform Nosy Be:

Die Insel Nosy Be (übersetzt bedeutet das einfach „große Insel“) liegt im Nordwesten Madagaskars in der Region Diana. Sie ist rund 312 km² groß und mit über 45.000 Menschen stark bevölkert, wobei die meisten in der größten Stadt der Insel, Andoany (früher Hellville genannt), von Fischerei und Tourismus leben. Nosy Be ist wahrscheinlich der bekannteste Urlaubsort Madagaskars, vor allem Italiener sind hier anzutreffen. Leider ist die Vulkaninsel mit zunehmenden Besuchern auch zu einer Insel des Sextourismus geworden, weshalb wir sie nur selten besuchen. Nosy Be verfügt inzwischen über einen eigenen Nationalpark namens Lokobe, viele schöne Strände und mehrheitlich Sekundärvegetation sowie Ylang-Ylang-Plantagen auf der übrigen Insel. Zudem liegen die Inseln Nosy Komba, Nosy Faly und Nosy Tanikely in erreichbarer Weite. Man erreicht Nosy Be per Flugzeug über den Flughafen Fascene oder über den Seeweg von Ankify aus.

Lokalform Nosy Be

Pantherchamäleon auf Nosy Be

Aussehen der Lokalform:

Durch ihre völlige Isolation als Insel im Kanal von Mozambique hat sich hier eine sehr farbtreue Lokalform von Pantherchamäleons entwickelt. Die Männchen sind türkisgrün oder -blau, mit blauer Bänderung und roten Punkten. Der Mundwinkel ist stets gelb und die Augen weisen einen roten Fächer auf. Trotz der hohen Ähnlichkeit zwischen den hiesigen Pantherchamäleons gibt es kleine Variationen innerhalb der Lokalform, so existieren zum Beispiel fast vollständig türkisblau gefärbte Tiere ohne markante Bänderung.

Gewichtstabelle

Gewichtstabelle Furcifer pardalis 2018

Seit 2015 messen wir die Gewichte von uns gefundener Chamäleons auf Madagaskar, soweit die Tiere (und unsere Waagen) mitmachen. Bisher sind es nur wenige Gewichte, langfristig soll sich aus einer möglichst großen Anzahl Messungen ein durchschnittliches Gewicht im Verhältnis zur Kopf-Rumpf-Länge (gemessen von der Nasenspitze bis zur Kloake) für jede Art ablesen lassen. Wichtig zu wissen ist, dass alle Gewichte gegen Ende der Regenzeit (= bestes Futterangebot) gemessen wurde, es dürfte sich also um Maximalgewichte auf Madagaskar handeln. Dreieckige Symbole bei Weibchen bedeuten nicht trächtig, runde Symbole bedeuten trächtig. Bei Furcifer pardalis hat sich bisher entgegen unserer ursprünglichen Annahme heraus gestellt, dass es keine gravierenden Unterschiede im Verhältnis der KRL zum Gewicht zwischen den einzelnen Lokalformen gibt.

 

Jan Feb Mär Apr Mai Jun Jul Aug Sep Okt Nov Dez
Durchschnittl. Temperatur 27 27 27 26 25 24 24 25 25 26 27 27
Minimale Temperatur 23 23 24 23 22 20 20 19 20 22 23 23
Maximale Temperatur 31 31 31 31 31 29 29 29 30 31 31 31
Regentage 21 19 17 12 8 8 8 8 7 8 11 17

Die angegebenen Daten wurden von uns innerhalb mehrerer Jahre mit Thermo- und Hygrometern direkt an den Fundorten der Tiere gemessen und zusammengetragen. "Durchschnittliche Temperatur" bedeutet, dass die Werte eines gesamten Monats zu einem Durchschnittswert berechnet wurden, z.B. wurden alle gemessenen Minimalwerte eines Monats zu einem durchschnittlichen Minimalwert für Februar berechnet. Das bedeutet im Klartext, dass einzelne Spitzenwerte eines Tages deutlich höher oder niedriger als die durchschnittlichen Minimal- und Maximalwerte liegen können. Es ist also möglich, dass zwar das durchschnittliche Maximum bei 29 Grad liegt, es aber an einigen Tagen des Monats 33°C oder gar 35°C warm war.

Das Klima auf den Inseln vor Madagaskars Nordwestküste ist ganzjährig sehr warm. Temperaturen über 30°C komme regelmäßig vor. Nachts fallen die Temperaturen in der Regenzeit nur knapp unter 25°C, während der Trockenzeit deutlich tiefer bis 19°C.

Während der Regenzeit regnet es sehr ergiebig und viel. Von April bis Oktober bleibt es weitestgehend trocken und sonnig auf den Inseln, regnet aber ab und zu trotzdem noch.

2016 UVI Nosy Be

Die UVB-Daten wurden mit einem Solarmeter 6.5 im Frühjahr (Anfang April) zur höchsten Aktivitätszeit der Chamäleons gemessen. Gemessen wurden jeweils maximal für das Chamäleon zu erreichende Werte im Habitat.

Leider sind noch keine Bodentemperaturen für Nosy Be verfügbar.

Habitat:

Die Pantherchamäleons von Nosy Be besiedeln zwei verschiedene Typen von Lebensraum. Einer ist der letzte Regenwald der Insel, Lokobe. Er liegt auf einem Berg, der von Bäumen sehr dicht bewachsen ist. Der Boden ist sehr felsig und viele kleine Bäche durchziehen den dichten Regenwald. Moose, Farne und Lianen sind überall zu finden. Der zweite Lebensraum der Pantherchamäleons auf Nosy Be ist das genaue Gegenteil: Offene Landschaften in der Sekundärvegetation der übrigen Insel. Palmen, Gebüsche und Hotelgärten – es wird quasi alles besiedelt.

Digiprove sealCopyright secured by Digiprove